
Hydra |
I tried searching other threads involving DR but couldn't find an aswer I found clear and concise. If you know a thread with the answer just link it.
So was GMing and the module had my players fight a Clay Golem. In its bestiary info it says "DR 10/blungeoning AND adamantine". (Emphasis mine)
Now I read that as two requirements to bypass the DR of the creature. I feel if it meant either quality would bypass the DR it would say "OR". They simply put it in one line rather than saying "DR 10/blungeoning , DR 10/adamantine". I know that's how they would do it with two different values of DR for different bypassing qualities.
My one player says since it's listed in the same line either quality bypasses the DR. That they didn't need both.
Can someone please help? Would needing only one listed quality require an "OR" in the defense stats or is listing them together enough to say "one of the following"?

Java Man |

Short answer, you are correct, player is wrong.
From the PRD, bestiary, universal monster rules, section on DR:
"A few creatures are harmed by more than one kind of weapon. A weapon that inflicts damage of either type overcomes this damage reduction.
A few other creatures require combinations of different types of attacks to overcome their damage reduction, and a weapon must be both types to overcome this type of damage reduction. A weapon that is only one type is still subject to damage reduction."
So the clay golem is an example of the second case here.

Hydra |
That was my interpretation, his was that they would list them individually if it required both (even if the defense value was the same).
I tried to argue that his interpretation means they would need either a adamantine weapon (like 1000g cost for melee weapons) or a regular wooden club (free) and that pretty much defeats the purpose of the adamantine quality.

Matthew Downie |

There are plenty of creatures that have an 'OR'. The Babau has DR Cold Iron or Good, meaning either gets through the DR.
Note that "DR 10/blungeoning , DR 10/adamantine" probably wouldn't make things any clearer, since that might imply DR 20 against an iron sword.

Hydra |
There are plenty of creatures that have an 'OR'. The Babau has DR Cold Iron or Good, meaning either gets through the DR.
Note that "DR 10/blungeoning , DR 10/adamantine" probably wouldn't make things any clearer, since that might imply DR 20 against an iron sword.
No. The rules clearly state that only the highest value not bypassed by the weapon in question applies.
If I hit a creature with Dr 5/cold iron, DR 10/Silver, DR 2/magic (wow that guys got thick skin) with a +1 steel longsword I bypass the magic but neither the cold iron or the silver. By the universal rule of DR only the Silver at a value of 10 applies, not both.