Does a Fauchard count as a Glaive for fighter's weapon training?


Rules Questions


I ask because the wording on the weapon description page basically says it's just a more difficult to use glaive.

Silver Crusade

It says it's "like a glaive" and "more difficult to use than a glaive", so no, not a glaive.

Fauchard wrote:
This polearm is similar to a glaive, being a curved blade affixed to the end of a pole. Unlike a glaive, though, the cutting edge of a fauchard is along the concave side, causing the blade to resemble that of a sickle or scythe. The resulting weapon is more awkward to utilize (and as such is an exotic weapon), but its increased threat range over a glaive and the ability to trip foes make it a dangerous weapon in the hands of a skilled user.


Darnit, there goes my fauchard fighter idea then.


What was specific to a glaive that it breaks your idea?


It certainly wouldn't be a glaive as already said, but for the purpose of defining what weapon group it belongs to, it looks to be a polearm (as its description states in the opening line). Since it isn't listed as such, you'd need GM approval, but it seems more than reasonable to me to allow, personally. Is there a specific reason you needed it to count as a glaive specifically (as weapon training just cares for group)?


Claxon wrote:
What was specific to a glaive that it breaks your idea?

I believe there's a feat for one handing and finessing glaives in the newest splatbook.


It's not that I really needed it to count as a glaive.

I just wanted the fauchard to work for a fighter weapon group. I'm applying for a living campaign where the gm wont be same person each time so asking for GM approval each time is risky.

Now I need to figure out what kind of polearm would be good for a future dragon slayer...


The fauchard doesn't count as a glaive, but it is in the polearm fighter weapons group. And would benefit if you selected polearms.

The fauchard isn't mentioned in a weapon group but it is a polearm. Regardless of anything else, every weapon has a weapon group so the fauchard should be in one of them and you would choose that one.

Grand Lodge

Here's the official blog post listing weapon groups for a bunch of new weapons, including the Fauchard counting as a Polearm.


Markov Spiked Chain wrote:
Here's the official blog post listing weapon groups for a bunch of new weapons, including the Fauchard counting as a Polearm.

omg, thank you DX

*sobs* thank youuuu

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Does a Fauchard count as a Glaive for fighter's weapon training? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.