
VikingGoth |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |
The Spell Duelist's Gloves (on page 407) specify that their method of use is "held, 1 hand", which means that they occupy that hand and therefore prevent that hand holding it from making somatic components and therefore making touch attacks. This means that you need a second hand that is free in order to actually use the Spell Duelist's Gloves (which should be singular, glove, since it's only 1 hand btw).
I don't believe this to be intentional, as the Spell Duelist's Wand (as well as general wand rules) allows the wand hand to be used to perform somatic components and the glove is the melee touch version of the wand.

Cantriped |
2 people marked this as a favorite. |

No, it absolutely isn't 'fine'.
"Method of Use Held, 1 hand" means the magic item has to literally be held in your hand to activate, meaning you have to draw and stow the gloves just like any weapon or tool. If you were 'wearing' them, you'd have to take them off and hold them in hand to use them. I'll grant it is obvious how it is supposed to work... but as written it doesn't. They should have an entry like the Healer's Gloves, or Glove of Storing; "Method of Use Worn, gloves".

![]() |

Why is it so hard to understand how to use Duelist gloves?
You use 1 hand, you EXPLICITLY do not wear the gloves for the purpose of the effects, you use them to slap your opponent, you cant do that while you're wearing them.
All joking aside I do see the Typo in the template and I'm sure it will be fixed.