Thewms
|
1) Can the trigger for a Readied action be "when someone within range does an activity with the manipulate trait"?
---1.a) Is it too broad?
---1.b) Is it okay for a trigger to rely on something referenced only out-of-character?
I figure this is one of those rules where the specifics are up to your GM but I thought I would ask regardless.
Thanks!
| David knott 242 |
Strange -- I posted a response, and the thread shows that I was the last to post to this thread, but my response isn't there.
So trying again:
You probably could do that, but why?
Since readying an action is expensive in terms of the action economy, you would want the trigger to be something that makes it more advantageous to take the action when the trigger occurs rather than immediately. What advantage are you going for?
| DM_Blake |
I'm guessing the OP is trying to create a poor-man's Attack of Opportunity. At the cost of burning two actions to get one PMAoO, it might not be worth it, but it could disrupt spellcasting or potion drinking or other highly dangerous activities, which means, yeah, maybe it's worth it.
As a GM, I wouldn't allow that. I would want the player to describe it in more-or-less roleplaying terms. They should say, basically, what their character would say.
Imagine that character sitting in a tavern telling his friends "And so I got myself ready in case any opponent near me tried to make any manipulate actions."
Doesn't work for me.
Of course, the same character could say "I ready in case an enemy in reach (or range) tries to do anything that I wouldn't want him to do" which would be in character, but also seems too broad to function as a trigger. I would only allow that more or less out of combat, like when the sheriff says to put your hands up then readies an action to shoot you if you do anything that seems quick or aggressive. In combat, I need them to specify (mostly) exactly what they're looking for: an attack, a spellcasting action, removing an item from a container, moving out of their square, etc.
That's me though. I like the fact that there is RP in my RPG, and try to remember that at the game table. So do my players.
But I get that other players play differently, and according to the rules (which say nothing on this point), anything you can imagine is allowed as a trigger. There are no limits to what can/cannot be used as triggers.
But, I suggest checking with your GM (or if you are the GM, decide how much or how little the "RP" part of "RPG" means to you and your players and decide accordingly.
TL;drDefining "trigger" too broadly is tantamount to saying "I would like to take my last two actions and wait to use them whenever I see fit, any time before my character's next turn, even to interrupt and ruin some bad guy's day." And that's not a "trigger" at all.
| DM_Blake |
Strange -- I posted a response, and the thread shows that I was the last to post to this thread, but my response isn't there.
I had the same (or maybe just similar) problem. I copied my wall of text to the clipboard (I do that with every post, just in case), then submitted, and it showed that I had not replied at all.
I went back to the Pathfinder Playtest page and refreshed it, then opened this thread and it showed my post. Didn't need my clipboard after all.
| Draco18s |
David knott 242 wrote:Strange -- I posted a response, and the thread shows that I was the last to post to this thread, but my response isn't there.I had the same (or maybe just similar) problem. I copied my wall of text to the clipboard (I do that with every post, just in case), then submitted, and it showed that I had not replied at all.
I went back to the Pathfinder Playtest page and refreshed it, then opened this thread and it showed my post. Didn't need my clipboard after all.
I've been having that happen once or twice for the last couple of days.
| David knott 242 |
But the point I was making was that, for the cost of readying an action, you could just go ahead and immediately attack the opponent twice. You gain no real advantage from readying an action to attack when an opponent takes a Manipulate action.
If you are not sure whether you should strike this opponent, you might be better off simply delaying until somebody else takes an offensive action.