| Payne Mykonos |
I have a logistic problem.
How do I determine cost and CL of items when I can spend mythic power to increase the caster level by 2?
Does that mean I can build an item costing, say, as cast by level 8 but effective as level 10?
Do I lose my mythic point permanently or just when building the item?
Can I use eschew material, say for animate dead, for [Mythic level 3], spend 2 points for a 100gp Eschew material and get an item that has no additional material casting cost.
(effectively an animate dead item that can animate 4HD for free)?
| GM Rednal |
In general, mythic abilities should not be seen as a way to get around the normal costs and limitations of crafting items.
I would probably allow you to create an item with a CL of 10 if you're Level 8 and using an appropriate ability, but it would be priced as a CL 10 item, and the MP would only be spent when building.
I would not permit things like Mythic Eschew Materials allowing you to create a spell-in-a-can item at a lower price.
| Payne Mykonos |
In general, mythic abilities should not be seen as a way to get around the normal costs and limitations of crafting items.
I would probably allow you to create an item with a CL of 10 if you're Level 8 and using an appropriate ability, but it would be priced as a CL 10 item, and the MP would only be spent when building.
Do you feel this should also apply to other bonus on CL?
Like my bloodline ability that allows to cast necromantic spells at +1CL?I would agree if using an item like an Ioun stone.
How about when, my level 8 multi-class character Sorcerer 4/Oracle4 gets the feat Magical knack? (that allows him a +2CL on a sub class as long as it is the total level of the PC or under).
I would not permit things like Mythic Eschew Materials allowing you to create a spell-in-a-can item at a lower price.
Wouldn't that mean you negate a sorcerer's base eschew material as well? Would you require a sorcerer to get *spell* components to make an item altough he's never had to use one before?
| GM Rednal |
The base Eschew Materials is for casting normally, not for crafting. Normal crafting has specific rules on pricing, including notes on material components, and the ability to cast without components does not mean you can also craft without them. It's basically handwaved for components that don't cost anything, but any expensive components still need to be paid for.
| Bob Bob Bob |
The cost is the cost of whatever the end result is (if you're making an item that casts a CL 10 spell instead of 8, multiply by 10 instead of 8). The caster level is whatever your caster level is when you provide the spell.
Eschew Materials would let you dodge your personal cost (when you provide the spell every day) but wouldn't let the item gain any of the benefits. The rules for item creation have a separate clause saying you need to pay for any expensive material components the spell uses.
Basically, whatever you personally can do is almost entirely irrelevant. The magic item creation rules follow a bunch of formulas. No ability I know of lets you interfere with that step.
| Payne Mykonos |
The problem is; there is no explanation why/how the caster level influences the cost to you, the caster.
If I make a item where level has no impact on duration/damage/effect etc it would cost more for me just because I'm higher level. Which makes no sense and has no benefits. (except maybe for dispeling I guess).
Because; if I cast say burning hands at level 2 it does 5d4 dam if I spend a MP.
Or Ray of enfeeblement cast at level 3 would do 1d8+2 as if it was a level 4 caster.
I cast spells into items I make; why would they be de-powered when used?
Sure this is a way to reduce cost. But this seems a legit side-effect of these elements.
| blahpers |
What, specifically, are you trying to make? I don't recall caster level boosting feats/traits/bloodline powers/whatever ever affecting crafted items, requirements notwithstanding. If you're 5th level and have +1 CL for [fire] spells, sure, you can craft a scroll of fireball at CL 6, but you're still going to pay the crafting cost for a CL 6 scroll, so the only gain is being able to craft stronger (not cheaper) scrolls.
Mythic doesn't really factor into any of this, of course. AFAIK there are no published guidelines on crafting custom mythic magic items, but that could just mean that it's in the hardcover, which I do not own.
| Payne Mykonos |
There are several items I plan to make.
The spells involved;
Resist Energy
Animate Dead
Burning Hands
If CL boost don't affect items the cost, then you have to decide what is the caster level I am; my real level or my *effective* level. (Actually this last sentence kind of pushes towards paying an item as of your effective level, since you can lower your caster level when making an item.)
I have Craft Wondrous items with an effective CL +1 from Oracle.
Mythic surge allows to spend a Mythic Point to increase spell effect +2CL.
I have a Sorcerer bloodline sanguine (3rd party allowed by DM) that gives +1CL for necromancy.
I have a feat to offset my split levels from multi-classing. [+2cl]
So I can make a magic item with +6CL necromantic spell.
You are right there is no rule that I know on how mythic feats affect item creation.
Since the +2CL surge is a basic ability for mythic; that rises questions for item creation.
I figured the rule would be the same for CL bonus from items such as Ioun Stone or class abilities.
But even the basic rules do not say if I use my real CL or my effective CL.
| GM Rednal |
When crafting, an item's set CL is its set CL. If you make a scroll of CL 5 Fireball, it's a CL 5 Fireball. If you make it CL 7 instead, then its power - and price - are appropriate for a CL 7 scroll. The fact that you COULD cast higher, yourself, does not affect the item. It's what the item is created as that matters.
| Payne Mykonos |
When crafting, an item's set CL is its set CL. If you make a scroll of CL 5 Fireball, it's a CL 5 Fireball. If you make it CL 7 instead, then its power - and price - are appropriate for a CL 7 scroll. The fact that you COULD cast higher, yourself, does not affect the item. It's what the item is created as that matters.
It makes sense that my *effective* caster level is what counts.
I can accept that, but it affects other game effects if that's the case.By that logic would you say that I should use my effective level when someone tries to dispel it?
| Payne Mykonos |
Payne Mykonos wrote:Mythic surge allows to spend a Mythic Point to increase spell effect +2CL.Do you mind citing your source for this? I am not familiar with this particular mythic usage and spending a mythic point on crafting sounds like a non-cost. I don't think this is correct.
http://www.d20pfsrd.com/mythic/mythic-heroes/mythic-paths-paizo-inc/hieroph ant/
inspired Spell (Su)
(See FAQ below) You can expend one use of mythic power to cast any one divine spell, treating your caster level as 2 levels higher. This spell must be on your divine spell list (or your domain or mystery spell list) and must be of a spell level that you can cast using that divine spellcasting class. If you are a spontaneous spellcaster, you don’t need to have the spell prepared, nor does it need to be on your list of spells known. Using this ability does not expend a prepared spell or available spell slot. You can apply any metamagic feats you know to this spell, but its total spell slot level must be a slot level you can normally cast.
My mistake on the name.
| blahpers |
GM Rednal wrote:When crafting, an item's set CL is its set CL. If you make a scroll of CL 5 Fireball, it's a CL 5 Fireball. If you make it CL 7 instead, then its power - and price - are appropriate for a CL 7 scroll. The fact that you COULD cast higher, yourself, does not affect the item. It's what the item is created as that matters.It makes sense that my *effective* caster level is what counts.
I can accept that, but it affects other game effects if that's the case.By that logic would you say that I should use my effective level when someone tries to dispel it?
You would use the caster level at which you crafted the item. If you crafted it higher, you pay more, it's harder to dispel, and it's caster level based variables are higher.
| GM Rednal |
Yup. Generally, the only items that can use your CL instead of the item's own are staves. A 15th-level caster, for example, could make a CL 15 Scroll of Magic Missile if they really wanted to - but that would be far more expensive, and without offering a whole lot of extra utility. You can use your effective caster level to make stronger (and more expensive) items, but not to make a CL 5 scroll that acts like a CL 6+ one when you use it.
That, and at a certain point of improved power, you're usually better off just getting a stronger spell to begin with. (That's really more about practicality and cost-efficiency, though, instead of what you explicitly can or cannot do.)
| Mysterious Stranger |
One thing to keep in mind is that you are not actually casting the spells so anything that gives a bonus when casting is irrelevant. Arcane Surge allows you to cast the spell so does not apply. Likewise you sorcerer bloodline arcana is also only when you cast a spells, so does not apply. If you have the trait Magical Knack that does actually increase your caster level directly. I am not sure what bonus you are getting from Oracle, and if it actually increases the caster level when not casting spells. As far as I can see your caster level is +2 higher than your class level, maybe +3.
Think of it this way when you cast fireball there is an explosion of fire. When you enchant an item using fireball there is not.
| Payne Mykonos |
I am not sure what bonus you are getting from Oracle, and if it actually increases the caster level when not casting spells. As far as I can see your caster level is +2 higher than your class level, maybe +3.
There is the Revelation.
Craft Juju Fetish (Ex): You can craft juju fetishes as if you possessed the Craft Wondrous Item feat. All juju fetishes you create are treated as being CL +1. If you possess this revelation and Craft Wondrous Item, all juju fetishes you create are treated as being CL +2.
http://www.d20pfsrd.com/classes/base-classes/oracle/mysteries/paizo---oracl e-mysteries/juju