Sick Condition Clarifications


Playing the Game


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Probably a stupid question, but I'm looking for a clarification on how the Sick condition works when it says that it gives a penalty "on all checks."

Do saving throws count as checks penalized by the sick condition? Looking at the frightened condition, they seem to be implied to be separate things as frightened gives a penalty to "checks and saving throws."

Also, do attacks count as checks penalized by the sick (or frightened, enervated, etc.) conditions? Attacks never seem to be referred to as checks, instead being referred to as "attack rolls" and often being called out separately from checks in the text.


2 people marked this as a favorite.
glossary page 421 wrote:

A check is a type of roll that involves rolling a d20...and comparing the result against a DC...

...attack rolls, saving throws ...are the most common types of checks

Also explained on page 290


1 person marked this as a favorite.

The conditions are somewhat poorly written, and frequently give the incorrect impression that saving throws aren't checks by saying "checks and saving throws." But they definitely are. Sick, Stupefied, and any other condition that gives a penalty to all checks or an attribute check that a save is based on penalizes saves.

Liberty's Edge

dragonhunterq wrote:
glossary page 421 wrote:

A check is a type of roll that involves rolling a d20...and comparing the result against a DC...

...attack rolls, saving throws ...are the most common types of checks
Also explained on page 290

Thank you for this!

Community / Forums / Archive / Pathfinder / Playtests & Prerelease Discussions / Pathfinder Playtest / Player Rules / Playing the Game / Sick Condition Clarifications All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Playing the Game