Anti-Paladin Fiendish Boon + Added Summonings


Rules Questions


If I'm an anti-paladin and i select my fiendish boon to summon a demon, would the Added Summonings bloodline power, (obtained through eldritch heritage), apply to summoning my fiendish boon? Here is the wording for each entry.

The second type of bond allows an antipaladin to gain the service of a fiendish servant. This functions as summon monster III, except the duration is permanent and the antipaladin can only gain the service of a single creature and that creature must either have the chaotic and evil subtypes or it must be a fiendish animal. Once selected, the choice is set, but it may be changed whenever the antipaladin gains a level. Upon reaching 7th level, and every two levels thereafter, the level of the summon monster spell increases by one, to a maximum of summon monster IX at 17th level.

Added Summonings (Su): At 15th level, whenever you summon a creature with the demon subtype or the fiendish template using a summon monster spell, you summon one additional creature of the same kind.


I think they won't work together, because the fiendish servant ability specifies that you only gain the service of a single creature.

If I am wrong about the order of precidence here, however, you could also get the Superior Summoning feat and get 3.


merpius wrote:

I think they won't work together, because the fiendish servant ability specifies that you only gain the service of a single creature.

If I am wrong about the order of precidence here, however, you could also get the Superior Summoning feat and get 3.

I was also thinking it wouldn't work because it says you get the service of only one creature, but I only ask because I think that might just be specifying that you cant use the high level summon spells to summon multiple lower level summoned monsters


You don't actually ever "summon" the creature, you "gain the service".

So things that apply to summoning probably don't apply to Fiendish Boon, unless there is something FAQ somewhere to rule otherwise.


You don't ever 'summon a creature' and you don't use a summon monster spell (you use an ability that works like summon monster, but isn't a summon monster spell) so it fails for two reasons.


this: "This functions as summon monster III..." indicates that you are, in fact, summoning it, utlizing the summon monester III rules (except as altered by the text).

As for whether it is specifying that you cannot use higher to get multiple lower, I suspect that was the original thinking involved, however it would apply to other ways of getting multiples as well, I believe.


the ability state it very clearly :
"This functions as summon monster III, except the duration is permanent and the antipaladin can only gain the service of a single creature and.."

it count as summon monster in all ways except the things stated. one of which is 'can only gain..single creature..'

on the other hand picking the 'Summon Evil Monster' feat will expand your option
-im looking at you level #6 Efreeti with '1/day—grant up to 3 wishes'
note that as summoned monster its spell duration stops when it's gone so make the right wishes!


Activating a class ability, even when the ability works like a spell, is not 'casting' or 'casting a spell.'


zza ni wrote:

the ability state it very clearly :

"This functions as summon monster III, except the duration is permanent and the antipaladin can only gain the service of a single creature and.."

it count as summon monster in all ways except the things stated. one of which is 'can only gain..single creature..'

on the other hand picking the 'Summon Evil Monster' feat will expand your option
-im looking at you level #6 Efreeti with '1/day—grant up to 3 wishes'
note that as summoned monster its spell duration stops when it's gone so make the right wishes!

The key is the fact that Fiendish Boon is not a spell; it is a class feature that functions like a spell. Added Summoning is very specific in that it only works when using a spell.

Nowhere in the description of Fiendish Boon does it use the words all ways.


Fiendish Boon is a SLA, so, ordinarily, most things that affect the spell(s) it emulates should also affect it. There are certain exceptions (anythign that requires a particular spell slot or increases the effective spell slot level required), but normal non-metamagic feats generally apply.

Added Summons almost certainly applies, in some fashion, but the restriction that it only summon a single monster may preclude it from having an actual effect.

If you choose NOT to have SLAs act as spells like this, then you severely nerf summoners, since thier summon monsters is an SLA, so I would recommend against house ruling (at least as a general rule) in any way that requires stuff to explicitly call out SLAs as being effected by stuff for spells.

As for Summon Evil Monster; it would add the creatures to the list, but it would not relieve you of need to pick "a single creature and that creature must either have the chaotic and evil subtypes or it must be a fiendish animal." I'm pretty sure that still rules Efreet out. There's also the issue that "creatures summoned using this spell cannot use spells or spell-like abilities that duplicate spells with expensive material components (such as wish)." So it really doesn't matter that you couldn't get an Efreeti.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Anti-Paladin Fiendish Boon + Added Summonings All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions