| AlgaeNymph |
So I'm ethereal and I bump into a forbiddance spell. Assuming my caster level's high enough, can I dispel the forbiddance while still remaining ethereal?
| Kayerloth |
I believe (and would rule it so barring something posted in this thread to make me change my mind) you need to be on the same plane as the caster was when casting the Forbiddance and within the 100ft. + 10ft./level range of Dispel Magic (assuming no metamagic or other ability allows the use of the Dispel across planar boundries). That said I see some considerable murkiness when it comes to targeting particularly if you can from the Ethereal see the entire area warded by Forbiddance.
And I will definitely be interested in seeing others thoughts.
| Volkard Abendroth |
I believe (and would rule it so barring something posted in this thread to make me change my mind) you need to be on the same plane as the caster was when casting the Forbiddance and within the 100ft. + 10ft./level range of Dispel Magic (assuming no metamagic or other ability allows the use of the Dispel across planar boundries). That said I see some considerable murkiness when it comes to targeting particularly if you can from the Ethereal see the entire area warded by Forbiddance.
And I will definitely be interested in seeing others thoughts.
If a spell is affecting your current plane of existence, the effect can be dispelled from that location.
| Kayerloth |
Kayerloth wrote:If a spell is affecting your current plane of existence, the effect can be dispelled from that location.I believe (and would rule it so barring something posted in this thread to make me change my mind) you need to be on the same plane as the caster was when casting the Forbiddance and within the 100ft. + 10ft./level range of Dispel Magic (assuming no metamagic or other ability allows the use of the Dispel across planar boundries). That said I see some considerable murkiness when it comes to targeting particularly if you can from the Ethereal see the entire area warded by Forbiddance.
And I will definitely be interested in seeing others thoughts.
So you believe Forbiddance blocks travel/movement in the 'adjacent' transitive and coexistent/coterminus planes even if the traveler has no desire or inclination to enter the area warded by the Forbiddance on the Prime, i.e. is merely passing by? Is the traveler truly engaged in planar travel if not attempting to leave the plane to move into the area warded on the Prime? Or is our traveler not actually affected by the Forbiddance until he attempts to cross the planar boundry and enter the Prime and thus runs into the barrier/warding at that point?
Edit: Note that Forbiddance does not have the Force descriptor.
| Volkard Abendroth |
As written, Forbiddance blocks an ethereal or astral traveler from entering or, if already within the affected area, moving around within the area protected by the spell while on the ethereal or astral planes.
Forbiddance is not restricted to blocking the crossing of planar boundaries. It affects all movement in both planes.
The alignment based damage is applied to creatures on the prime, astral and ethereal planes. Creatures not in the astral or ethereal planes have the option to move into/out of/within the affected area.
| Kayerloth |
Hmmm no I don't believe it restricts movement within the plane except by means which require access to another plane i.e. Teleport which requires accessing the Astral plane to employ ... it won't stop anyone from simply walking across the area regardless if they are an extraplanar creature or not. They make take damage depending on alignment. It also stops all planar movement meaning no Shadow Walk or Mirror travel or anything else requiring planar modes of movement not just astral or ethereal. Or do I misunderstand you?
Alignments identical: No effect. The creature may enter the area freely (although not by planar travel).
No need for that parathentical clarification if they couldn't move at all.
The real question is does the effect (barrier and damage) occur at the 'point' of crossing or extend into the adjoining planes. I don't see anything in the language of the text that specifies its affects extend into the adjoining planes.
| Volkard Abendroth |
Hmmm no I don't believe it restricts movement within the plane except by means which require access to another plane i.e. Teleport which requires accessing the Astral plane to employ ... it won't stop anyone from simply walking across the area regardless if they are an extraplanar creature or not. They make take damage depending on alignment. It also stops all planar movement meaning no Shadow Walk or Mirror travel or anything else requiring planar modes of movement not just astral or ethereal. Or do I misunderstand you?
Quote:Alignments identical: No effect. The creature may enter the area freely (although not by planar travel).No need for that parathentical clarification if they couldn't move at all.
The real question is does the effect (barrier and damage) occur at the 'point' of crossing or extend into the adjoining planes. I don't see anything in the language of the text that specifies its affects extend into the adjoining planes.
To put the quoted paragraph in context:
Alignments identical: No effect. The creature may enter the area freely (although not by planar travel).
Alignments different with respect to either law/chaos or good/evil: The creature takes 6d6 points of damage. A successful Will save halves the damage, and spell resistance applies.
The no effect statement is referring to damage taken.
The restriction on entering or traveling within the AoE astrally or ethereally remains in place regardless of alignment.
| Kayerloth |
Yes, of course, the potential damage occurring is based upon alignment. I was concerned with why the author(s) felt the need to state "(although not by planar travel)" if in fact they have already stated no movement is allowed. That implies rather strongly to me that there are times when movement is allowed as long as it is not planar. And to me planar travel is when you move between planes. It is not when moving around a single plane of existence regardless of which plane is being considered. You appear to be saying for yourself planar travel is any travel not entirely occurring within the Prime Material, correct? Thus even if you took a stroll down a lane upon the Seven Heavens you would consider it planar travel. Sort of like if you walked, rode a horse or swam in mountainous terrain they would all be considered "mountain travel" And that's where our differences in interpretation is coming from.