| Helpful Harry |
warpriest can designate a weapon as a sacred weapon by selecting that weapon with the Weapon Focus feat; if he has multiple Weapon Focus feats, this ability applies to all of them.
If you have weapon focus, then sacred weapon applies.
If you're using sacred weapon to enhance your weapon, then you have to enhance each end separately.
If multiple weapons are enhanced, each one consumes rounds of use individually. The enhancement bonus and special abilities are determined the first time the ability is used each day, and cannot be changed until the next day. These benefits do not apply if another creature is wielding the weapon, but they continue to be in effect if the weapon otherwise leaves the warpriest's possession (such as if the weapon is thrown). This ability can be ended as a free action at the start of the warpriest's turn (that round does not count against the total duration, unless the ability is resumed during the same round). If the warpriest uses this ability on a double weapon, the effects apply to only one end of the weapon.
| Loengrin |
Just want to point out that the kusarigama description does not specify which end does which damage. The write up for it isn't the best.
It is written in Ultimate Equipment 2nd Printing :
For a Medium kusarigama, the sickle end deals 1d6 points of slashing damage, and the chain end deals 1d3 points of bludgeoning damage
| Loengrin |
But Sacred Weapon does clear it up a little bit, it is a 1D6/1D6 weapon though the bit about reach or attacking adjacent enemies or what properties the weapon has at which range is still unclear.
Sorry, I should have put the complete entry the first time it seems... ;)
From the Ultimate Equipment 2nd Printing.
This weapon has a single kama or sickle held in the off hand, attached by 10 feet of fine chain to a weighted metal ball. The sickle can be used to make trip attacks, jabs, and blocks, while the ball is whipped around at high speeds and then smashed into the opponent, or used to tangle an opponent’s sword or spear, allowing the wielder to then attack with the sickle. For a Medium kusarigama, the sickle end deals 1d6 points of slashing damage, and the chain end deals 1d3 points of bludgeoning damage
So the Kama is Melee Trip
The chain is 10 foot long so is a Reach weapons... So Melee Reach Grapple| graystone |
Now if they could rewrite the mess that is the rope dart…
What's the issue? You can throw it 12' [rope] + 5' [natural reach] + .5' [spike] for 17.5': anything past 15' reaches into the 20' square, and 17.5' reached to the middle of the square. So you can attack 4 squares away from you [20' and 1st range increment] and retrieve the weapon. As a thrown weapon, it CAN be thrown 5 increments but that'd require letting go of the rope.
| Scythia |
d'Eon wrote:Now if they could rewrite the mess that is the rope dart…What's the issue? You can throw it 12' [rope] + 5' [natural reach] + .5' [spike] for 17.5': anything past 15' reaches into the 20' square, and 17.5' reached to the middle of the square. So you can attack 4 squares away from you [20' and 1st range increment] and retrieve the weapon. As a thrown weapon, it CAN be thrown 5 increments but that'd require letting go of the rope.
Yeah, simple.
Slides notepad with geometry formulae out of sight| d'Eon |
Despite being a 'dart', the rope dart is not meant to be thrown, it's got a loop around your off-hand wrist. The PF rules would allow for you to wield another weapon in your off-hand, that wouldn't be possible while using one since it requires your off-hand to control it properly. I haven't seen any sources that suggest it was ever meant to be thrown.
It really shouldn't be a ranged weapon, but a two-handed weapon that doesn't add 1½ Str to damage, has 15-20' reach and can threaten adjacent spaces.
| Loengrin |
Well a Rope Dart is a Ranged Weapon, it's entry is in the Exotic Ranged Weapon Table...
The description says it all :
This deceptively complex weapon appears to be nothing more than a 12-foot rope attached to a 6-inchlong, conical metal spike. Similar to a meteor hammer, it can be whirled at great speeds, then aimed to strike and pierce opponents with great reach.
Once it strikes, the wielder can quickly retrieve the weapon with a tug of the rope as a free action.
So as already said you can throw it up to 20' feet and retrieve it for free or throw it more than 20' and can't retrieve it for free... ;)
| graystone |
Yeah, simple.
Slides notepad with geometry formulae out of sight
LOL It's not that bad, it just takes a bit of thinking about it. Most think 'it's 12' so how can I reach 20'" but forget you can punch 5' away. It's not like the old scorpion whip or the weapon in question for the thread. ;)
Despite being a 'dart', the rope dart is not meant to be thrown, it's got a loop around your off-hand wrist. The PF rules would allow for you to wield another weapon in your off-hand, that wouldn't be possible while using one since it requires your off-hand to control it properly. I haven't seen any sources that suggest it was ever meant to be thrown.
It really shouldn't be a ranged weapon, but a two-handed weapon that doesn't add 1½ Str to damage, has 15-20' reach and can threaten adjacent spaces.
Oh, I could see it as melee but I see several things wrong with your version. A rope dart being able to hit from 5'-20' is so far better than any other melee weapon that it'd never be made. Secondly, with the significant centrifugal force used with it, I could see the 1 1/2 str, further making it out of reach from normal design standards. So melee is a no go.
For the first point, a ranged weapon is either projectile or thrown. It's easy to see it's NOT a projectile weapon: "Projectile weapons use ammunition" and "ammunition that hits its target is destroyed or rendered useless". So the only way the rope dart isn't a thrown weapon is if the dart gets destroyed on a hit and you have to replace it every time: the line that allows for "quickly retrieve the weapon" makes that impossible.
On the last point, I could see hands both ways. It's possible to anchor the weapon with a wrist, so it could be possible to use another weapon in than hand. On the other for full control, you'd want it in a hand, so a note like the bow could work: "You need at least two hands to use a bow".
So in the end the only semi-questionable part is number of hands, and by default it's 1 since it has no special note on hands used.
EDIT: for weapons with a reach greater than 10', look at the whip or Sarissa: one doesn't threaten 5'-10' and only threatens in a 90 degree cone while the other attacks 5'-15' but doesn't threaten and is treated like a ranged weapon for AoO.
| d'Eon |
I guess I used threaten incorrectly, what I meant to say was that it should be 15-20' reach and can attack anything from adjacent to max reach, not that you could make AoOs out to 20'. Mainly the idea of throwing it 100' gets me, these things aren't going to go that far, especially with the 12' of rope trailing behind it.
I'd argue you could hold something in your off-hand, but you wouldn't be attacking with whatever it is at the same time.
| graystone |
I guess I used threaten incorrectly, what I meant to say was that it should be 15-20' reach and can attack anything from adjacent to max reach, not that you could make AoOs out to 20'.
Being able to "attack anything from adjacent to max reach" means AoO: "You threaten all squares into which you can make a melee attack".
Mainly the idea of throwing it 100' gets me, these things aren't going to go that far, especially with the 12' of rope trailing behind it.
Think of it like a sling. You can whip something pretty far with a good spin going. A grappling hook makes it 50' with a normal rope attached [50' hemp adds 5 lbs]. The rope dart does not use normal climbing rope [you can tell by the weight since 12' of hemp rope weighs 2.4 lbs and the rope dart weights - ].
I'd argue you could hold something in your off-hand, but you wouldn't be attacking with whatever it is at the same time.
Not the same time but the same round. You also have to remember that not every weapon takes a physical hand. Kicking someone is counted as a second weapon and isn't interacting with your physical offhand at all.
| Scythia |
Scythia wrote:Yeah, simple.
Slides notepad with geometry formulae out of sightLOL It's not that bad, it just takes a bit of thinking about it. Most think 'it's 12' so how can I reach 20'" but forget you can punch 5' away. It's not like the old scorpion whip or the weapon in question for the thread. ;)
Well sure, but what's the DC to attack with it across a 10' pit?