Moon Frenzy and Handwraps of Mighty Fists


Skills, Feats, Equipment & Spells


Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Rulebook, Starfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

Today, during Part 4 of Doomsday Dawn (9th level players), we ran into an interesting rules combination that did not have a clear answer, and I wanted to get some clarification on it, since the as-written interpretation leads to a potentially ridiculously powerful combination.

The party of Druid, Monk, Paladin, and Sorcerer led to the Druid trying out a new spell on the monk: Moon Frenzy. In short, this spell grants the target claw and bite attacks, at 3d6/d8 damage, and specifies that these are unarmed strikes. The monk has Handwraps of Mighty Fists +3, and thus began our question: Does the bonus from the Handwraps apply to the enhanced claw and bite attacks? In this scenario, it would have given him an attack for 6d8 damage, as the bite. I ruled that the natural attacks functioned as +2 weapons (since heightened versions of the spell specifically raise the dice to 4 and 5), and that the +3 handwraps would apply the to-hit bonus, and a single extra die of damage.

However, despite this off-the-cuff ruling, I want to find a more official answer, in case it ever comes up again.


"3d6" sounds like they already count as +2 weapons (and the heightening supports this) so +3 handwraps would only add an extra die (not three).

But yeah, the spell should state one way or the other.

Community / Forums / Archive / Pathfinder / Playtests & Prerelease Discussions / Pathfinder Playtest / Player Rules / Skills, Feats, Equipment & Spells / Moon Frenzy and Handwraps of Mighty Fists All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Skills, Feats, Equipment & Spells
Clothing