
CryntheCrow |
Just realized this really should have been under Rules Questions.
"Pistol, Double-Barreled
This pistol has two parallel barrels; each barrel can be fired independently as separate attacks, or both can be fired at once as a standard action (the attack action).
If both barrels are shot at once, they must both target the same creature or object, and the pistol becomes wildly inaccurate, imparting a –4 penalty on each shot."
"Overwatch Vortex (Combat)
You are ready to respond to many more of your foes' actions.
Benefit(s): While using the Overwatch Style, as a full-round action you can ready up to four ranged attacks, each with its own triggering event. You take a –2 penalty on attack rolls made with these readied actions."
So, its largely agreed upon that Overwatch Vortex doesn't allow you to ready Vital Strikes with crossbows because it specifies 'ranged attacks', and Vital Strike is its own special kind of standard actions.
Double pistols, however, explicitly note that firing both barrels simultaneously is an attack action, and contain none of the language found in Manyshot to imply these are a singular attack roll. In fact, the language is far more similar to rapid shot.
So, fellow members of the Rules Questions board, can someone explain to me what stops a level 11 Gunslinger with Overwatch Vortex, Rapid Reload, alchemical cartridges and Improved Critical from making potentially 8 ranged attacks at touch ac, with dex to damage, 1d8 19-20 x4?

CryntheCrow |
I'm almost certain that firing both barrels is now it's own standard action. At least, I think the recent nerf was to ensure that these kinds of shenanigans couldn't happen. So no, it is much like Vital Strike and is its own standard action.
Intent is one thing. But they're explicitly the same action. I can ready a standard action. Vortex demands I use that on a ranged attack action. Therefore, RAW, its allowed, right?

Wonderstell |

The attack action is a specific kind of standard action. The action to fire both barrels of a double pistol is a specific kind of attack action. However it is not just an "attack".
So no, you cannot use the double pistol to fire two shots with overwatch style.
Quote:Overwatch Style (Combat, Style)
You have learned to wait until your ranged attacks have the greatest effect.
Prerequisite(s): Precise Shot, Rapid Shot, Weapon Focus with the chosen weapon.
Benefit(s): While using this style, as a full-round action you can ready two ranged attacks with the chosen weapon, each with its own triggering event.
You take a –2 penalty on attack rolls made with these readied actions.
Special: A character with this feat and the weapon training (bows, crossbows, or firearms) class feature can use Overwatch Style with any bow, crossbow, or firearm, respectively, in addition to the chosen weapon.