Draw a weapon


Running the Game


In the old rules (table 8-2, pg. 183) Draw a weapon does not provoke an AoO. In the new rules drawing a weapon is an interact action and (no matter how I read the material provided) it has the manipulate trait which provokes AoO. Since Attacks of Opportunity are pretty much limited to fighters, it's not such a big deal. BUT while playing our first Scenario "The Rose Street Revenge", we waisted a WHOLE bunch of time looking this up and figuring out if drawing a weapon does indeed trigger an AoO. This is a change from the previous edition and really needs a clarification.


A little clarification is never a bad thing.

I will generally agree that the layout of the CRB could use some help. Cross referencing between things can be a little challenging.

The number of time I keep two of the PDFs open so I can look up one thing, and then reference everything that's mentioned is high.


Iirc, not only did drawing a weapon not provoke, you could do it as part of a move with base attack +1.

And a while attacks of opportunity are much less frequent than before, a fair number of the monsters released do have them.

Community / Forums / Archive / Pathfinder / Playtests & Prerelease Discussions / Pathfinder Playtest / Game Master Rules / Running the Game / Draw a weapon All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Running the Game