| MrCharisma |
I can't think of a reason why not?
And while it may not actually detatch, you should be able to destroy the weapon.
I will add that I'm not referencing any source material here, and I don't have much experience with golems. The general rules of the game lend themselves toward what I said, but it's absolutely possible Golems have special rules that change all of this.
| Kayerloth |
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
The description of the Golem should answer the question. It would be modified by whatever houserules are in play such as using hit location rules.
If the Golem can choose to put down the weapon so that it is 'disarmed' then I'd say yes it can be Sundered (or Disarmed for that matter) using the appropriate rule system(s). If it cannot then no unless houserules employing hit location are in use, then it becomes a maybe (and entirely up to the GM to decide).
Otherwise even if it largely makes sense to be able to sunder it the rules really don't support targeting a "weapon" built into and included in the hit points etc. of a creature.
In the specific case of the Cannon Golem by RAW no you can't sunder it anymore than you can sunder an arm, leg or head AFAIK, it's part and parcel of the construct creature and would require specific rules (typically provided in the text of the creature) for such interaction.
| Weables |
typically, integrated weaponry doesn't function after the construct is dead. This was probably (i'm guessing, i'm running iron gods atm, so i have a little experience, not a ton) so they could actually give robots and other constructs interesting stuff without adding huge numbers to the party's WBL.
basically, don't expect to automatically grab huge expensive weaponry from constructs. its huge and expensive for a reason
| Azothath |
it depends on if the weapon is part of the golem OR appears as a separately costed item listed under weapons(or siege weapons) AND (hopefully) the golem has proficiency in that weapon. Normal design standards give a creature weapon proficiency to avoid complications.
In general weapons are part of the golem and cease working when removed from the construct or when the construct is defeated(destroyed).
In a RAW fashion the weapon could be "repaired"(see Craft skills) into a normal functioning weapon. The GM would have to reviews costs based on the extent of changes but usually 1/5 to 1/2 the price of the target item.