Adaptive Shifter, Shifter Claws, and Unfettered Wild Shape


Rules Questions


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

I've got a question about the new Adaptive Shifter and how the two abilities interact if at all.

The Default Shifter claws have this nifty ability:

"While a shifter uses wild shape to assume her aspect‘s major form, her natural attacks gain the same benefits granted by her shifter claws ability. If the form she takes has claw attacks, she can use either the base damage of her shifter claws or the damage of the form’s claws, whichever is greater. If the form does not have claw attacks, she can choose up to two natural attacks that would deal less damage than her shifter claw damage and have those attacks instead deal the same damage as her shifter claws."

And while the Adaptive Shifter gains Adaptive Claws, this alters Shifter Claws. Not replaces the ability as a whole.

Now, the Adaptive Shifter doesn't gain Major/Minor forms, and gains Unfettered Wild Shape.

"At 6th level, an adaptive shifter gains the ability to turn into other creatures. This functions as a druid’s wild shape ability, except she does not gain the ability to turn into an elemental. The shifter’s effective druid level is equal to her class level. She can use this ability for a number of hours per day equal to half her effective druid level. This duration does not need to be consecutive, but must be spent in 1-hour increments. For abilities that function based on “uses of wild shape,” each hour of unfettered wild shape counts as a use."

Since this is just a normal Wild Shape into whatever you want, and not a Wild Shape into your non existent Major Form, does this mean Adaptive Shifters don't apply their Shifter Claws ability to their Wild Shape form?

Thank you in advanced.


Yes, RAW, a wildshaped adShifter can't profit from Shifter's Claws, because "[using] wild shape to assume her aspect‘s major form" isn't possible.


Here's a question though. The altered shifters claws ability, can I still manifest 2 claws, or am I limited to Gore, bite or tail slap? It says you CAN choose to manifest those other attacks, not that you're required to. It's worded oddly.


Yes, you can still manifest the 2 claws.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Adaptive Shifter, Shifter Claws, and Unfettered Wild Shape All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.