Natural Spell Combat + Spellstrike + Claw / Claw / Bite


Rules Questions


Could someone please correct me if I'm wrong or reading the rules incorrectly. If you have Claw/Claw/Bite(whatever the source, be they rage powers, racial feats,lycanthropy, etc) and you have taken the Natural Spell Combat arcana twice(bite and claws), when doing Spell Combat + Spellstriking you could effectively do 2 spells(one spell combat, the other spellstruck) *AND* claw, claw, bite, in a single turn... correct?


Are you under the impression that Spellstrike grants you an extra casting? If so then you are mistaken.


No, but spellstriking is casting a spell and using your melee weapon(in this case a natural weapon) so you spellstrike through the claw or bite, spell combat and use the second claw and bite.


No. Because spell combat is like two weapon fighting with the off hand being a spell, the claw of that hand is used. Therefore you can't use it to claw someone.


TheOddGoblin wrote:
No, but spellstriking is casting a spell and using your melee weapon(in this case a natural weapon) so you spellstrike through the claw or bite, spell combat and use the second claw and bite.

That isn't how Spelkstrike works. It only allows you to deliver the charge from a touch spell through a weapon attack. Casting a spell is entirely separate and would require an action. Spell Combat is a full round action so the only way to cast a second spell that round would be to use a Swift Action to cast a Quickened Spell.


If you use spell combat to cast a touch attack spell you can use with spellstrike then you do get a single attack to deliver that touch spell (not a full attack - just one), and the full attack which is a part of spell combat. Is that what you're asking about?

Edit: I think Gisher understood you better there.


To understand Spell Combat and Spellstrike, I highly recommend Grick's Guide to Touch Spells, Spellstrike, and Spell Combat. I believe that it is the most favorited post on the entire website.


Cavall wrote:
No. Because spell combat is like two weapon fighting with the off hand being a spell, the claw of that hand is used. Therefore you can't use it to claw someone.

Natural Spell Combat actually does allow you to claw with your free hand.

Natural Spell Combat wrote:
For example, a magus could select this arcana twice, choosing claw attacks and bite attacks. This would allow him to use a full-round action to make all of his claw attacks with his free hand and all of his bite attacks in addition to casting a spell.

And of course the weapon in your other hand can be a claw even if you don't have Natural Spell Combat.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

I somehow skipped over his taking that twice. Thanks gisher.


I should have worded myself better. Assuming Natural Spell Combat is taken twice so it applies to claws and bite, with a claw previously charged through a spell such as Chill Touch or Shocking Grasp, you could "effectively" full attack with Claw/Claw/Bite while "casting"(I meant discharging) a spellstrike such as Chill Touch AND still cast a spell through Spell Combat such as Shocking Grasp or Touch of Fatigue or True Strike etc etc etc. Correct?


Yes, that works as long as you discharge the old spell before you complete the casting of the new spell. So you would want to resolve the casting of the spell after the full attack.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Natural Spell Combat + Spellstrike + Claw / Claw / Bite All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions