Weapon Trait: Agile


Skills, Feats, Equipment & Spells

Liberty's Edge

So... I thought I knew how Agile worked, then someone changed my mind, and now someone else has just left me confused. I'm seeing it both ways.

Page 180 wrote:
Agile The multiple attack penalty you take on the second attack each turn with this weapon is –4 instead of –5, and –8 instead of –10 on the third and subsequent attacks in the turn.

The confusion is with the clauses surrounding "multiple attack penalty" and "with this weapon".

Is does this trait mean:

If you are suffering multiple attack penalties, you reduce them when using this weapon.

OR

If you use this weapon multiple times in the round, the attack penalties are reduced (but only when the weapon is involved).

So, for instance, if you had a Club in one hand and a Dagger in the other, would a three strike routine look like this:

Club +0 / Dagger -4 / Dagger -8

Or

Club +0 / Dagger -5 / Dagger -? (9?)

I'm starting to lean toward the former reading at this point because it seems to work better at the end, but I'm still confused and would very much advocate for the trait to be reworded a little.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

The former is right. The multi-attack penalty reduction applies your second and third (and subsequent) attacks if you do them with the agile weapon.

Community / Forums / Archive / Pathfinder / Playtests & Prerelease Discussions / Pathfinder Playtest / Player Rules / Skills, Feats, Equipment & Spells / Weapon Trait: Agile All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Skills, Feats, Equipment & Spells
Clothing