Monster caster level question


Rules Questions


Hi guys,

Hopefully I'm not being too dim; assuming this NPC template and offensive spell:

http://www.d20pfsrd.com/bestiary/npc-s/npc-0/shaman-half-orc-adept-2/
http://www.d20pfsrd.com/magic/all-spells/b/burning-hands/

The NPC text says "Adept Spells Prepared (CL 2nd; concentration +4)"

Does this mean that the NPC is a second level cleric, and that their number of available spells will be 2?

The spell text says "Any creature in the area of the flames takes 1d4 points of fire damage per caster level (maximum 5d4)"

Does this mean that the NPC will be dealing 2d4 damage?

Dark Archive

The NPC is a second level adept, which is like an NPC-only weaker than a cleric class.
CL 2 means that's the NPC'S caster level for spells (like burning hands) that have a different effect based on level. Their burning hands would deal 2d4 damage.


Wonderful, thank you for answering that so quickly. :)


you'll need the concentration number in case the caster is in combat.
see Concentration Check Table


Azothath wrote:

you'll need the concentration number in case the caster is in combat.

see Concentration Check Table

Excellent, thank you. :)

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Monster caster level question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions