| Insight |
Per page 176, wearing armor grants an item bonus to AC/TAC. Wielding a shield and using the Raise a Shield action grants a separate item bonus to AC/TAC. Per the rules about bonus stacking throughout the book, when you would gain an item bonus from two different sources, you use the higher of the two. They don’t stack. We are trying to play the Playtest to as close to RAW as written, but we may have to make an exception in this instance if we want to get any feedback on Shield use.
| Joe Mucchiello |
quote from page 176
Your Armor Class equals 10 plus your Dexterity modifier
(up to your armor’s Dexterity modifier cap) plus your
proficiency modifier for any armor or shield you are using
plus the armor’s item bonus to AC.
I assume that means the armor's item bonus is excluded from any other item bonuses you might have.
| Insight |
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
Casting mage armor also grants an item bonus. Suggest that clarifying language be added here as well that the a shield can be used with mage armor, if that is the intent. Interestingly, the Shield spell grants a circumstance bonus to AC when using raise a shield, so it not only stacks with armor, but also stacks with actual shields and parry weapons.
| Yossarian |
Per page 176, wearing armor grants an item bonus to AC/TAC. Wielding a shield and using the Raise a Shield action grants a separate item bonus to AC/TAC. .
No, raising a shield grants a +2 circumstance bonus to AC, not an item bonus.
As per this on p.177
Shields
A shield requires the use of one of your hands. It grants its bonuses to AC and TAC only if you use an action to Raise a Shield. This grants the shield’s bonuses to AC and TAC as a circumstance bonus until your next turn starts.
| Insight |
Insight wrote:Per page 176, wearing armor grants an item bonus to AC/TAC. Wielding a shield and using the Raise a Shield action grants a separate item bonus to AC/TAC. .No, raising a shield grants a +2 circumstance bonus to AC, not an item bonus.
As per this on p.177
Shields
A shield requires the use of one of your hands. It grants its bonuses to AC and TAC only if you use an action to Raise a Shield. This grants the shield’s bonuses to AC and TAC as a circumstance bonus until your next turn starts.
It also says that in the footnote on the chart at the bottom of page 176, so I missed it all over the place.
Interesting that shields don’t stack with cover.
| Yossarian |
I agree that it's confusing. For a playtest they've ofc had to put the book together quickly, but the final version needs clearer organisation. Having to hunt all over the place to piece together simple mechanics.
Edit: yes i agree. Weird that circumstance bonuses don't stack.
They 'saved' flanking by making it a -2 circumstance penalty to the target AC, so flanking does help when you already have a +2 circumstance bonus running from eg: a power.