Use Magic Device, and / or how to cast a spell in a Staff you don't have


Skills, Feats, Equipment & Spells


So, I was looking through the rules while I was making a character (a Celestial sorcerer) and was looking at the Staff of Necromancy (he's a creepy emo goth who happens to have angel powers, but he wants that damn staff), but it has spells in it not on the Divine list. I thought I read in the skills section about UMD being eaten by the Tradition skills, but I don't see the math for it anywhere. So I was wondering, is it no longer possible to use a spell completion item unless you can ACTUALLY cast the spell that's in the item, as if you didn't have the item in the first place?


Trick Magic Item skill feat.


Thank you! I knew I read it somewhere, this solves my problems in a very simple manner....... I feel silly now :P

Community / Forums / Archive / Pathfinder / Playtests & Prerelease Discussions / Pathfinder Playtest / Player Rules / Skills, Feats, Equipment & Spells / Use Magic Device, and / or how to cast a spell in a Staff you don't have All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Skills, Feats, Equipment & Spells