Craig Tierney
|
I couldn't find anything in my copy of Ultimate Wilderness, so I figured I'd ask here.
Does Fey Form work like Beast Shape, Form of the Dragon, Elemental Body, and Plant Form, or like Monstrous Physique, Alter Self, Giant Form, and Undead Body?
As you aren't turning into an animal, a dragon, an elemental, a magical beast, a plant, or a vermin, which are the listed forms that will cause your gear to meld into your body, the Core Rulebook seems to indicate that your gear should resize to fit your new form, but I figured it would be best to check, just in case.
| David knott 242 |
The Polymorph section of the Magic chapter of the Core Rulebook has this sentence: "When you cast a polymorph spell that changes you into a creature of the animal, dragon, elemental, magical beast, plant, or vermin type, all of your gear melds into your body." The fey type is not listed, so your gear does not meld into your body when you cast one of the Fey Form spells.
Craig Tierney
|
The Polymorph section of the Magic chapter of the Core Rulebook has this sentence: "When you cast a polymorph spell that changes you into a creature of the animal, dragon, elemental, magical beast, plant, or vermin type, all of your gear melds into your body." The fey type is not listed, so your gear does not meld into your body when you cast one of the Fey Form spells.
Well, Paizo might want to post some errata on the matter, as going by rules as written, the Ooze Form spells, which do no turn you into an animal, a dragon, an elemental, a magical beast, a plant, or a vermin, and don't mention your gear in their spell description, should also resize your gear so as too function with your new form.
You won't have arms, so weapons and hand waving for spells would be a bit of an issue, but a few ooze types can speak naturally, and your armor and slotted magic items will still reform. It certainly wouldn't be the optimal choice, but the mental image of a gelatinous cube wizard is quite endearing.
| David knott 242 |
At least the omission of the fey type appears to be intentional, as most fey are humaniform creatures that reasonably should retain their worn equipment.
The omission of the ooze type and the inclusion of elemental as a type (it is actually a subtype of outsider) are more likely to be errors that should be corrected at some point.
| Avoron |
As you aren't turning into an animal, a dragon, an elemental, a magical beast, a plant, or a vermin, which are the listed forms that will cause your gear to meld into your body, the Core Rulebook seems to indicate that your gear should resize to fit your new form, but I figured it would be best to check, just in case.
Yep! That's one of the many great things about fey form. You can keep your armor, you can keep your spell components, you can keep your magic items. And hey, if you don't want to use natural attacks, you can just turn into a vilderavn or something and go crazy with your favorite weapon.
Aveneer
|
Following off this thread, the section "You can more easily cast spells that the creature has as spell-like abilities, although you must still cast them as normal for your class. When you cast a spell that the creature has as a spell-like ability, it requires no verbal or somatic components and can’t be countered."
Does this mean that if the spell-like abilities of a creature are on my spell list, I can cast them but only if I memorize them beforehand, and when I cast them they require no S/V components? Or is there some other way to cast them?
For example, if I am a 9th level druid and I cast FFII. I can assume the form of an Ankou (B4). That creature has the SLA of True Seeing 3/day. That is a 7th level druid spell, but it is on my spell list. Would I be able to cast it or no? Are the SLAs limited by character level?
| willuwontu |
Following off this thread, the section "You can more easily cast spells that the creature has as spell-like abilities, although you must still cast them as normal for your class. When you cast a spell that the creature has as a spell-like ability, it requires no verbal or somatic components and can’t be countered."
Does this mean that if the spell-like abilities of a creature are on my spell list, I can cast them but only if I memorize them beforehand, and when I cast them they require no S/V components? Or is there some other way to cast them?
For example, if I am a 9th level druid and I cast FFII. I can assume the form of an Ankou (B4). That creature has the SLA of True Seeing 3/day. That is a 7th level druid spell, but it is on my spell list. Would I be able to cast it or no? Are the SLAs limited by character level?
1.) You do not gain the SLA's to your spell list.
2.) You don't gain their SLA's
3.) If you have a spell that is one of the SLA's for the creature you polymorphed into prepared/known and you cast that spell, it has no V/S components and cannot be countered.
| Azothath |
it's best to post with a link to the spell in question
Fey Form 1
as posted above if the target creature has an SLA and you have that spell prepared, you can cast it and gain some SLA qualities.