bard archetypes stacking?


Rules Questions

Scarab Sages

Duettist bard gives you a familiar.
Arcane Duelist gives you a bonded weapon at a later level specifically stating: "At 5th level, an arcane duelist gains the arcane bond ability as a wizard, using a weapon as his bonded item. He may not choose a familiar or other type of bonded item. He may use the hand holding his bonded weapon for somatic components."
Will this get rid of my familiar from Duettist?


both replace bardic knowledge and can't stack.

but yes, it would remove your familiar.


No.

The restriction is only for choosing which version of "Arcane Bond" (normally Familiar vs Item) you can choose.


They don't stack so moot past that

Scarab Sages

Didn't see that part. Good to know.
So say you got a familiar from a sorcerer bloodline or a witch class or something like that.
Would your familiar than be non-existent?

Silver Crusade

No.


The only restriction on that Arcane Duelist feature is that it prevents you from making any choice with your Arcane Bond (which is otherwise like the Wizard's) that is not a weapon; so you can't choose a familiar or a ring or a snazzy pair of pants.

Any other means of acquiring a familiar, ring, or pair of snazzy pants is valid.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

What if your snazzy pants are a weapon? I know mine are.


Chess Pwn wrote:

both replace bardic knowledge and can't stack.

but yes, it would remove your familiar.

I'm am sorry, I misremembered and was applying black blade rules to normal bonded items.

BB would remove your familiar.
Normal weapon bond wont.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / bard archetypes stacking? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions