| Atalius |
After I have pinned my opponent, the next round I can choose to maintain and simply tie up my opponent. Here is my confusion, the rules state you must have two hands free or you take a -4 to grapple, so if I chose to maintain would it be a +1 for the roll (instead of the usual +5) and then the tie up would occur?
| Perfect Tommy |
The rules state you may tie him up. It imposes the conditions under which you may do it. I.e, if your opponent is grappled and if you take a -10 penalty to the grapple check.
You explicitly have the ability. GM prerogative does not extend to imposing additional requirements.
Having rope is sufficient.
A -10 penalty is huge; off the top of my head I can't think of a bigger penalty in the game.
This means the developers have said - we think it takes two rounds minimum, and three successful checks to tie someone up in a grapple. And we think that penalty to apply the rope - getting it, wrapping it, looping it, all the while holding your victim - is a -10 penalty.
Now, if there are other circumstances - you have sand in your eyes; your rope is covered in oil, its an animated rope, its a rope of entanglement - your GM is free to impose other circumstance bonuses.
Otherwise, RAW.
| Perfect Tommy |
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
I don't think you understood what I said. The rules say what is required.
No additional penalties than what is required.
So if you are grappled, the penalty is -10. Boom, youre tied.
If you have him pinned, there is no penalty to the roll. Maintain the grapple; tie him up.
Essentially its
Grapple - you win.
He gets to escape - you win
Grapple - you get to pin
He gets to escape - you win
Grapple to maintain (no penalties)
Tie him up.
| Scott Wilhelm |
You have to have your opponent Pinned to Tie him Up, and you take the -10 penalty when you do.
If you have your target pinned, otherwise restrained, or unconscious, you can use rope to tie him up.
There is even a special class ability that lets you get around just this thing.
Expert Captor (Ex): At 2nd level, as long as he has rope, the cavalier can tie up a grappled opponent, even if the opponent is not pinned, otherwise restrained, or unconscious, and he does not take the usual –10 penalty on his combat maneuver check to do so.
I posted this on another Thread. Atalius, you were on that thread.
| Scott Wilhelm |
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
I agree with Perfect Tommy that that -10 penalty must subsume the -4 penalty for not having 2 hands free--having rope in your hands. Otherwise, they would have mentioned that you take an additional -4 for having rope instead of victim in your hands. They make no mention of that in the Tie Up section of Grappling.