Wizards, how many hands to cast spells with M components


Playing the Game


Do you need one hand to hold the material component pouch and one hand to use the actual component?

I just noticed that the material component pouch is listed as "1 hand". According to the rulebook p. 184

Quote:
Hands: This lists how many hands it takes to wield the item effectively.

On page 195, Material component is listed as requiring 1 free hand.

So, from my reading, you would need to hold the pouch in one hand and have your other hand free in order to cast a spell with a material component. This sounds weird to me because it makes it impossible for wizards who want to cast spells with material components to effectively hold anything else in their hands (like a staff). Not only that, it would also mean that you need to spend at least one action in battle to take your pouch (manipulate action I believe)... or just have it in your hand all the time.

Any thoughts? Is my reading wrong?


1 person marked this as a favorite.

I always assumed that spell component pouches are worn on the hip/belt, and the caster can use 1 hand to reach in and get their material component without holding the pouch.

This is an assumption carried over from PF1, but it would make sense to me here.


Thebazilly wrote:

I always assumed that spell component pouches are worn on the hip/belt, and the caster can use 1 hand to reach in and get their material component without holding the pouch.

This is an assumption carried over from PF1, but it would make sense to me here.

I agree, but it needs to be spelled out clearly in the item description.

Community / Forums / Archive / Pathfinder / Playtests & Prerelease Discussions / Pathfinder Playtest / Player Rules / Playing the Game / Wizards, how many hands to cast spells with M components All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Playing the Game