Can you use a Swift Action & Immediate Action in the same turn?


Rules Questions


Like the title says. I'm not sure but I'm remembering that in 5th edition you could not.


No.

Combat wrote:
Using an immediate action on your turn is the same as using a swift action and counts as your swift action for that turn.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Depends on what you mean. If you meant "in the same round" then yes, Otherwise no.

You can take a swift action on your turn, then take an immediate action right after your turn (which would consume your swift action on your next turn).

You cannot under any circumstances do both on your turn, however (barring a feat or ability that specifically says otherwise).


Corset of Delicate Moves

This is the only thing that I know of that allows for an extra swift action, but you sacrifice your move action so the applications are limited. I used it with my Magus to activate Arcane Pool then I used my normal swift to spellstrike with a quickened spell and my standard to spellstrike with another spell.

It's a nice option to have, shame it's limited to 1/day.


Yes, but an immediate action is used after their swift has already been utilized and costs them the use of their swift action in the following round.


As long as the turn is over you could use your immediate ..uh..immediately after. As pointed out that's your swift for next turn.

You couldn't use it in the same "turn" as your swift as in move standard swift.


Brother Fen wrote:
Yes, but an immediate action is used after their swift has already been utilized and costs them the use of their swift action in the following round.

Not exactly.

Used during your turn, an immediate action uses up your swift action for that turn, so you can't take both a swift and immediate action during your turn.
Used outside of your turn, an immediate action ALWAYS uses up your swift action for your NEXT turn, regardless of whether or not you took a swift action during the previous turn.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Can you use a Swift Action & Immediate Action in the same turn? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions