a few questions about bolas


Rules Questions

The Exchange

weapon page

the page states i can make a ranged trip attempt, but it's a bit vague.
do i still deal the weapon damage to my target?
do i use my dexterity instead of my strength for my CMB?
do i take a -2 penalty on my trip attempt as per ranged trip?

thank you for your time


You would not deal damage if making a trip attack.
In this instances, since you are specifically using the bola to make the attack you could apply whatever you normally use for attacking with the bola to your combat maneuver. So in this case, you would use dex since it's a ranged attack.
You do not take the -2 penalty for ranged trip, you also don't need the feat ranged trip as the bola existed before the feat did. The bola has the special ability to make trip attacks on its own, where as other ranged weapons (like a bow) can be used to trip if you have the feat.

The Exchange

alright, that makes sense

i appreciate your assistance

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / a few questions about bolas All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions