Wizard Amount of Spells can take per Level


Rules Questions


Hello All,

I am a new DM and trying to understand what my player is telling me. Okay he I a Level 2 Wizard with INT of 18. Under the allowed spells he can take for the day says two(2) Level 1 Spells, but he gets a bonus spell due to INT being high. I know the arcane bond gives him one as well. On the third paragraph on page 79 says if they are specialist wizard he gets an extra Level 1 spell if it is from his specialist school. So that means he can have five Level 1 spells at Level 2 correct?

Thanks for the help.


Yes, three regular slots to prepare spells in, one spell slot to prepare a spell from the specialty school. In addition, the bonded item allows the wizard to cast a spell in their spellbook without the normal preperation proccess.


Derklord wrote:
Yes, three regular slots to prepare spells in, one spell slot to prepare a spell from the specialty school. In addition, the bonded item allows the wizard to cast a spell in their spellbook without the normal preperation proccess.

Thank you

Grand Lodge

abarb wrote:

Hello All,

I am a new DM and trying to understand what my player is telling me. Okay he I a Level 2 Wizard with INT of 18. Under the allowed spells he can take for the day says two(2) Level 1 Spells, but he gets a bonus spell due to INT being high. I know the arcane bond gives him one as well. On the third paragraph on page 79 says if they are specialist wizard he gets an extra Level 1 spell if it is from his specialist school. So that means he can have five Level 1 spells at Level 2 correct?

Thanks for the help.

It works out to a total of 5. But there are some bonuses/restrictions.

From table 13-6, at level 2 he gets 2 first level spells cast per day.
From table 1-3, an extra 1st level spell for 18 int.
1 specialist spell per day.
1 use of arcane focus per day.

The specialist slot can only be used for a specialist school spell.
Prohibited schools take 2 slots to prepare.

The arcane focus can be used to recall any spell in the caster's spell book once per day. This means that he has a spell slot does not need to be chosen in advance.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Might as well talk about 3rd level now because its going to be educational.

At 3rd level a wizard gets 4 zero, 2 first and 1 second level spell from class. Int 18 adds a bonus spell per level from 1st to 4th. Specialist adds a spell from its school to each spell level. And the arcane bond lets you cast a spell from your spellbook that you could normally cast.

So summery:
Zero level: 4 (no increase or decrease from anything talked about)
First level: 2 (base) + 1 (Int) + 1 (school) = 3(any)+1(school)
Second level: 1 (base) + 1 (Int) + 1 (school) = 2(any)+1(school)
Arcane Bond : Any spell in the Wizard's spellbook up to 2nd level. This spell is chosen when cast, not prepared.


@Meirril - Why wouldnt you get a bonus 0 slot from your specialty school?


Curghann wrote:
@Meirril - Why wouldnt you get a bonus 0 slot from your specialty school?

Principally because that's what the rules say:

prd wrote:
In addition, specialist wizards receive an additional spell slot of each spell level he can cast, from 1st on up (bolding mine).

Aside: I never noticed the noun/pronoun disagreement in that sentence before, and now I can't unsee it.


Meirril wrote:

Might as well talk about 3rd level now because its going to be educational.

...

correct

The arcane bonded item is very powerful. Amulets increase that usefulness as they can be crafted at half book price (Amulet of Spell Mastery, etc).

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Wizard Amount of Spells can take per Level All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions