Resilient Sphere and grabs / restrains


Skills, Feats, Equipment & Spells


1 person marked this as a favorite.

This one came up in a playthrough of The Frozen Oath, involving rocs. Suppose creature A is grabbing creature B.

Creature A gets placed inside a resilient sphere. Does the grab end?

Creature B gets placed inside a resilient sphere. Does the grab end?


If either of those creatures is a Roc; Rocs can't be placed in a resilient sphere in the first place, it has a size requirement of large or smaller. Grapple doesn't include anything about moving the grappled creature into the same space so both situations end the grab by way of the line

Rulebook pg. 252 wrote:
"You create an immobile sphere of force around the target’s space to either trap or protect it, blocking anything that would cross through the sphere.


What happened in my playthrough was that a roc was grabbing a PC, and a different PC used a resilient sphere on the other PC. We had no idea how to resolve the grab then; we did not know where the flavor text of resilient sphere started or ended, or indeed, what would happen if the sphere was created in such a way that it would have to cross something (like a grabbing creature's appendages).


While the sphere would certainly prevent a grab, I agree that it is very unclear what would happen to a grapple already underway. I would actually rule that the spell fails, following the precedent of all the other repulsion and barrier spells in the game's history that fail when forced against an opponent or when cast across an opponent's space.

Community / Forums / Archive / Pathfinder / Playtests & Prerelease Discussions / Pathfinder Playtest / Player Rules / Skills, Feats, Equipment & Spells / Resilient Sphere and grabs / restrains All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Skills, Feats, Equipment & Spells
Clothing