Handle Animal and Aggressive Creatures


Rules Questions

51 to 100 of 114 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | next > last >>

1 person marked this as a favorite.
BigNorseWolf wrote:
The exclusive trick prevents your critter from being commanded when they've been wild empathied or charmed. Both of which are something you'd have to deal with under the paradigm that the critter has to be willing to listen to you. THATS what exlusive patches, not some non existent rule that anyone can command your critter with a dc 10 check.

It also prevents commands when not wild empathied or charmed.

Neither Handle an Animal nor Push an Animal make any concession to the relationship between the commander and commanded. They can be friendly or hostile, and the check is exactly the same.

Matthew Downie wrote:
Quote:
An animal with the Exclusive trick does not take trick commands from others even if it is friendly or helpful toward them (such as through the result of a charm animal spell)

This seems to imply a rule that Handle Animal only lets you command creatures that are already friendly.

That rule doesn't actually exist, but it's probably worth house-ruling in.

It does not imply that. It might imply a +/- to the DC for the relationship. A houserule for +/- 2 or 5, however sounds fine.

BigNorseWolf wrote:
Nefreet wrote:
Just to be clear, then, what exactly is your issue with my very first post in this thread?
1) The implication that an animal normally needs the exclusive trick to prevent someone from issuing them commands. They don't.

They do. Being hostile, wild, and untrained, does not prevent a trick command from working if you make the DC.

Nefreet wrote:

I 100% disagree that I must rule the same regarding a trained, domesticated animal and a wild, untrained animal.

There is simply no support for that anywhere. Like, anywhere.

You mean like not even the Handle Animal skill description? :-)

There are two places called out in the skill that deal differently with this difference: Raising a wild animal, and Special(Untrained use). Using tricks is the same for both.

Dr Styx wrote:
Cevah wrote:

Wild Empathy states: The typical domestic animal has a starting attitude of indifferent, while wild animals are usually unfriendly.

Unless there is some special reason for being unfriendly, a guard dog is indifferent. Being aggressive while guarding is not being unfriendly.

/cevah

A Trained Guard Dog is hardly a "typical domestic animal".

Guard (DC 20) wrote:
The animal stays in place and prevents others from approaching.
How would you say that is indifferent, to me the special reason of "prevents others from approaching" is a Hostile attitude.

Given its cheap price, I would say it is readily available. If you want to rule it non-typical, that is up to you, but does not change the DC or effect. "Guarding" is a job the animal performs. If you don't approach, it may watch you, but it won't go for you if not on a leash. That would be "Attack", not "Guard". If it is hostile, it Will take risks to hurt you* and would attack. When Guarding, it is not doing this. Again, you can house rule it hostile, and again, it makes no difference to the DC.

/cevah

*Pulled from a 3.5 diplomacy table.


BigNorseWolf wrote:
N N 959 wrote:
Not following your logic. The Exclusive trick absolutely opens the can of worms that any friendly person can issue your 2 INT animal a command.
The can of worms in Nefreet's logic that without the exclusive trick random adventurer can issue commands to the non friendly doggie.

And where do the rules exclude the use of Handle Animal on a non-friendly dog that knows tricks?

Quote:

I am vehemently against the idea of using handle animal on other peoples animals unless the critter is indifferent or better to you, but its fine as part of a heist, chase, or ad hoc check to get through a dungeon.

And yet, the rules seem to provide no prohibition against it.

1. Does your animal know tricks? Yes.

2. Can someone with HA give commands to an animal that knows trick? Yes.

If you can point to something in the text that lays out any restriction on who can give commands to any animal that knows tricks, please do.


Can you tell me why my own animal companion is going to attack me because bob the peasant farmer made a DC 10 Handle animal check?


If you can point to something in the text that lays out any restriction on who can give commands to any animal that knows tricks, please do.

If a creature's attitude toward you is at least indifferent, you can make requests of the creature.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Cevah wrote:

Given its cheap price, I would say it is readily available. If you want to rule it non-typical, that is up to you, but does not change the DC or effect. "Guarding" is a job the animal performs. If you don't approach, it may watch you, but it won't go for you if not on a leash. That would be "Attack", not "Guard". If it is hostile, it Will take risks to hurt you* and would attack. When Guarding, it is not doing this. Again, you can house rule it hostile, and again, it makes no difference to the DC.

/cevah

*Pulled from a 3.5 diplomacy table.

You mean this table?

Diplomacy wrote:

Hostile - Will take risks to hurt you. - Attack, interfere, berate, flee

Unfriendly - Wishes you ill - Mislead, gossip, avoid, watch suspiciously, insul

Interfer is on the Hostile list.

Guard wrote:
The animal stays in place and prevents others from approaching.

It would Attack if approached, Preventing you from passing(Interfering with your progress).

N N 959 wrote:
If you can point to something in the text that lays out any restriction on who can give commands to any animal that knows tricks, please do.

You can't make a request (Handle Animal chech) of a creature Unfriendly, or Hostile.

Diplomacy wrote:
If a creature's attitude toward you is at least indifferent, you can make requests of the creature. This is an additional Diplomacy check, using the creature's current attitude to determine the base DC, with one of the following modifiers. Once a creature's attitude has shifted to helpful, the creature gives in to most requests without a check, unless the request is against its nature or puts it in serious peril. Some requests automatically fail if the request goes against the creature's values or its nature, subject to GM discretion.

A Guard Dog would not Preventing you from passing would be against its nature. Because it knows it will be punished.

Sovereign Court

Quote:
"Push" an Animal: To push an animal means . . . . If your check succeeds, the animal performs the task or trick on its next action.

My Wild Empathy check stops the combat. You have to make another Handle Animal check next round. I removed the animal's desire to attack, you just convinced it to do something else for 6 seconds. A well trained, domestic animal will continue until it finishes the task. A hostile or wild animal will break free of your control as soon as it can.

Here's the kicker though: your version is a standard action, mine takes 1 minute. In reality, it takes both abilities to stop a hostile animal from attacking. Ten successful HA checks buys the time to use WE.

As to the comments about getting a lioness to attack her cubs, or a mount to attack its rider:

Quote:
Attack (DC 20): The animal attacks apparent enemies.


BigNorseWolf wrote:

Can you tell me why my own animal companion is going to attack me because bob the peasant farmer made a DC 10 Handle animal check?

Sure, if you can tell me how someone in Full plate is harder to hit with a sword, but no harder to damage than someone naked? Or, how can someone with an 18 dex be just as he easy to hit as someone with a 10 dex when both are flat-footed and yet both are harder to hit than someone with an 8 dex?

The game isn't reality. It is barely logical and in many cases contradictory. Fortunately as Granta posted, the "Attack" command only works on "enemies." So Joe Commoner isn't going to get the animal to attack its master.

BNW wrote:
If a creature's attitude toward you is at least indifferent, you can make requests of the creature.

Except that is from the Diplomacy rules not the Handle Animal. Completely different skill. Diplomacy can be used as a substitute for Wild Empathy, not Handle Animal.


BigNorseWolf wrote:
Can you tell me why my own animal companion is going to attack me because bob the peasant farmer made a DC 10 Handle animal check?
Attack (DC 20) wrote:
The animal attacks apparent enemies.

Are you an apparent enemy of your own AC? I don't think so. Thus it will not attack you. However, bob the peasant could get it to attack jack the other peasant.

BigNorseWolf wrote:
If a creature's attitude toward you is at least indifferent, you can make requests of the creature.

This is Wild Empathy, not Handle Animal.

Dr Styx wrote:
You mean this table?

Since that is what I linked to, yes. :-)

Dr Styx wrote:
N N 959 wrote:
If you can point to something in the text that lays out any restriction on who can give commands to any animal that knows tricks, please do.

You can't make a request (Handle Animal chech) of a creature Unfriendly, or Hostile.

Diplomacy wrote:
If a creature's attitude toward you is at least indifferent, you can make requests of the creature. This is an additional Diplomacy check, using the creature's current attitude to determine the base DC, with one of the following modifiers. Once a creature's attitude has shifted to helpful, the creature gives in to most requests without a check, unless the request is against its nature or puts it in serious peril. Some requests automatically fail if the request goes against the creature's values or its nature, subject to GM discretion.
A Guard Dog would not Preventing you from passing would be against its nature. Because it knows it will be punished.

The HA check has NO text restricting use due to hostility. You can use it on hostile animals.

Diplomacy is referenced under WE, not HA.
"Guard" is a trick the dog knows. If you can make the check to have it do a different trick, like "Down", "Fetch", or "Stay", it cannot do "Guard" at the same time, allowing you to pass freely.

Knowing it will be punished has no effect on the HA skill. If you make the check, it does the trick you command.

/cevah


N N 959 wrote:
It is barely logical and in many cases contradictory. Fortunately as Granta posted, the "Attack" command only works on "enemies." So Joe Commoner isn't going to get the animal to attack its master.

If you haven't noticed yet, this raw without any sense or discernment paradigm you're running is not how the rules are written, its not how they're meant to be read, and has a horrible track record of being right, providing an enjoyable game, or getting everyone on the same page.

So why do you keep insisting on using it ?

Quote:

Except that is from the Diplomacy rules not the Handle Animal. Completely different skill. Diplomacy can be used as a substitute for Wild Empathy, not Handle Animal.

I'm sorry, was that context, something other than the raw itself you just had to use there?


1 person marked this as a favorite.
BigNorseWolf wrote:


If you haven't noticed yet, this raw without any sense or discernment paradigm you're running is not how the rules are written, its not how they're meant to be read, and has a horrible track record of being right, providing an enjoyable game, or getting everyone on the same page.

You're attempting to fabricate your opinion into some general truth. It's not.

Quote:
So why do you keep insisting on using it ?

This is a rules forum. This forum exist to discuss what the rules say, not how you want the game to be played.

BNW wrote:
Quote:

Except that is from the Diplomacy rules not the Handle Animal. Completely different skill. Diplomacy can be used as a substitute for Wild Empathy, not Handle Animal.

I'm sorry, was that context, something other than the raw itself you just had to use there?

Sorry, I have no idea what you're trying to say. There's no context. You quoted something from a rule section that has nothing to do with Handle Animal.


Cevah wrote:

The HA check has NO text restricting use due to hostility. You can use it on hostile animals.

Diplomacy is referenced under WE, not HA.
/cevah

You can't tell me that you don't know that Pathfinder Rules are not always fully explained under each rule. You have to look at all of them to see what is expected. Just because HA dose not have text, dose not mean you can ignore Diplomacy.


Diplomacy

"You cannot use Diplomacy against a creature that does not understand you or has an Intelligence of 3 or less."

¯\_(ツ)_/¯


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Dr Styx wrote:
Cevah wrote:

The HA check has NO text restricting use due to hostility. You can use it on hostile animals.

Diplomacy is referenced under WE, not HA.
/cevah
You can't tell me that you don't know that Pathfinder Rules are not always fully explained under each rule. You have to look at all of them to see what is expected. Just because HA dose not have text, dose not mean you can ignore Diplomacy.

As written, there is no link between HA and Diplomacy, nor do I read any intention to link them or even cross-reference between the two. You are confusing Handle Animal with Wid Empathy. As a GM, you are, of coursefree to house rule that the two are connected and/or contingent.


N N 959 wrote:
As written, there is no link between HA and Diplomacy, nor do I read any intention to link them or even cross-reference between the two.
Handle Animal wrote:
Untrained: If you have no ranks in Handle Animal, you can use a Charisma check to handle and push domestic animals, but you can't teach, rear, or train animals.

Why the above...

Wild Empathy states wrote:
The typical domestic animal has a starting attitude of indifferent, while wild animals are usually unfriendly.
Diplomacy wrote:
If a creature's attitude toward you is at least indifferent, you can make requests of the creature.

So typical domestic animals are indifferent, and can be Handed or Pushed. Wild animals are usually unfriendly so they can't.

If you look at all the rules there is a link.


JDLPF wrote:

Diplomacy

"You cannot use Diplomacy against a creature that does not understand you or has an Intelligence of 3 or less."

¯\_(ツ)_/¯

You are not using Diplomacy to handle an animal. But the levels of Diplomacy (Hostile to Helpful) are linked to using Handle Animals on an animal.


You haven't shown anything linking HA to Diplomacy. Neither skill mentions the other, neither skill is contingent on any result or effect of the other.


Dr Styx wrote:
JDLPF wrote:

Diplomacy

"You cannot use Diplomacy against a creature that does not understand you or has an Intelligence of 3 or less."

¯\_(ツ)_/¯

You are not using Diplomacy to handle an animal. But the levels of Diplomacy (Hostile to Helpful) are linked to using Handle Animals on an animal.

You seem to be inferring that a domestic animal must be indifferent for you to use HA. That is not what the rules state. Is that what they intend? Possibly, but that's RAI, not RAW. If you think it's RAW, then request a FAQ.


The rules are assumed to be read in context. Otherwise they tend to not work. Is the suggestion being made to ignore context?


N N 959 wrote:
You're attempting to fabricate your opinion into some general truth. It's not.

I'm attempting to get you to notice a pattern that when you insist on absolute raw and get a messed up answer that the answer winds up being what the people arguing for a saner position said it was all along. Frequently. Bordering on constantly.

Quote:
This is a rules forum. This forum exist to discuss what the rules say, not how you want the game to be played.

And to know what the rules say you have to know how they say it. Absolute strict legalese isn't it. It IS the rules forum. It is not the rules lawyering forum.

Quote:


Sorry, I have no idea what you're trying to say. There's no context. You quoted something from a rule section that has nothing to do with Handle Animal.

And it doesn't imply because....?


BigNorseWolf wrote:
N N 959 wrote:
You're attempting to fabricate your opinion into some general truth. It's not.

I'm attempting to get you to notice a pattern that when you insist on absolute raw and get a messed up answer that the answer winds up being what the people arguing for a saner position said it was all along. Frequently. Bordering on constantly.

I notice that when arguing RAW serves your agenda, you argue it. When it doesn't, you spout the hypocritical rhetoric that you're spouting now. Outside of that, no, what makes logical or common sense has little or nothing to do with how the PDT rules in many cases.


Maybe we should ask for an FAQ on how Handle Animal, Wild Empathy, relate to one another with a comparison to Diplomacy so we can have an official explanation on the topic.


Claxon wrote:
Maybe we should ask for an FAQ on how Handle Animal, Wild Empathy, relate to one another with a comparison to Diplomacy so we can have an official explanation on the topic.

I can't think of a bigger waste of a FAQ request. I have more respect for Paizo's time than that.


N N 959 wrote:
I notice that when arguing RAW serves your agenda, you argue it. When it doesn't, you spout the hypocritical rhetoric that you're spouting now. Outside of that, no, what makes logical or common sense has little or nothing to do with how the PDT rules in many cases.

What I try to do is take into account raw, rai, sense, reason, evidence in different measures. Sense may have little or nothing to do with how the PDT rules things, but they use it more often than what you read as raw.


Something else that trumps all of those, of course, is playability.

Would it make the game better, or worse, if any random yahoo with a rank in a particular skill could cause a druid's animal companion to rend her into shreds of gnome jerky?


Claxon wrote:
Maybe we should ask for an FAQ on how Handle Animal, Wild Empathy, relate to one another with a comparison to Diplomacy so we can have an official explanation on the topic.

Clicky clicky


1 person marked this as a favorite.
BigNorseWolf wrote:
Sense may have little or nothing to do with how the PDT rules things, but they use it more often than what you read as raw.

People in glass houses shouldn't throw stones.

Sczarni

33 posts since my last comment. My apologies for my tardiness.

Cevah wrote:
Nefreet wrote:

I 100% disagree that I must rule the same regarding a trained, domesticated animal and a wild, untrained animal.

There is simply no support for that anywhere. Like, anywhere.

You mean like not even the Handle Animal skill description?

Exactly.

The only mention of wild animals within the Handle Animal skill description is in regards to rearing a wild animal.

Nothing in the skill description allows you to issue commands to a wild, untrained animal.

As a GM, I would never let that fly. That's what Wild Empathy is for.

I respect most of what BNW (usually thru his alias "Flutter") has contributed to the Animal Companion community, but on this issue we're diametrically opposed.

And we both claim it's "common sense". Go figure.


Orfamay Quest wrote:

Something else that trumps all of those, of course, is playability.

Would it make the game better, or worse, if any random yahoo with a rank in a particular skill could cause a druid's animal companion to rend her into shreds of gnome jerky?

The rules already cover that.

And honestly, if the GM wants to waste some NPC's time trying to command my animal companion, good luck. I delay my action or my animal delay's its action so we move one after the other. Someone trying to command my animal isn't going to get much for their troubles.

Sczarni

Plus, if I'm a good Druid, I'm teaching my Companion the Exclusive Trick asap.

The last thing I want is my perfectly hybridized death bunny devouring the party.


Serious question, what kind of circumstance penalties should be applied assuming handle animal can be used on a hostile or unfriendly animal?

Sczarni

n00bxqb wrote:
Serious question, what kind of circumstance penalties should be applied assuming handle animal can be used on a hostile or unfriendly animal?

Whatever you as a GM deem appropriate. Must usually, just a –2. Maybe –5 if the PC spends several resources.

Against a domesticated animal, there are no included examples.

Against a domesticated animal with the Exclusive Trick, you automatically fail.

Against a wild animal, you automatically fail.

EDIT: wait, did you mean "bonuses"? Maybe I didn't understand your question.


n00bxqb wrote:
Serious question, what kind of circumstance penalties should be applied assuming handle animal can be used on a hostile or unfriendly animal?

I'd apply a negative infinity penalty to the die roll, myself. Along with a stern word of warning to the relevant player.

But at your table, you can apply any house rules you like.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Nefreet wrote:
Cevah wrote:
Nefreet wrote:

I 100% disagree that I must rule the same regarding a trained, domesticated animal and a wild, untrained animal.

There is simply no support for that anywhere. Like, anywhere.

You mean like not even the Handle Animal skill description?

Exactly.

The only mention of wild animals within the Handle Animal skill description is in regards to rearing a wild animal.
and using the skill untrained on domestic animals

Nothing in the skill description allows you to issue commands to a wild, untrained animal.

As a GM, I would never let that fly. That's what Wild Empathy is for.

I respect most of what BNW (usually thru his alias "Flutter") has contributed to the Animal Companion community, but on this issue we're diametrically opposed.

And we both claim it's "common sense". Go figure.

Handle Animal works on animals.

Animals are usually divided into wild and domestic.
If the skill works on the general class, why would it not work on the subset called "wild"?
Both "wild" and "untrained" describe a variety of "animal".

The way you are arguing, you are equating "animal" = "domestic animal", which simply is not true.

Wild Empathy has no rules text regarding tricks. So how do you use WE to make it do a trick? That's what Handle Animal is for.

/cevah


n00bxqb wrote:
Serious question, what kind of circumstance penalties should be applied assuming handle animal can be used on a hostile or unfriendly animal?

The Handle Animal skill imposes no penalties, RAW.

I recommend the usual 2/5 penalty for minor/major difficulty. [I.e. make the DC check a little higher.]

/cevah

Sczarni

Cevah wrote:
Wild Empathy has no rules text regarding tricks. So how do you use WE to make it do a trick? That's what Handle Animal is for.

No.

Wild Empathy is a Diplomacy check for animals.

Humans don't require Tricks using Diplomacy.

Neither do wild animals using Wild Empathy.


Nefreet wrote:


Against a wild animal, you automatically fail.

Can you cite a rules source for that?

The reason you rule this way is the same reason people rule you can't order around someone elses critter.


N N 959 wrote:
BigNorseWolf wrote:
Sense may have little or nothing to do with how the PDT rules things, but they use it more often than what you read as raw.

People in glass houses shouldn't throw stones.

That isn't a response. At all.

me: Don't just read the raw. It doesn't work.

you: you read the raw wrong!

Sczarni

BigNorseWolf wrote:
Nefreet wrote:
Against a wild animal, you automatically fail.
Can you cite a rules source for that?

The Handle Animal skill is written in the context of domesticated animals.

Wild Empathy is written in the context of wild animals.

The sole exception for Handle Animal working on wild animals is "rearing a wild animal".

Wild animals don't operate off of Tricks. That's purely for domesticated animals.

When you use Wild Empathy, you're making a Diplomacy check against an animal to either influence its attitude or ask a request.

Tricks never come into play.

If you can show me text, from anywhere, that allows you to use Handle Animal to issue commands to a wild animal (such as telling a wolf to fetch, or a Roc to bombarde), then I will happily acquiesce.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Nefreet wrote:
The Handle Animal skill is written in the context of domesticated animals.

This isn't specified.

I say it's written in the context of a critter being disposed to listen to you (indifferent or better). Most domestic animals are disposed to listening to you, most wild animals are not.

Quote:
Wild Empathy is written in the context of wild animals.

Definitely not. Wild Empathy

Wild Empathy (Ex)... The typical domestic animal has a starting attitude of indifferent, while wild animals are usually unfriendly.

So wild empathy has provisions for working on domestic animals. The same to easier provisions really.

Quote:
The sole exception for Handle Animal working on wild animals is "rearing a wild animal".

This is not an exception, at all, to a rule that doesn't exist. Its a place where the rules are different. The only stated difference is that you need a rank in handle animal to rear wild animals.

Quote:
Wild animals don't operate off of Tricks. That's purely for domesticated animals.

This is based on...?

Quote:
When you use Wild Empathy, you're making a Diplomacy check against an animal to either influence its attitude or ask a request.

Wild empathy technically only lets you improve the attitude. The rules are silent on how you make a request, or if you can.

Quote:
If you can show me text, from anywhere, that allows you to use Handle Animal to issue commands to a wild animal (such as telling a wolf to fetch, or a Roc to bombarde), then I will happily acquiesce.

Can you show me text, from anywhere, that lets you use handle animal to issue commands to someone elses pet when it isn't friendly or better towards you? You're setting a standard of evidence that you're not following.


Nefreet wrote:
BigNorseWolf wrote:
Nefreet wrote:
Against a wild animal, you automatically fail.
Can you cite a rules source for that?

The Handle Animal skill is written in the context of domesticated animals.

Wild Empathy is written in the context of wild animals.

The sole exception for Handle Animal working on wild animals is "rearing a wild animal".

You are forgetting Special.

Untrained wrote:
If you have no ranks in Handle Animal, you can use a Charisma check to handle and push domestic animals, but you can’t teach, rear, or train animals. A druid or ranger with no ranks in Handle Animal can use a Charisma check to handle and push her animal companion, but she can’t teach, rear, or train other non-domestic animals.

Why does this say domestic animals when the handle and push sections don't? That is because those sections are NOT limited to domestic animals, and apply to ALL animals.

Wild empathy states it applies to "animals" not "wild animals". It even calls out the different starting attitudes of wild vs. domestic animals.

Playing your way removes half of Handle Animal and half of Wild Empathy because in one you argue "animal" = "domestic animal" and the other you argue "animal" = "wild animal". This is simply not the case.

Some animals are wild animals.
Some animals are domestic animals.
All domestic animals are animals.
All wild animals are animals.

Nefreet wrote:
Wild animals don't operate off of Tricks. That's purely for domesticated animals.

Prove it. Wild animals are animals, and the skill states you can push to make an animal do a trick it does not know.

Nefreet wrote:
When you use Wild Empathy, you're making a Diplomacy check against an animal to either influence its attitude or ask a request.

You cannot make a request.

Wild Empathy wrote:
A druid can improve the attitude of an animal. This ability functions just like a Diplomacy check made to improve the attitude of a person.

This calls out a specific part of Diplomacy, not the whole Diplomacy skill. You need some other way to make requests, since this does not do it.

Nefreet wrote:
Tricks never come into play.

True, since Wild Empathy is about attitudes and not about tricks.

Nefreet wrote:
If you can show me text, from anywhere, that allows you to use Handle Animal to issue commands to a wild animal (such as telling a wolf to fetch, or a Roc to bombarde), then I will happily acquiesce.

I have. You keep saying wild animals are not animals for the skill.

/cevah


1 person marked this as a favorite.
BigNorseWolf wrote:
Nefreet wrote:
The Handle Animal skill is written in the context of domesticated animals.

This isn't specified.

I say it's written in the context of a critter being disposed to listen to you (indifferent or better).

This isn't specified either.

/cevah


BigNorseWolf wrote:

That isn't a response. At all.

me: Don't just read the raw. It doesn't work.

you: you read the raw wrong!

You're incorrect on both counts.

1. The argument that the rule doesn't work is inapposite. A rule works if it can be followed. The rule clearly can be followed, you just don't like what it means. To that I have to laugh. This game is filled with nonsensical outcomes and the PDT has shown no propensity to change that. Nothing can be more obvious than the spiked shield be ruled as a "virtual" damage increase. It doesn't get any stupider than that. But, the rule "works."

Perhaps the irony is lost on you. You're complaining that an arbitrary rule that governs an arbitrary mechanic in a game doesn't work because it allows fictional characters to give commands to your fictional animal companion which is governed by completely arbitrary rules that are barely in the same universe as realism. Yeah...can't say I find your position compelling.

2. No, you're not reading the RAW wrong, or we wouldn't be having this debate. You just don't like what it says and how it makes the game feel stupid. I know how you feel.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Cevah wrote:
BigNorseWolf wrote:
Nefreet wrote:
The Handle Animal skill is written in the context of domesticated animals.

This isn't specified.

I say it's written in the context of a critter being disposed to listen to you (indifferent or better).

This isn't specified either.

/cevah

This. Wild Empathy is clearly intended to be used on any animal or magical beast. It is Diplomacy for animals because Diplomacy does not work on animals, but it is uses the same basic rules as Diplomacy.

Handle Animal has nothing to do with Wild Empathy or Diplomacy. Attempts to link HA to either are just simply misplaced. HA works on any animal or magical beast that knows tricks. That's it. I honestly have never heard of any wild animals that know tricks.

It's obvious there is a contingency of players in this forum that feel there is a necessity for an animal to be in some specific diplomatic state before HA can be used....except there isn't. If that throws off your game, then house rule it. But let's not pretend that Pathfinder isn't filled with borderline ridiculous logic and frequently laughs in the face of realism.

IMO, the major oversight or lack of realism is not that some random person can give commands to my companion, it's that some random person would know what those commands where.


Cevah wrote:
Wild animals are animals, and the skill states you can push to make an animal do a trick it does not know.

I agree. I forgot about pushing, but clearly the rules would allow it on a wild animal.

That being said, I can see why people don't want to allow it on an unfriendly animal. If you can "push" a wild animal to perform a trick, like Stay, than this kind of undermines Wild Empathy because HA failures don't incur the risk that Diplomacy failures risk.

Personally, I would not complain if the PDT did impose an "indifferent" requirement for HA attempts.

Liberty's Edge

1 person marked this as a favorite.
BigNorseWolf wrote:
JDLPF wrote:
Any rules reason why Handle Animal shouldn't work though?

Because sanity and sense are a thing.

Option 1: Handle animal LETS you tell an animal that is relatively disposed to listening to you know what you want and gets them to do it.

Option 2: Handle animal makes an animal do something.

Option 2 is bloody nuts. You can make a dc 25 check to tell a mother lion to attack her cubs, or a mere dc ten check to make a horse attack their own knight. It obviates the entire wild empathy class feature and gives you more control over a creature than charm animal.

Handle animal convince an animal to do a trick. there is no trick for "attack your cubs". The attack trick start with: "The animal attacks apparent enemies". You can get it to attack a specific apparent enemy, but for most animals their cubs will never appear as an enemy.

I will allow people to try to make some trick work (stand down, as an example), with a modifier for the initial attitude and for commands from its owner, if he has one. I am not a druid in real life, but with time, patience, and maybe food, I can get some wild animal or stray cat to come to me.
It should have the same limit as diplomacy. Even if some people try to claim otherwise, you can't use 1 minute and 1 roll of diplomacy to have a person murder his friends or his children.
You can play Iago (from Othello) and get someone to kill for jealousy or fear, but that will require a lots of skill checks and a lot of time.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

I would think both handle animal and wild empathy work similar to diplomacy, the first to improve a creatures attitude and the other to make a request. The time required to use each action reflects that.

One thing to keep in mind however is that handle animal doesn't cause a critter to become an automaton. You wouldn't use diplomacy to ask two guards to attack each other, so using handle animal to make a creature attack its benevolent master would obviously fail as well.
As handle animal is very similar to making a request, enforcing an indifferent (or better) attitude seems very reasonable, even if it is not explicitely mentioned in the rules. This means it could be used on all domestic animals, but for wild animals you'd either need to use wild empathy or find other ways to improve the creatures attitude first.

Wild empathy on the other hand causes animals to like you, but to actually make a request you would still need to use handle animal or some spell that enables communication.


Lintecarka wrote:

I would think both handle animal and wild empathy work similar to diplomacy, the first to improve a creatures attitude and the other to make a request. The time required to use each action reflects that.

One thing to keep in mind however is that handle animal doesn't cause a critter to become an automaton. You wouldn't use diplomacy to ask two guards to attack each other, so using handle animal to make a creature attack its benevolent master would obviously fail as well.
As handle animal is very similar to making a request, enforcing an indifferent (or better) attitude seems very reasonable, even if it is not explicitely mentioned in the rules. This means it could be used on all domestic animals, but for wild animals you'd either need to use wild empathy or find other ways to improve the creatures attitude first.

Wild empathy on the other hand causes animals to like you, but to actually make a request you would still need to use handle animal or some spell that enables communication.

I agree with this.

And by extension, if an animal was hostile (such as the hypothetical guard dog) then in order to get the dog to not attack you would need first wild empathy to improve it's friendliness level to at least indifferent (Rules are unclear, but there some hints that maybe handle animal should only work on friendly or helpful animals).


N N 959 wrote:
HA works on any animal or magical beast that knows tricks.

Handle Animal does not work on magical beasts, since they are not animals.

Lintecarka wrote:
I would think both handle animal and wild empathy work similar to diplomacy, the first to improve a creatures attitude and the other to make a request. The time required to use each action reflects that.

Handle Animal does nothing about attitude. It does tricks.

Wild Empathy does nothing about making requests. It does attitude.

Claxon wrote:

...

And by extension, if an animal was hostile (such as the hypothetical guard dog) then in order to get the dog to not attack you would need first wild empathy to improve it's friendliness level to at least indifferent (Rules are unclear, but there some hints that maybe handle animal should only work on friendly or helpful animals).

The rules for the Handle Animal skill say nothing in respect to attitude. The DCs are right there for making it do a trick. You don't need to change the attitude to make the trick work. The rules are clear. People want to make changes to take into account the attitude, but that is house ruling.

/cevah


Cevah wrote:
N N 959 wrote:
HA works on any animal or magical beast that knows tricks.
Handle Animal does not work on magical beasts, since they are not animals.

Yeah, I was thinking of Wild Empathy when I wrote that.

51 to 100 of 114 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | next > last >>
Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Handle Animal and Aggressive Creatures All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.