Is a spell's range static, or does it move with the caster?


Rules Questions


For spells like Major Image that have both a duration and a range of effect; is the range set when the spell is cast, or does it move with the caster?

Range wrote:
A spell’s range indicates how far from you it can reach, as defined in the range entry of the spell description. a spell’s range is the maximum distance from you that the spell’s effect can occur, as well as the maximum distance at which you can designate the spell’s point of origin.
Subjects, Effects, and Areas wrote:
If the spell affects creatures directly, the result travels with the subjects for the spell’s duration. If the spell creates an effect, the effect lasts for the duration. The effect might move or remain still. Such an effect can be destroyed prior to when its duration ends. If the spell affects an area, then the spell stays with that area for its duration.


The location of the effect is set when cast the spell and that area must be within the range of the spell.

With Major Image (and similar spells) you could continue to concentrate (with appropriate checks) and manipulate the illusion provided you stay within the spells range of the area where you originally cast the spell but that area does not itself move or relocate itself after the time you cast the spell. At least that is my understanding.

You cannot, for example, cast a Major Image of a dragon walking ahead of the party and by concentrating make the illusion continue to appear to move ahead of you for several miles down the road scaring the bejeebers out of any potential ambushers. The area you initially select is the area the "dragon" is limited to moving within though by concentrating it could roam around within that area while you move staying within the the listed range of the spell.

Hope that clarifies it.


I have seen that interpretation before and it seems reasonable, but are there rules saying it works like that? "a spell’s range is the maximum distance from you that the spell’s effect can occur" could be interpreted as a mobile range that moves with the caster and I can't find anything that would indicate the range is static by default.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

I've always treated shapeable spells as being fairly static once shaped. I don't recall what the raw says on the matter though.


I've always played that, if it's a lingering effect, it's from YOU. YOU are the source, you empower it. If YOU leave the area (in the case of something that creates a static object), or if it leaves YOUR area (In the case of, say, Charm Person), snap-crackle-pop, boom goes your dynamite. Spell ends.


That'll be a problem with charm monster or dominate person. A number of APs and modules depend on them working outside of the caster's proximity.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber

Aiming a Spell
You must make choices about whom a spell is to affect or where an effect is to originate, depending on a spell’s type. The next entry in a spell description defines the spell’s target (or targets), its effect, or its area, as appropriate.

Subjects, Effects, and Areas

If the spell affects creatures directly, the result travels with the subjects for the spell’s duration. If the spell creates an effect, the effect lasts for the duration. The effect might move or remain still. Such an effect can be destroyed prior to when its duration ends. If the spell affects an area, then the spell stays with that area for its duration.

Creatures become subject to the spell when they enter the area and are no longer subject to it when they leave.

———
I’d say that the area must be within range for targeting the spell when cast. If it creates a lingering effect, that effect stays where it was targeted (on the creatures, in the squares, etc) until the duration is completed. If all spells moved with the caster, then we wouldn’t need to spell out specifically that it moves with the caster.

Also the idea that an effect moves with the caster gets really wonky if you try to apply it to all cases such as Web, Wall of Stone, or Stone Shape.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Is a spell's range static, or does it move with the caster? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions