Magic Item Verification


Rules Questions

Silver Crusade

I've been reading forum post all morning and just want to be sure that I'm reading the rules correctly.

I'm a 4th level wizard with both the craft wondrous item feat, and the fox's cunning spell and I want to create a Headband of Vast Intelligence +6.

My spellcraft DC is 13 (base 5 + 8(CL of the item)), and it will cost me 18,000 gold pieces to make and take 18 days.

Did I miss something?


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

36 days. Other than that, only that if you want to work twice as fast the DC is 5 higher. Other than that and some specific traits and feats that improve item creation, looks like you’ve got it.


Your caster level isn't high enough to create that item.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
TPK wrote:
Your caster level isn't high enough to create that item.

you can bypass the caster level requirement by adding a +5 to the dc of the check


3 people marked this as a favorite.
TPK wrote:
Your caster level isn't high enough to create that item.

There is no caster level requirement for that item, so he is fine. Even if there was, that is something that can (usually) be bypassed by adding +5 to the check to make the item.


It's an enhancement bonus, and specifically only weapons and armor that generate those all have a CL requirement of 3 × the bonus. No such restriction for other items.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
LoudKid wrote:
It's an enhancement bonus, and specifically only weapons and armor that generate those all have a CL requirement of 3 × the bonus. No such restriction for other items.

There are a few other items that grant enhancement bonuses that do have a caster level requirement. Granted, the ones I know of (amulet of mighty fists, amulet of natural armor) apply to attacks and armor class, but aren't themselves weapons or armor. So such restrictions do exist for some items that aren't weapons or armor.


Those aren't written into the base crafting rules, so those are able to be bypassed with the +5 crafting DC.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Relevant FAQ.


LoudKid wrote:
Those aren't written into the base crafting rules, so those are able to be bypassed with the +5 crafting DC.

The "caster level equal to the bonus x 3" for armor and weapons can by bypassed as well. So I don't see the point you are trying to make.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Thanks, Gisher. I wasn't aware of that FAQ.


LoudKid wrote:
Thanks, Gisher. I wasn't aware of that FAQ.

You are welcome. There are a lot of FAQs. It's really hard to keep up with all of them.


One of the only items (besides the aforementioned enhancement bonuses) that I know of that has a caster level requirement is a pearl of power.


PokeyCA wrote:
One of the only items (besides the aforementioned enhancement bonuses) that I know of that has a caster level requirement is a pearl of power.

Technically, a pearl of power doesn't have a caster level requirement, it just requires the ability to cast spells of a certain spell level.

Quote:
Requirements Craft Wondrous Item, creator must be able to cast spells of the spell level to be recalled;

So a pearl for 4th level spells, for example, could be made by a 7th level wizard (CL7), 8th level sorcerer (CL8), a 10th level bard (CL10), or a 12th/13th level adept (CL12 or 13).

Bracers of armor or a cloak of resistance are probably the most common wondrous items that does require a caster level. There are a few others. Some of the armor and weapon special abilities have their own caster level requirement as well. Most wondrous items don't have a caster level requirement, however.


Jeraa wrote:
PokeyCA wrote:
One of the only items (besides the aforementioned enhancement bonuses) that I know of that has a caster level requirement is a pearl of power.

Technically, a pearl of power doesn't have a caster level requirement, it just requires the ability to cast spells of a certain spell level.

Quote:
Requirements Craft Wondrous Item, creator must be able to cast spells of the spell level to be recalled;
So a pearl for 4th level spells, for example, could be made by a 7th level wizard (CL7), 8th level sorcerer (CL8), a 10th level bard (CL10), or a 12th/13th level adept (CL12 or 13).

Yep. The Pearls even have their own FAQ regarding this.


and even those requirements can be bypassed by adding 5 to the dc

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Magic Item Verification All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.