Can-O-rules worms.


Rules Questions


So....what I'm exploring...is the idea of a caster who has an Ioun Wyrd,"core stone" implanted (as per the implanting Ioun stone rules) and can then implant future stones.....

And I'm trying to figure out what options I can work with.

Can an Ioun Wyrd count as a Bonded object as well as a familiar, based on constructs counting as objects ? So for example, being eligible for the Bonded Wizard Archetype ?

Can the Ioun Wyrds core stone count as the Ioun stone received from the Ioun Bond Discovery ?

Aside from Wizard....are their other classes that may be able to pull the concept off, for example Occultist ? (that ones possibly more of an advice thread question).

Grand Lodge

Quote:

Arcane Bond:

Objects that are the subject of an arcane bond must fall into one of the following categories: amulet, ring, staff, wand, or weapon.

Familiars and constructs are not applicable objects for the bonded object.

Basically any ability that gives you the arcane bond class feature and allows you to chose between familiar or bonded object specifically say you cannot obtain both, regardless of class features. As far as I know, the only ability that allows you the choice for Arcane Bond is the Arcane bloodline sorc. If you have a familiar and pick up levels of wizard or arcane bloodline Sorc later, your class levels simply stack for determining the advancement of the familiar you already have.


I forget the feat but there's a feat that lets you have an ioun stone bond object. I would say yes and that you could probably use the crafting feature of the arcane bond feature to create the ioun ward your self. (that also probably makes your claim extra legitimate)
Obviously you'd have to take that ioun bond feat if you can find it.

Edit: Syries is probably right about not having both a bond object and familiar. (though I was pretty sure that wording was only on the sorcerer bloodline)

That doesnt stop you from having constructs though. Your ioun ward would then only count as a bond object and get none of the familiar abilities.

Edit 2: that archetype is really cool by the way! It sucks that you can only have one instance of bonded force. I want my shard blade and shard plate darn it! Where on Roshar can I find a full set.

Grand Lodge

You have to keep in mind the intentions of the Arcane Bond ability, even if somewhere you can piece together an argument to get both a familiar and a bonded object.

There is the Ioun Bond arcane discovery, but that specifies the Ioun Stone must be orbiting your head, so it can't be implanted in an Ioun Wyrd.
Edit* That said, I think it's a flavorful thing that I'd reward a player for doing, and in a home game I'd totally be fine with having a non-familiar Ioun Wyrd construct that has your implanted arcane bond, so long as it stays in the same square as you.


Use of an Ioun stone always specifices it must be orbiting your head, the Implanted Ioun stone rules (at least by my reading) supercede those rules.

The sticky part is if an Ioun wyrd could be looked at as an object if it's components were specifically implanted...

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Can-O-rules worms. All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions