Transfer Charge offensively


Rules Questions


What roll would you make when using Transfer Charge offensively on the enemies weapon (Or powered armor)?

Would it be just a normal spell touch attack, or a Sunder if it needs to touch the weapon?

Based on the rules of the spell it looks it would be a good idea for a Technomancer to carry around as many different empty batteries as possible. Grab the opponents gun and transfer all of its charges to the battery. Same thing with powered armor.

Also with the spell is, "All of them" an acceptable declaration?

"You must declare how many charges you are transferring before casting this spell."

If not and you declare 40 charges, and there's only 30 left, what happens?


Nothing in the spell specifies it can't be used offensively, though it doesn't seem to be the intention because it doesn't mention the type of action required (or allowed) if you want to do it that way.

I think this should be possible, but might require some clarification.

As far as number of charges, "all of them" should probably be valid. I can't imagine there being a penalty for saying too high a number. The only penalty is if you try to overcharge the battery you're transferring too.


You could also do the opposite carry fully charged high power batteries and transfer the charges into a enemy's item damaging it.


Disarm weapon, pick it up, cast spell.


Xenocrat wrote:
Disarm weapon, pick it up, cast spell.

What's your reasoning for that many steps?


Hijiggy wrote:
Xenocrat wrote:
Disarm weapon, pick it up, cast spell.
What's your reasoning for that many steps?

Because that unquestionably will work.

Anything else is making inferences that are not clearly supported by the rules.


The biggest issue I saw was that you have to touch the battery to transfer a charge to it. So you'd be in the blast radius.

But hey, if you're willing to damage yourself by an equal measure, I don't see why it shouldn't be allowed.


Well it would definitely invoke an AoO because its casting a spell within their threatened squares.

But there's nothing in the spell that says it shouldn't work. It takes 1 standard action and it requires you touch the battery or weapon, and you have the empty one.

So putting the spell aside, if in combat I just wanted to touch the weapon they're holding, what roll would I make? Sunder? Disarm?


Personally, I'd probably just call it an unarmed attack with no damage roll, and would likely require it to be a full round action since grabbing/touching the battery would be an opposed action (hence potentially a standard action on its own) and the casting would also be a standard action. No full attack penalty since the only benefit you get out of the touch/grab is the ability to cast, but would definitely provoke.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

I'm not remotely convinced that the battery can easily be touched while someone else is holding/wielding the weapon it powers.

You can't remove the battery from a weapon someone else is holding or wielding (or there appears to be no rules allowing you to do so), so I had presumed you can't touch this precise part with a touch attack either.

If you can touch the battery to cast a spell on it, why not use that action to remove the battery you are touching?

Dataphiles

Butch A. wrote:

I'm not remotely convinced that the battery can easily be touched while someone else is holding/wielding the weapon it powers.

You can't remove the battery from a weapon someone else is holding or wielding (or there appears to be no rules allowing you to do so), so I had presumed you can't touch this precise part with a touch attack either.

If you can touch the battery to cast a spell on it, why not use that action to remove the battery you are touching?

Agreed! I might allow a sneaky technomancer to creep up on an unaware guard and drain their batteries (with a fairly high-DC stealth check), but in open combat? No way, unless they disarmed the enemy first.


Batteries have to be the same capacity to work. AT least that's how I'm ready "same" in the spell description.

baggageboy wrote:
You could also do the opposite carry fully charged high power batteries and transfer the charges into a enemy's item damaging it.


You are correct.


Thanks for pointing that out Butch, that's a really good point. I was mixing the rules of Jolting Surge and Transfer charge in my head, thinking you only had to touch the weapon.

Looking at the pictures in the book, some weapons have very external and exposed batteries (Usually unwieldy type), while others are internal and would be hard to touch.

For my home game I might make this only work on unwieldy weapons due to their more easily accessible batteries. But still require a sunder attack (Kac+8) in order to touch the battery.

Butch A. wrote:
If you can touch the battery to cast a spell on it, why not use that action to remove the battery you are touching?

I'm presuming there's some screw or clasp that makes it harder to actually remove than simply touch?


It's a move action to change batteries, so there might even be a battery eject button.

Community / Forums / Starfinder / Rules Questions / Transfer Charge offensively All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions