Spell like abilities in animal form?


Rules Questions


Can a Witch, who can transform into a bat, use her hexes and spell-like abilities? her argument is that hexes & spell-like abilities do not require a verbal or somatic component. Also the magic page says SLA's are activated mentally, so my tendency is to say yes?


Generally yes, but not those which specify something inconsistent with the form. Bats can't cackle.


In case it matters, the shape change ability is from being a skinwalker.


avr wrote:
Generally yes, but not those which specify something inconsistent with the form. Bats can't cackle.

Cackle is a supernatural ability, not an SLA.


Adventure Path Charter Subscriber; Pathfinder Rulebook, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

SLAs, supernatural abilities, and even spells that are Silent and Still (or psychic spells using emotion and thought components instead of somatic and verbal components) can all be cast in non-humanoid forms.


Spell like abilities are cast like spells, so that would be a no for those abilities and animal forms.

Pretty much the only exception would be a Druid in Wildshape and the Natural Spell feat.


Adventure Path Charter Subscriber; Pathfinder Rulebook, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

<Ahem>

Core Rulebook wrote:
A spell-like ability has no verbal, somatic, or material component, nor does it require a focus. The user activates it mentally.


wraithstrike wrote:
avr wrote:
Generally yes, but not those which specify something inconsistent with the form. Bats can't cackle.
Cackle is a supernatural ability, not an SLA.

The OP asked about hexes and SLAs. Cackle's a hex.


Correct me if I'm mistaken, but can't all supernatural abilities work regardless of your form? For example, a Cleric who was turned into a cat by Baleful Polymorph and retained his mental stats can still channel energy, right? And a druid who is wildshaped into a bear can wildshape into a manta ray should they fall into water?


Jader7777 wrote:
Correct me if I'm mistaken, but can't all supernatural abilities work regardless of your form? For example, a Cleric who was turned into a cat by Baleful Polymorph and retained his mental stats can still channel energy, right? And a druid who is wildshaped into a bear can wildshape into a manta ray should they fall into water?

By default, you lose supernatural, extraordinary, and class abilities that are dependent on your original form

While under the effects of a polymorph spell, you lose all extraordinary and supernatural abilities that depend on your original form (such as keen senses, scent, and darkvision), as well as any natural attacks and movement types possessed by your original form. You also lose any class features that depend upon form, but those that allow you to add features (such as sorcerers that can grow claws) still function. While most of these should be obvious, the GM is the final arbiter of what abilities depend on form and are lost when a new form is assumed. Your new form might restore a number of these abilities if they are possessed by the new form.


I think that just brings up the question of 'depend on your original form' because I'm pretty sure an awakened cat can take cleric levels.


Awakened animals isn't an area that I've ever looked at, but I agree that 'depend on your original form' is going to take interpretation. For example, Channel Energy requires you to present your Holy Symbol. If you are polymorphed into an Elf then this shouldn't be difficult, but it would be tough if your Holy Symbol has merged into your new form or if you were turned into a jellyfish.

Scarab Sages

2 people marked this as a favorite.
Jader7777 wrote:
I think that just brings up the question of 'depend on your original form' because I'm pretty sure an awakened cat can take cleric levels.

Something being dependant on form... literally means that. If you have a third eye and that eye can fire a ray then that ray attack is dependent on that eye. Thus you can not use that attack if you polymorph into something else.

But if you have an SU ability that allows you to fire a ray but it isn't tied to a physical element of your form... then it doesn't matter what you polymorph into. You can still use that ray attack.

There is a third option where you do not lose the ability but do not have a form that allows you to activate your ability. Such as spell casting and turning into something without a voice, you can still cast and would have no trouble so long as the spell does not have a vocal component(given a body that can make somatic components).


Dragonchess Player wrote:
SLAs, supernatural abilities, and even spells that are Silent and Still (or psychic spells using emotion and thought components instead of somatic and verbal components) can all be cast in non-humanoid forms.

Side Note: For psychic casters there are also the issues of focus components and costly materials components. I've been working on a Kitsune Psychic Detective build using Keen Kitsune and Superior Shapechanger, and was sad to discover that the Summon Monster spells couldn't be cast in fox form since they require a focus.


avr wrote:
Generally yes, but not those which specify something inconsistent with the form. Bats can't cackle.

I think they could if the character transformed while wearing a Ring of Eloquence. I'm not sure about that, though.

Scarab Sages

Gisher wrote:
avr wrote:
Generally yes, but not those which specify something inconsistent with the form. Bats can't cackle.
I think they could if the character transformed while wearing a Ring of Eloquence. I'm not sure about that, though.

Absolutely could.

You wouldn't lose cackle as cackle does not require a specific set of vocal cords. You can cackle so long as your form is capable of cackling.
This is the same deal if a witch were to use Possession to possess another body with the ability to speak.


Adventure Path Charter Subscriber; Pathfinder Rulebook, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber
Gisher wrote:
Dragonchess Player wrote:
SLAs, supernatural abilities, and even spells that are Silent and Still (or psychic spells using emotion and thought components instead of somatic and verbal components) can all be cast in non-humanoid forms.
Side Note: For psychic casters there are also the issues of focus components and costly materials components. I've been working on a Kitsune Psychic Detective build using Keen Kitsune and Superior Shapechanger, and was sad to discover that the Summon Monster spells couldn't be cast in fox form since they require a focus.

All you need is one of these:

Ultimate Equipment wrote:

Polymorphic Pouch

Price 5,000 gp; Aura moderate transmutation; CL 9th; Weight 1 lb.

This leather pouch is usually decorated with a druidic motif. Within is an extradimensional space that can hold 4 cubic feet or 40 pounds worth of items and otherwise functions as a small bag of holding. If the bearer uses a polymorph effect or wild shape to transform into an animal, dragon, elemental, magical beast, plant, or vermin, the pouch never merges with her body. It automatically relocates to an easily-accessible place on her body (such as on a belt or a cord around her neck), allowing her to access the pouch and items within it while she is transformed.

Construction Requirements

Cost 2,500 gp

Craft Wondrous Item, polymorph, secret chest


Gisher wrote:
Awakened animals isn't an area that I've ever looked at, but I agree that 'depend on your original form' is going to take interpretation. For example, Channel Energy requires you to present your Holy Symbol. If you are polymorphed into an Elf then this shouldn't be difficult, but it would be tough if your Holy Symbol has merged into your new form or if you were turned into a jellyfish.

What if the animal IS the holy symbol?

What if it's a cleric of Shelyn who turns into a songbird?


Birthmark ought to do it.

Or holy symbol tatoo.


avr wrote:
wraithstrike wrote:
avr wrote:
Generally yes, but not those which specify something inconsistent with the form. Bats can't cackle.
Cackle is a supernatural ability, not an SLA.
The OP asked about hexes and SLAs. Cackle's a hex.

I stand corrected. I somehow missed the hex part.


Thank you all! I'm going with yes, she can.


Jader7777 wrote:
I think that just brings up the question of 'depend on your original form' because I'm pretty sure an awakened cat can take cleric levels.

Doesn't change the fact that certain class aspects are going to be really dam hard for a cat... such as scribing new spells into a spellbook, or swinging a longsword.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Spell like abilities in animal form? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions