| DrDeth |
| 3 people marked this as FAQ candidate. 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
Well, except that the Samuri:
"Determined: As a standard action, the samurai can spend one use of his resolve to remove the fatigued, shaken, or sickened condition. If the samurai is at least 8th level, he can alternatively remove the exhausted, frightened, nauseated, or staggered condition."
Is clearly meant to be able to remove nauseated even while nauseated.
And the paladin certainly seems to have been meant to remove that condition from himself... and as a swift action. Otherwise, they likely would have said so.
| Create Mr. Pitt |
| 2 people marked this as FAQ candidate. |
Yeah, the determined power is a clear problematic corner case. It specifically says you can use a standard action to to remove the nauseated condition because their resolve. It probably deserves an FAQ post, but may be too narrow to get any answer. I'll try to post a thread specifically about it this evening. The power seemed specifically designed for an individual to remove conditions despite their restrictions. Otherwise, incoherent.
| My Self |
I don't think the swift as a standard is the big problem - the problem is swift as a move. Most swift actions are weaker than standard action moves. Maybe if a boss enemy smacks me first, I might want to Lay on Hands and Smite (for AC) in the same turn - if I died, my squishy, injured party members in the hallway behind me would quickly follow. However, that's not a serious problem. A serious problem is when a spellcaster lays out my entire party with a two quickened spells and a regular one, within a single round.
| Bandw2 |
Tarantula wrote:The corset shows that the PDT has allowed for one to get multiple swift actions in a single round, however they decided that 1/day was all you can get. The presence of that item is a clear indicator that trading a move for a swift without any additional item/skill required won't happen.Do you know for a fact that the PDT created the corset? Do you know for a fact that all magic items need to get approved by the PDT before being published?
I looked this up for no particular reason, but the authors are freelance.
| Darksol the Painbringer |
I don't think the swift as a standard is the big problem - the problem is swift as a move. Most swift actions are weaker than standard action moves. Maybe if a boss enemy smacks me first, I might want to Lay on Hands and Smite (for AC) in the same turn - if I died, my squishy, injured party members in the hallway behind me would quickly follow. However, that's not a serious problem. A serious problem is when a spellcaster lays out my entire party with a two quickened spells and a regular one, within a single round.
For the record, the above wouldn't be possible, as Swift Actions still have the 1/round clause to enforce. Plus, the Corset of Delicate Moves doesn't permit the ability to cast spells or SLAs, so...
It isn't even necessarily about balance. In a lot of cases, a Swift as a Move or a Swift as a Standard isn't necessarily overpowered. It's actually allotted if you were to do a Swift Action as part of a Readied Action (which is explicitly a Standard Action to do).
It's about whether the rules permit you to do so normally. Which, as they're written, only appear to do so under a realistic, yet presumptive, reading. It's not definitively proven, and until it is, at best, it's table variation.
| N N 959 |
Well, except that the Samuri:
"Determined: As a standard action, the samurai can spend one use of his resolve to remove the fatigued, shaken, or sickened condition. If the samurai is at least 8th level, he can alternatively remove the exhausted, frightened, nauseated, or staggered condition."
Is clearly meant to be able to remove nauseated even while nauseated.
And the paladin certainly seems to have been meant to remove that condition from himself... and as a swift action. Otherwise, they likely would have said so.
I agree, this should be cleaned up.
| johnlocke90 |
I don't think the swift as a standard is the big problem - the problem is swift as a move. Most swift actions are weaker than standard action moves. Maybe if a boss enemy smacks me first, I might want to Lay on Hands and Smite (for AC) in the same turn - if I died, my squishy, injured party members in the hallway behind me would quickly follow. However, that's not a serious problem. A serious problem is when a spellcaster lays out my entire party with a two quickened spells and a regular one, within a single round.
There is actually a specific rule that quickened spells can only be cast once a round.
| bitter lily |
I'm personally not in the least bit troubled that a condition that eliminates all standard actions would also eliminate them even if converted to swift actions. That a paladin would occasionally have to depend on his friends for healing isn't all that bad, surely. And what's utterly wrong is...
"You nauseated me! You abyss-hole!" <Sound of three whines from a quickened Scorching Ray and then a thud from the body hitting the ground -- due to taking 12d6 total damage>
But why is everyone conflating swift and free actions? What's the action economy problem with permitting a nauseated character the choice of one move action or one free action?
The big measuring stick I can think of is the nauseated bard. Yes, then he could manage to keep inspiring his friends with his poetry performance while working hard not to toss his cookies -- but it would take everything he had in him for that round. He couldn't even take a 5-foot step. Compared to how normally, he could just toss his hackneyed verses off while running across a room and slicing at someone with his scimitar. In fact, before rehashing, dashing, & slashing, he could also have nauseated his target! (With a quickened Cacophonous Call.) But no, since the target got to him first, the best he can do now is to inspire his friends with the hatred to get the abyss-holes what done it.
(I hate to risk TMI here, but when I've been nauseated, I don't actually toss my cookies every three seconds. A lot of the time, I'm just too miserable to do much.)
I'd love to at least hear arguments against permitting the substitution of a single free action for a move action!
| Darksol the Painbringer |
Per RAW, a Paladin can't use Lay On Hands on himself for anything except a Swift Action, so he couldn't use a Standard Action to use Lay On Hands on himself, unless he used a Readied Action to do so. RAI, I don't see why he can't use a Standard Action to Lay On Hands himself, since he can target other creatures as a Standard Action as well.
Let me repeat myself for the next part:
It isn't even necessarily about balance. In a lot of cases, a Swift as a Move or a Swift as a Standard isn't necessarily overpowered. It's actually allotted if you were to do a Swift Action as part of a Readied Action (which is explicitly a Standard Action to do).
It's about whether the rules permit you to do so normally. Which, as they're written, only appear to do so under a realistic, yet presumptive, reading. It's not definitively proven, and until it is, at best, it's table variation.
Nauseated Bard could start a Performance as a Move Action (assuming 7th level), but wouldn't be able to maintain as a Free Action. He would automatically cease the Performance (because he lacks the ability to take a Free Action that round), but he could reinstate it again as a Move Action, and so on. He could even take a 5-foot Step (as it's not an action to do) with it, but that's as good as it gets. Several players and GMs would even argue that a Nauseated Bard probably wouldn't even be able to start a performance, since a Bardic Performance can very easily be construed as something that "requires attention" to do, and it makes sense; you're required to spend Free Actions every round to continue the performance, which certainly requires attention on the Bard's part, but because it's left vague and lacks concise examples, all it does is give an open door for the GM to disallow if he so chooses, and just creates further table variation.
I've been Nauseated before. It's not fun. You feel like crap. You can hardly do much of anything that requires a bit of effort, especially without others who aren't-so-bad-off helping you out. So I can understand most every argument that says "you can't do X because Y," and that's primarily due that being Nauseated makes me quite incapable of doing...well...anything, really.
| bitter lily |
Per RAW, a Paladin can't use Lay On Hands on himself for anything except a Swift Action, so he couldn't use a Standard Action to use Lay On Hands on himself, unless he used a Readied Action to do so. RAI, I don't see why he can't use a Standard Action to Lay On Hands himself, since he can target other creatures as a Standard Action as well.
I fully agree with you. If he has both a swift & a standard action available to him, we would let him lay hands on himself twice in one turn, but consider: he can lay hands on himself & hands on a party member in the same turn by RAW. To my mind -- and yours, apparently -- the two situations have the same "weight." (Time, effort, however you want to measure what our characters manage to fit into 6 brief seconds.) OTOH, we're agreed that if he's nauseated he has to depend on his friends for healing. That's not that bad, compared to giving space in the rules for a nauseated caster to shoot back at his noxious foe.
Let me repeat myself for the next part:Darksol the Painbringer wrote:Nauseated Bard could start a Performance as a Move Action (assuming 7th level), but wouldn't be able to maintain as a Free Action. He would automatically cease the Performance (because he lacks the ability to take a Free Action that round), but he could reinstate it again as a Move Action, and so on.It isn't even necessarily about balance. In a lot of cases, a Swift as a Move or a Swift as a Standard isn't necessarily overpowered. It's actually allotted if you were to do a Swift Action as part of a Readied Action (which is explicitly a Standard Action to do).
It's about whether the rules permit you to do so normally. Which, as they're written, only appear to do so under a realistic, yet presumptive, reading. It's not definitively proven, and until it is, at best, it's table variation.
I'm not sure you're responding to me... Except you then go on to discuss my Nauseated Bard. Remember, what I asked for was:
But why is everyone conflating swift and free actions? What's the action economy problem with permitting a nauseated character the choice of one move action or one free action? (...)
I'd love to at least hear arguments against permitting the substitution of a single free action for a move action!
All you did previously was to conflate swift & free actions! I'm not trying to sneak swift actions in behind the devs backs. But some people here think that the FAQ can be interpreted as allowing a "shorter" action or one that requires "less effort" to be substituted for a move action. They're calling for a new or revised FAQ.
Wouldn't a free action always "weigh" less than the permitted move action?
As for my nauseated bard, two things. First, I did mean that he was trying to maintain a performance that he had started previously. I was talking about allowing him to substitute maintaining his performance (a free action) for his allowed single move action. If he hasn't already started rehashing his bad poetry, fine, he's out of luck. A high-enough level bard can start one as a move action, but he then trails off -- it takes being in full-swing to pull off maintaining a performance while trying not to toss one's cookies.
And as for how hard it is for him to recite even bad poetry while nauseated, again, RAW, if he's in fine form he can manage to rehash while dashing across the room and slashing at a foe -- and even casting a quickened spell on top of all that -- all in 6 brief seconds. So all I can say is that Pathfinder bards really do have magic at their disposal! Let's not look at RL for how hard it is to inspire one's friends to greatness...
I've been Nauseated before. It's not fun. You feel like crap. You can hardly do much of anything that requires a bit of effort
Right! One move action, or one action that "weighs" less, meaning one free action, that's it. No standard or swift actions.
| Tarantula |
| 1 person marked this as FAQ candidate. |
Here's another question. Nauseated barbarian, not raging. Rage is a free action, barbarian happens to have the Internal Fortitude power.
Can the barbarian free action to rage, thus becoming immune to the nauseated condition? (Then allowing him to make a full attack, since he only used a free action for the turn?)
If he can't, can he use his move action instead to rage? (Leaving him with a standard, swift and free action(s) after entering the rage)
| Darksol the Painbringer |
Here's another question. Nauseated barbarian, not raging. Rage is a free action, barbarian happens to have the Internal Fortitude power.
** spoiler omitted **Can the barbarian free action to rage, thus becoming immune to the nauseated condition? (Then allowing him to make a full attack, since he only used a free action for the turn?)
If he can't, can he use his move action instead to rage? (Leaving him with a standard, swift and free action(s) after entering the rage)
No, because a Free Action is required to activate the Rage, which he cannot take while he's Nauseated, just like how a Paladin can't use Lay On Hands on himself as a Swift Action to remove the Nauseated condition.
And no, he can't substitute a Move Action to Rage, because Rage has zero rules interactions for such. As far as I know, there are options that allow raging as a Swift/Immediate Action, but those are likewise disallowed via the Nauseated condition, and as such are equally grounds for disallowment.
| N N 959 |
Wouldn't a free action always "weigh" less than the permitted move action?
There is no concept of "weigh" in the action economy. That is a categorization that is part of a rationalization.
The Combat rules in the rule book state this:
An action's type essentially tells you how long the action takes to perform (within the framework of the 6-second combat round) and how movement is treated. There are six types of actions: standard actions, move actions, full-round actions, swift actions, immediate actions, and free actions.
Emphasis mine. The action types are a function of time. The rules tell us that point blank. Concepts of effort are brought up as fluff, mainly to justify a Swift Action only being allowed once. The rule book even contradicts itself with regards to "effort."
A full-round action consumes all your effort during a round.
Nevertheless, you can still perform Free and Swift actions when executing something that is a Full Round Action. Kind of hard to rationalize that Swift actions consume all this extra effort when they can still be performed with an action that takes "all" your effort for the round.
The idea of weighing the action types is nonsensical as there is no reliable foundation within the game and no real world fundamental on which to do that. Contrast that with time. We do have information to know which actions consume more or less time and it is not even debatable that I can perform any action that takes less than X time if I have X time. We don't need a rule to tell us that. Demanding one is like insisting that with a 150gp gem, I cannot buy anything less than a 150gp item.
There is no rules basis to deny Swift actions in place of Move actions given the PRD telling us that the actions are a function of time. The FAQ, which has been routinely misrepresented, does not preclude Swift actions performed as Move actions. The FAQ tells us that we do not get to take Move actions in addition to Swift and Free actions.
The only way the PDT stops this is to completely disregard the rules as written and change the rules, which they've certainly done before.
| Darksol the Painbringer |
There's no concept of "time" in the action economy either. All you know is that the sum of all the actions you and everyone else takes in a round (which could be no action at all) equals 6 seconds, which is what the text already tells us, and that's really only listed for things that are reliant for it (such as spell durations with minutes/hours per level, and so on). Outside of that, none of the action duration times are quantified as taking a certain amount of seconds to perform, or if they take 0 seconds (improbable, but plausible), or dare I say it, take less than 0 seconds (i.e. adding time to your round). Heck, even the aspect of every Swift and every Move action taking the same exact time to do, for each person, is physically impossible, and improbable. With the current rules set, at best you can say is that Move Actions are X, and that Swift Actions are Y, and as it stands, there's nothing in the rules that say or even imply that X > Y, or even that Y > X; until such evidence comes forth, the equation becomes impossible to solve due to lack of information, and therefore any "solution" that is proposed outside of "who knows" is just guesswork and speculation, something that is an unacceptable rules answer.
There's also the matter of why a person's 6 seconds of actions would take place before another person's 6 seconds of actions, if all of the activities in a round (which would vary from round to round depending on the actions that happen prior to or after a turn), especially if we go under the presumption that everybody operates under the same time frequency as everyone else (i.e. one person's 6 seconds is the same as the other person's 6 seconds). Sure, we could say that the duration of the round is split between all relevant parties in the combat, but then you're having combats where players are extremely fast, able to get 3-4 attacks in ~0.25 seconds (i.e. they're fighting over a dozen creatures), and then in another combat, they're getting the same exact number of attacks, but in a larger time frame, even though it's the same exact thing they did before. Point is, the rules don't explain why this is (or could be), and that's because the rules are abstract of realism, which, based on the subject matter, extends to your "time" concept of things being linear in both time to perform and time elapsed.
Spending money (which the rules better apply realism toward) and performing actions in a tactical war game manner (which has less realism, and is extremely abstract for balance and mechanical purposes) are not the same thing. Comparing them as such is a strawman argument that falls apart because you're wanting something ideal from something was simply not designed to be as such.
There are enough rules basii (is that right?) to deny Swift Actions for Move Actions, or even Free Actions. For starters, the exclusive precedent, which lists specific examples (such as Standard Actions for any Move Action) and limitations, meaning anything that doesn't fall under those pretenses are not allowed with the exceptions cited. Next, we have balance aspects (Arcanists being able to use special Exploit Powers, Quickened Spells, and some other Metamagic Spells, is stupidly broken). Third, magic item ramifications (why do you think people would purchase a Corset of Delicate Moves if you can already take a Swift Action as a Move Action, or even purchase a Quick Runner's Shirt?). That's just 3 off the top of my head; I'm sure others can come up with more to supplement my point(s).
| N N 959 |
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
For starters, the exclusive precedent, which lists specific examples (such as Standard Actions for any Move Action) and limitations, meaning anything that doesn't fall under those pretenses are not allowed with the exceptions cited
Nowhere in any rule book or any FAQ is the term "exclusive precedent" used or identified as an aspect of how the rules are suppose to work. PF is not a court of law. The PDT ignores any previous rules (even their own) when it suits them. Nowhere, in any rulebook or FAQ is anything you've said in the above quote put forth.
Comparing them as such is a strawman argument that falls apart because you're wanting something ideal from something was simply not designed to be as such.
You also need to look up the term "strawman" as you've consistently misused it.
| Tarantula |
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
Definitely not as a standard rule, otherwise you'd be able to cast 3 spells a round, one swift, one converted swift, and one standard.
A spell with a casting time of 1 swift action doesn't count against your normal limit of one spell per round. However, you may cast such a spell only once per round. Casting a spell with a casting time of 1 swift action doesn't provoke attacks of opportunity.
The magic chapter casting time section limits you to 1 spell per round. It exempts swift actions from this limit, but instead limits swift action spells to 1 per round. Even if you had 3 swift actions, you could not cast 3 spells with them.
| N N 959 |
Third, magic item ramifications (why do you think people would purchase a Corset of Delicate Moves if you can already take a Swift Action as a Move Action
lol...have you even bothered to read the item?
Once per day as a move action, the wearer can take an additional swift action. This swift action can’t be used to cast a spell or spell-like ability. The shirt must be worn for 24 hours before this ability can be used.
First off, no one is arguing that you can get two swift actions in a single round as part of the standard rules. So your attempt to portray that as what is being said, is a strawman.
Second, nothing I've suggested includes violating the one Swift action per round written rule. The only time one would use their Move action to take a Swift action is when one only has a Move action and Swift and Free have been precluded.
Third, as written, the Corset does not allow you to swap your Move action for a Swift action when nauseated. As it plainly states, "the wearer can take an additional swift action." Technically, that requires you to have already taken a swift action, so it does nothing if you haven't already taken a Swift action. Now, you may want to house rule that you can use the Corset without taking a Swift action first...but that isn't a rules forum discussion.
| Darksol the Painbringer |
Darksol the Painbringer wrote:For starters, the exclusive precedent, which lists specific examples (such as Standard Actions for any Move Action) and limitations, meaning anything that doesn't fall under those pretenses are not allowed with the exceptions citedNowhere in any rule book or any FAQ is the term "exclusive precedent" used or identified as an aspect of how the rules are suppose to work. PF is not a court of law. The PDT ignores any previous rules (even their own) when it suits them. Nowhere, in any rulebook or FAQ is anything you've said in the above quote put forth.
Quote:Comparing them as such is a strawman argument that falls apart because you're wanting something ideal from something was simply not designed to be as such.You also need to look up the term "strawman" as you've consistently misused it.
Of course it's not explicitly defined or mentioned, nor would I expect it to. It's not something people normally pick up, but it's something that needs to be learned if we are trying to understand the intent behind a rule, because it gives the insight needed to determine whether the rules as they stand would or would not allow it. I've already defined what an exclusive precedent is, and the limited citations of action substitution fits that very bill.
They don't have to put up a FAQ or a rule or whatever to point it out, just like how they didn't have to mention the Nauseated condition limited Swift/Immediate and Free Actions as well, but they did anyway, because people didn't understand the exclusive precedent that the Nauseated condition presented.
And of course they can change the rules if they so want. They do it all the time with Errata, and with certain FAQs. But until any change comes to something such as this, it's quite clear that action substitutions aren't typically allowed unless something says you can.
I've misused "strawman" before, I'm not denying that. But when you're comparing spending money on merchandise (which consists of 150 units of currency, the "Gold Piece," and prices varying based on how much units of currency they cost) to action economy in combat (which is quantified in Actions, split into several "currencies" [read: action types], which you get only so much of, and each subject costs 1 of a certain action type), I'd have to say it fits the definition of being irrelevant, as you're comparing X (spending money) to Y (performing actions in combat), which is what is commonly referred to as being a "strawman."
And yes, I've read the item. I'm actually the one who pointed out that the item doesn't let you circumvent the ability to perform a Swift Action as a Move Action, because it doesn't say you're spending a Move Action to perform it, it says you're spending a Move Action to have the ability to perform an additional Swift Action. Any other person would probably tell you that you'd need the item to be able to use a Swift Action while Nauseated. And they'd be wrong.
Also, "Additional" means "extra or supplementary to what is already present or available," so no, you don't have to spend a Swift Action in order to be able to make use of the item, because it's increasing the number of Swift Actions you can perform that round to 2, instead of 1.
Nice try. Your move, Snarky-Sparky.
| Tarantula |
Ok, here's another weird case.
Nauseated Paladin with Reactive Healing.
While nauseated, the paladin cannot use LoH on themself, because it is a swift action and they are restricted to a single move action.
They are attacked, and dropped below 0 hitpoints. Can they use an immediate action (as allowed from the feat) to LoH? If they have the mercy which cures nauseated would that also apply? Does being nauseated preclude taking immediate actions (which normally have to be specifically allowed anyway?)
I ask this because normally being below 0 hitpoints means you are dying, which states you can take NO actions. The feat obviously means you are allowed an immediate action when otherwise you would have none, so does it also allow for it past nauseated?
| Darksol the Painbringer |
Channel Energy for a Paladin is its own feature separate from Lay On Hands. Mercies only apply to the Lay On Hands feature, not the Channel Energy feature, even if the Paladin expends Lay On Hands uses to perform it. Therefore, you can't apply Mercies to Channel Energy. (There may be archetypes or feats that allow it otherwise, but normally, no.) **EDIT** But, because the feat states Lay On Hands as a means to heal yourself, the Mercy could apply that way. However...
Immediate Actions are like Swift Actions (and count as Swift Actions for the purposes of restrictions, such as by taking 1 per round), but the only difference is that Immediate Actions can be taken outside of your turn (and would consume the Swift Action of your next turn if you already used it for the round), and as such, would likewise not be usable while Nauseated. The big thing is that Immediate Actions usually trigger right before an effect or activity occurs (in the case of Reactive Healing, before the damage takes effect), which is where the sole attraction of the feature comes from; it saves you from being dropped (or even killed, if it's enough damage).
With the Corset of Delicate Moves, you could, for example, use the Corset, perform a Lay On Hands by spending the extra Swift Action, and then be able to perform the Reactive Healing ability outside their turn to heal themselves. You'd still have a Standard Action to either attack, cast a spell, and so on.
| Tarantula |
Channel Energy for a Paladin is its own feature separate from Lay On Hands. Mercies only apply to the Lay On Hands feature, not the Channel Energy feature, even if the Paladin expends Lay On Hands uses to perform it. Therefore, you can't apply Mercies to Channel Energy. (There may be archetypes or feats that allow it otherwise, but normally, no.)
I think you misread.
Benefit: When the damage from an attack or an effect would reduce you to 0 or fewer hit points, you can expend one use of channel energy (of a form that would heal you) or lay on hands as an immediate action to heal yourself. The healing affects only you, even if it would normally affect others.
| Tarantula |
But immediate actions use your next swift action.
Using an immediate action on your turn is the same as using a swift action and counts as your swift action for that turn. You cannot use another immediate action or a swift action until after your next turn if you have used an immediate action when it is not currently your turn (effectively, using an immediate action before your turn is equivalent to using your swift action for the coming turn). You also cannot use an immediate action if you are flat-footed.
Since the using of that immediate action will cure the nauseated condition, then the future swift action that it takes to use will be available for use in some weird time bending manner.
| N N 959 |
Also, "Additional" means "extra or supplementary to what is already present or available," so no, you don't have to spend a Swift Action in order to be able to make use of the item, because it's increasing the number of Swift Actions you can perform that round to 2, instead of 1.
I'll walk through it.
1. Normally, it is impossible to use the Corset unless you've already taken a Swift action, otherwise you're simply using the Swift action you normally get.
2. The Corset gives you an "additional" Swift action. That implies that you've already spent a Swift action (see #1). You can't get an "additional" action if you didn't use one to begin with. While Nauseated, you do not have a Swift action (we all agree on that). It is therefore impossible to get an "extra" Swift action because there is no initial Swift action to make the second one "extra."
In a strict reading, the Corset only works when you can already take a Swift action. Think of it as a built in nerf on a 2000gp item.
In order to be useful while nauseated, the description would have to say,
Once per day as a move action, the wearer can take aadditionalswift action, even if the wearer has already taken a swift action that round.
| Darksol the Painbringer |
But immediate actions use your next swift action.
Quote:Using an immediate action on your turn is the same as using a swift action and counts as your swift action for that turn. You cannot use another immediate action or a swift action until after your next turn if you have used an immediate action when it is not currently your turn (effectively, using an immediate action before your turn is equivalent to using your swift action for the coming turn). You also cannot use an immediate action if you are flat-footed.Since the using of that immediate action will cure the nauseated condition, then the future swift action that it takes to use will be available for use in some weird time bending manner.
The Nauseated condition doesn't allow you to take Immediate Actions anyway, so what you're proposing is impossible from the get-go.
Also, the bolded part would really only be relevant in cases such as the surprise round, or the first round of combat, or in rounds where you haven't used your Swift Action.
@ N N 959: Wait, you're calling the real-world definition of additional incorrect, because you have to expend something in order to be considered having a surplus of the original value?
| N N 959 |
There's no concept of "time" in the action economy either.
That's just flat incorrect. Since you're willfully refusing to acknowledge what is actually printed in the book, this discussion will bear no fruit.
An action's type essentially tells you how long the action takes to perform (within the framework of the 6-second combat round) and how movement is treated.
| N N 959 |
@ N N 959: Wait, you're calling the real-world definition of additional incorrect, because you have to expend something in order to be considered having a surplus of the original value?
The "real-world" definition of additional is what actually restricts the item. The language, as written defines the Swift action you get must be an "additional" action. In other words you have to first be able to perform a Swift action before the Corset will operate otherwise your Swift action will not satisfy the definition of "additional."
it's analogous to Rapid Shot. You don't get the extra shot unless you get the first shot.
When making a full-attack action with a ranged weapon, you can fire one additional time this round. All of your attack rolls take a –2 penalty when using Rapid Shot.
| Darksol the Painbringer |
Darksol the Painbringer wrote:There's no concept of "time" in the action economy either.That's just flat incorrect. Since you're willfully refusing to acknowledge what is actually printed in the book, this discussion will bear no fruit.
PRD wrote:An action's type essentially tells you how long the action takes to perform (within the framework of the 6-second combat round) and how movement is treated.
I did acknowledge it, and I pointed out that it's not correct, because an action type does nothing to denote how long it takes to perform it, as the rules apparently say they do. Are Standard Actions 2 seconds? 3 seconds? 4 seconds? No one knows, because the rules don't say.
So, show me where in the book that demonstrates each action's specified duration within the 6 second combat round. Surely, if an action is quantified based on its type, as you claim, then its duration within the combat round likewise would be quantified (and therefore listed within the rules).
Until you do, that's about as much hard evidence for your case as fluff text.
And that's an incorrect analogy too. You don't get the extra shot unless you A. have the feat and fulfill its pre-requisites, and B. make a full attack action with a ranged weapon. There are no pre-requisites for how many attacks you make. You could make 1, 2, 4, or even 0 attacks (some features let you remove or subtract attacks to reroll other attacks), but that's not relevant to the requirements here.. Until you have/do those things, you don't get the extra shot.
Same applies to the Corset. You don't get the extra Swift Action unless you A. have the item equipped in the proper slot, and B. activate it by spending a Move Action.
| N N 959 |
I did acknowledge it, and I pointed out that it's not correct, because an action type does nothing to denote how long it takes to perform it, as the rules apparently say they do. Are Standard Actions 2 seconds? 3 seconds? 4 seconds? No one knows, because the rules don't say.
That's a fundamentally different argument than claiming there is "no concept of time."
You see that word "essentially"? It means your argument is unavailing. It's irrelevant that we do not know the exact duration. Nothing requires that we do. What is pointed out is that a Swift/Free actions takes "very little time." All we need are relative durations to know that I can perform a Swift/Free if I have the time to perform a Move.
You have no grounds to refute that other than continuing to argue "exclusive precedent." Which, I hate to break it to you, is RAI, not RAW. Arguing about precedent is an argument about what is intended, not what is stated. And as you already acknowledged, the PDT doesn't give a whip about what was intended, not even when the rule author themselves says what was intended. So while precedent may be a valuable tool in the world of law, it means butkus in Pathfinder. This is art, not legislation.
So, show me where in the book that demonstrates each action's specified duration within the 6 second combat round. Surely, if an action is quantified based on its type, as you claim, then its duration within the combat round likewise would be quantified (and therefore listed within the rules).
Your logic doesn't follow. You're inventing criteria and requirements that are not necessary for my assertion to be true. Nor does anything in the rules or the FAQs support your assertion that the absence of specific durations has any meaning whatsoever.
Until you do, that's about as much hard evidence for your case as fluff text.
My hard evidence is RAW. Actions types "essentially tell you how long the action takes to perform." Then, each action provides information on how much relative time it takes. Pretty basic stuff.
Same applies to the Corset. You don't get the extra Swift Action unless you A. have the item equipped in the proper slot, and B. activate it by spending a Move Action.
No. As it's written, it can only provide you with an "additional" Swift action. It says that in print. If you haven't used a Swift action, then the one given by the Corset wouldn't be "additional" would it?
I think the disconnect here is that I read "additional" as defining/specifying the type of Swift action your given. You're ignoring "additional" and reading it as simply giving you an action swap. You're ignoring the explicit requirement of the Swift action given has to be an "additional" one. In other words, you can only use the Corset when you have a Swift action to take and you've taken it. Think of it like the extra point for a touchdown. You only get the additional point if you first score the touchdown. That's why it's an "extra" point and not just a point. Maybe someone else can explain it better.
Selvaxri
|
I'm just going to add this-
Corset of Delicate Moves: Once a day, you may expend a move action to gain an additional swift action.
not all that great, but for when it matters.
| Bandw2 |
Quote:Comparing them as such is a strawman argument that falls apart because you're wanting something ideal from something was simply not designed to be as such.You also need to look up the term "strawman" as you've consistently misused it.
for no real reason i'll point out what described in this quote is the "wishful thinking" fallacy.
I've misused "strawman" before, I'm not denying that. But when you're comparing spending money on merchandise (which consists of 150 units of currency, the "Gold Piece," and prices varying based on how much units of currency they cost) to action economy in combat (which is quantified in Actions, split into several "currencies" [read: action types], which you get only so much of, and each subject costs 1 of a certain action type), I'd have to say it fits the definition of being irrelevant, as you're comparing X (spending money) to Y (performing actions in combat), which is what is commonly referred to as being a "strawman."
and this, is a non sequitur.
i have too much knowledge of logical fallacies for it to be useful so i just spill it out on the internet,
| N N 959 |
for no real reason i'll point out what described in this quote is the "wishful thinking" fallacy.
Yes, that's what he's trying to articulate, that doesn't mean he's correct.
and this, is a non sequitur.
Yes, that's what he thinks it is. But he is not correct.
i have too much knowledge of logical fallacies for it to be useful so i just spill it out on the internet,
Please keep providing insight. I'm certain I've misused labels as well.
| Darksol the Painbringer |
Darksol the Painbringer wrote:
I did acknowledge it, and I pointed out that it's not correct, because an action type does nothing to denote how long it takes to perform it, as the rules apparently say they do. Are Standard Actions 2 seconds? 3 seconds? 4 seconds? No one knows, because the rules don't say.That's a fundamentally different argument than claiming there is "no concept of time."
You see that word "essentially"? It means your argument is unavailing. It's irrelevant that we do not know the exact duration. Nothing requires that we do. What is pointed out is that a Swift/Free actions takes "very little time." All we need are relative durations to know that I can perform a Swift/Free if I have the time to perform a Move.
You have no grounds to refute that other than continuing to argue "exclusive precedent." Which, I hate to break it to you, is RAI, not RAW. Arguing about precedent is an argument about what is intended, not what is stated. And as you already acknowledged, the PDT doesn't give a whip about what was intended, not even when the rule author themselves says what was intended. So while precedent may be a valuable tool in the world of law, it means butkus in Pathfinder. This is art, not legislation.
Quote:So, show me where in the book that demonstrates each action's specified duration within the 6 second combat round. Surely, if an action is quantified based on its type, as you claim, then its duration within the combat round likewise would be quantified (and therefore listed within the rules).Your logic doesn't follow. You're inventing criteria and requirements that are not necessary for my assertion to be true. Nor does anything in the rules or the FAQs support your assertion that the absence of specific durations has any meaning whatsoever.
Quote:Until you do, that's about as much hard evidence for your case as fluff text.My hard evidence is RAW. Actions types "essentially tell you how long the action takes to perform."...
The illusion of something is not actually that something. At best, it's a mock-concept, in which case the aspect of being able to apply realism to it (AKA what you've been doing this whole time) results in a rules answer that is approximate and by no means relatively accurate every time. In other words, table variation. Which is not an authentic rules answer. Which you're trying to say is, because realism. Which is likewise a silly claim to make on a rules set that is purposely abstract in numerous situations (and can actually be quite easily quantified and applied in accordance to the rules).
Cute that you think the definition of "essentially" is "an argument that is unavailing." The actual definition, in this case, is that it "pertains to or constitutes the essence of a thing." So an action type "pertains to" or "constitutes the essence of" telling us how long it takes to perform. Which, by its very nature, is incorrect verbiage, because the durations of actions are not properly defined, especially in relation to its duration. It's not stated that a Standard Action takes 2-4 seconds, or that a Move Action takes 1-3 seconds, and so on. And you're trying to say that it doesn't matter, but it does. Because that very "hard evidence" that you're using to claim that action types tell you how long it takes to perform the action, doesn't even do what it says it does, which is to tell how long each action type takes, in the scale of the 6 second combat round.
And no, I'm not inventing any criteria. You're inventing that Swift/Free Actions are faster than Move Actions, and therefore can be done in place of them, something which the rules say nothing about doing in a general scenario except in the case of what's already listed (remember that exclusive precedent? That's what this is).
I'm not inventing anything like what you're inventing. All I'm doing is asking for your hard evidence to support the claim that you make. Which you haven't properly provided yet, because the evidence you have provided currently is easily dismissable, on the grounds of it being inaccurate in relation to the claim being made, and as such becomes evidence that is, to use your own word, "unavailing."
You're suggesting that I think the Corset could allow a Swift Action that isn't in addition to what you could already take? That's not only silly, but also not what I was saying at all. What I said was that the Swift Action granted through the Corset, no matter if you did or did not take your 1 Swift Action to begin with, would be additional to the Swift Action that you did or did not take. My point was that, no matter if you have or have not taken the Swift Action normally allotted to you (or even if you haven't taken the Swift Action allottable via the Corset), it would still constitute as being additional in relation to the real-world definition I provided.
| DrDeth |
| 1 person marked this as FAQ candidate. |
You're suggesting that I think the Corset could allow a Swift Action that isn't in addition to what you could already take? That's not only silly, but also not what I was saying at all. What I said was that the Swift Action granted through the Corset, no matter if you did or did not take your 1 Swift Action to begin with, would be additional to the Swift Action that you did or did not take. My point was that, no matter if you have or have not taken the Swift Action normally allotted to you (or even if you haven't taken the Swift Action allottable via the Corset), it would still constitute as being additional in relation to the real-world definition I provided.
Huh? But in any case, it is now a swift action right? And you cant take a swift action when nauseated. So the corset is a red herring here.
Look, the PDT messed up with that definition, forgetting things like the Paladin, the samurai, etc. Rather that argue the RAW or the RAI, let us just get them to correct it.
| N N 959 |
Cute that you think the definition of "essentially" is "an argument that is unavailing.
*scratches head* Umm...no. That's not what I was stating. Granted, there's a gap in the dots I was expecting you to connect on that, so I'll just chalk up to my failure to write clearly.
As the rest of what you wrote,
Cute that you think the definition of "essentially" is "an argument that is unavailing." The actual definition, in this case, is that it "pertains to or constitutes the essence of a thing." So an action type "pertains to" or "constitutes the essence of" telling us how long it takes to perform. Which, by its very nature, is incorrect verbiage, because the durations of actions are not properly defined, especially in relation to its duration. It's not stated that a Standard Action takes 2-4 seconds, or that a Move Action takes 1-3 seconds, and so on. And you're trying to say that it doesn't matter, but it does. Because that very "hard evidence" that you're using to claim that action types tell you how long it takes to perform the action, doesn't even do what it says it does, which is to tell how long each action type takes, in the scale of the 6 second combat round.
Once again, there's a disconnect here. The rules are telling us that the action type are "essentially" indicators of the time it takes to perform that type of actions. Things that are Free actions fall in to category of things that "take very little time." That statement is meant to be relative to the other actions. So Free and Swift actions "take very little time" as compared to Move / Standard Actions. The term "essentially" is an admission by the designers that the action type is not an exact science or even a rigorous one. In other words, "Action types are a loose grouping of actions based on how long they take to perform."
So an action type "pertains to" or "constitutes the essence of" telling us how long it takes to perform. Which, by its very nature, is incorrect verbiage, because the durations of actions are not properly defined, especially in relation to its duration.
Your argument here is inapposite. It would be nonsensical for 3.5 to have defined specific duration for action types when the action types cover a broad range of actions. Does nocking an arrow really take no time at all as compared with talking? What about taking a 5' step as a Move action compared to Non-action? It's the same 5' isn't it? Arguing that there is some failure on the part of the game to provide specific time frames is failing to understand the purpose of the action economy and the point in classifying actions as specific types.
What complicates this understanding is something that bb and I discussed up-thread. The action types have been leveraged to provide a level of restriction independent of their relative time. We are most familiar with this regarding Swift actions. The designers of 3.5 decided to create this unique type of Free Action for which you only had one. Combine that with a feat/ability/spell that lets you quicken the pace of Standard or Move Action to a Swift and now you can allow players the ability to do an extra powerful things without impacting their Move or Standard Actions, but only once per round. So the designers have abused this Swift concept to do a lot of things that have little or nothing to do with time dependency and everything to do with availability/scarcity.
But I'll point out to anyone who is still reading, do you really think the rules are written so that a creature cannot use up a Move action to continue to take Free actions? Take a look at the Speak action,
Speak
In general, speaking is a free action that you can perform even when it isn't your turn. Speaking more than a few sentences is generally beyond the limit of a free action.
This tells us that speech is a Free action so long as it is limited in time. What Darksol is proposing would mean that you can't speak only a few sentences while Nauseated...you could only speak for longer. That's nonsensical and it means that any interpretation which compels this result must be wrong...at least until the PDT says that's how it works...lol.
| bbangerter |
I've been ignoring posting in this thread as I haven't seen any value in arguing it further with N N 959, but I need to respond to this.
The action types have been leveraged to provide a level of restriction independent of their relative time.
Which is exactly why just because I might have a move actions worth of time to do something (and only a move action), does not mean I can take a swift action instead. As stated both by myself and Darksol - because the rules specifically tell us we can do a move in place of a standard, and we can do a full-action instead of a move+standard, but are notably silent on being able to trade out anything for a swift - then a move to swift is not allowed - at least certainly not based upon the argument that it is allowed because it takes less time. Time is not the only requirement.
This tells us that speech is a Free action so long as it is limited in time. What Darksol is proposing would mean that you can't speak only a few sentences while Nauseated...you could only speak for longer. That's nonsensical and it means that any interpretation which compels this result must be wrong...at least until the PDT says that's how it works...lol.
While I agree with your overall argument here, it is flawed in that you are making an assumption that the next level of action from free to speak is move to speak. The rules do not provide any explicit guidance on it. Personally I'd be more inclined to say it goes from free action to full-round, or even multiple round, action to speak more than a few sentences. So could a nauseated character speak four sentences but not two? Who knows - the rules don't tell us enough about upgrading from free action to speak to determine that outside of individual GMs adjudicating how they see fit.
But I'll point out to anyone who is still reading, do you really think the rules are written so that a creature cannot use up a Move action to continue to take Free actions?
I will also answer this, from my own perspective.
1) How I think it should work does not change what the rules actually are.2) I don't have to like a rule to understand how it works (I don't like the nauseated FAQ).
3) In my games it would never been an issue, not because I think you could take a swift if you were restricted to move only due to nauseated, but because:
a) I ignore that FAQ for my games.
b) Swift actions, IMO, would require sufficient attention and thus are already restricted by the nauseated condition.
c) Because of (a), a player in my game would be allowed free actions (that I ruled did not require attention - looking at you bardic performance) in addition to their move action, so its a moot point.
If there were some other condition that disallowed all actions types save a move action, I would not allow a swift action.
| N N 959 |
. As stated both by myself and Darksol - because the rules specifically tell us we can do a move in place of a standard, and we can do a full-action instead of a move+standard, but are notably silent on being able to trade out anything for a swift - then a move to swift is not allowed...
That doesn't logically follow. The reason the game needs to explicitly tell us that we can take a Move for a Standard is because there is nothing else that establishes the relative duration between the two. We are told in black and white that Swift/Free take "very little time." We are not told how long Standard and Move take, only that they obviously take more time than Free/Swift. Without the rule explicitly telling us that Move and be used for a Standard, we wouldn't know it from the time information.
What you are also overlooking is that by allowing a Move in for a Standard and not vice versa, the rules set the pattern. We can reason that other than a Full Round Action takes the longest, Standard, then Move. It is the very fact that Move -> Standard is a one-way exchange is what reaffirms the swap is time based. Consider there are NO two-way swaps.
- at least certainly not based upon the argument that it is allowed because it takes less time.
That is the only rationale that explains why a Move can be taken for a Standard.
Time is not the only requirement.
It is the only metric that is explicitly associated with action types.
This tells us that speech is a Free action so long as it is limited in time. What Darksol is proposing would mean that you can't speak only a few sentences while Nauseated...you could only speak for longer. That's nonsensical and it means that any interpretation which compels this result must be wrong...at least until the PDT says that's how it works...lol.
Personally I'd be more inclined to say it goes from free action to full-round, or even multiple round, action to speak more than a few sentences.
You do realize how untenable your position is right? You're trying to convince me that something that "takes very little time" now takes the entire round because you've added one more sentence? Come on...that's nonsense. What if we add one more word? How about two words? Three?
So could a nauseated character speak four sentences but not two? Who knows
Now you're not even arguing in good faith. The fact that you have to resort to such a position should be a red flag. The game designers weren't aliens with obscure brain patterns we'll never understand. That's the PDT you must be thinking of. joke
| Bandw2 |
Bandw2 wrote:for no real reason i'll point out what described in this quote is the "wishful thinking" fallacy.Yes, that's what he's trying to articulate, that doesn't mean he's correct.
Quote:and this, is a non sequitur.Yes, that's what he thinks it is. But he is not correct.
Quote:i have too much knowledge of logical fallacies for it to be useful so i just spill it out on the internet,Please keep providing insight. I'm certain I've misused labels as well.
the only thing i was claiming was right or wrong is what fallacies people were claiming to use.
:P
The Morphling
|
On the topic of "end concentration is a free action," I think that there is actually a benefit to allowing people to immediately cease concentration as an action. The spell ends if you go a whole round without concentrating on it, but you also have the option to immediately cause the spell to cease mid-turn, whenever you want. What if you had a spell that created an impenetrable wall, which had a duration of "concentration." You might want that wall to be up for the first half of your turn (perhaps you're standing on that wall, and intend to take a move action to get off of it), but you instantly want the wall gone as soon as you move. Allowing casters to immediately cease concentration as a free action is a useful functionality to include.
| darkwarrior42 |
Part of the problem of trying to measure the action economy in terms of time, or justify the action economy in terms of time, is that any game mechanic is almost necessarily a pure abstraction.
Regardless, even outside of the rules not saying explicitly that you can substitute a swift action for a move action, there is precedent to say that this is not permitted.
See: The Studied Target ability of the Slayer.
" A slayer can study an opponent he can see as a move action."
"At 7th level, a slayer can study an opponent as a move or swift action."
Logically, if you could easily use a move action to perform a swift action, there would be no need to specify; you could just say the Slayer can use Studied Target at level 7 as a swift action, and let it be understood that you can still dial it back to a move action if you are so inclined. Granted, this isn't ironclad proof, but if we're talking RAW, there's nothing that says you CAN use a move action to perform a standard action, and at least one ability that implies you cannot.
Personally, I think of actions less in terms of time and more in terms of focus. A swift or immediate action is something you're doing quickly, but which typically requires focus or concentration.
In the case of Studied Target, mechanically you can only use the ability as a move action initially, but at level 7 can do it as a swift or move action. From an RP/Fluff standpoint, a novice Slayer has to take a moment to figure out their target. They're trained, so they can still do it relatively quickly (a few seconds, given the round duration), but it's not something that happens instantly. As they progress and become more experienced, they learn how to make this sort of assessment far more quickly.... no longer do they have to stop and study, they can do it as they move in. However, this requires quite a bit of attention and focus, to quickly take in and parse a lot of minute details in an instant. They can, of course, still pause and take their time if they need to, or if they have other matters that require more of their attention (ie if they have something else they need to spend their swift action on), but they have that option now.
| Ckorik |
Just to throw fuel on the fire -
You can already get 3 swift actions in a round (not turn). First is your own swift. Second is through a magic item. End your turn and use an immediate action (which is a swift action but uses your next turns swift now).
Bam - 3 swifts used in a single round.
They have gone out of their way to not allow action degrading - I believe this is because the vast horde of rules and character concepts that use swift and immediate as balancing factors and the testing/edge/corner cases that would come up if action swaps were allowed. Would it break the game? Who knows - and so it's not allowed.
For what it's worth the most common argument is about casting more than two spells per round - which is already theoretically possible as seen above. Standard action spell, quickened spell... before round is over pit happens and feather fall (immediate action) although by RAW the feather fall can't happen I believe due to the 1 spell (or 2 with quicken) hard rule - but figuring out a corner case that would make it work scares everyone - spells change the game after all.
| N N 959 |
Logically, if you could easily use a move action to perform a swift action, there would be no need to specify; you could just say the Slayer can use Studied Target at level 7 as a swift action, and let it be understood that you can still dial it back to a move action if you are so inclined.
I agree that it contradicts an explicit RAW reading that allows it. But the rules are often redundant, restating in specific cases, things we knew were already true on a general level. What's more it is not Core and does not tell us what the authors of Core were thinking when they devised/modified the action economy, only what the authors of ACG were thinking.
Personally, I think of actions less in terms of time and more in terms of focus. A swift or immediate action is something you're doing quickly, but which typically requires focus or concentration.
The "concentration" is fluff to justify a limit of one. Arguments centered around "effort" as a design constraint don't withstand scrutiny when we start looking at things that get converted from Standard or Move actions to Swift. As has been discussed, WoTC and Paizo have leveraged the Swift action category because of its built in limit and it has nothing to do with any real "effort" on the part of the character.
More to the point, if you look at the language used in Core when describing Conditions, actions are restricted based on the nature of the actions, not the action type. In essence, a condition like Nauseated tells you how much time you have: "only" a Move Action no time for additional Free actions, and what you cannot do: Cast, attack, concentrate. It does not matter whether the action is Swift or Free or Move.
| N N 959 |
They have gone out of their way to not allow action degrading
I disagree. In fact, I would argue the opposite as they invoke concepts duration and provide us with information to convert one into another. I quoted the text on "Speak" and one can argue that it allows us to extend Free actions into other actions.
| Ckorik |
Ckorik wrote:They have gone out of their way to not allow action degradingI disagree. In fact, I would argue the opposite as they invoke concepts duration and provide us with information to convert one into another. I quoted the text on "Speak" and one can argue that it allows us to extend Free actions into other actions.
I would argue that it was ambiguous at best and even though this topic comes up over and over the language of rule books continues to tighten and reflect the 'non-conversion' principle. Example is any new class, and new feats that go out of their way to say 'swift' and then 'swift or move'. They didn't move away from the ambiguous language and instead have been making things very specific (to avoid the question) which explains how they view the rules, even without a direct statement as such.
| N N 959 |
I would argue that it was ambiguous at best and even though this topic comes up over and over the language of rule books continues to tighten and reflect the 'non-conversion' principle. Example is any new class, and new feats that go out of their way to say 'swift' and then 'swift or move'. They didn't move away from the ambiguous language and instead have been making things very specific (to avoid the question) which explains how they view the rules, even without a direct statement as such.
You're overlooking something. An action that gets converted to a Swift becomes limited. If I already have some other action that uses my Swift action, then I can't do any of these other Swift actions. But, if I can still take that action as an actual Move action rather than using up my Move to take a Swift, then I am not prevented from using my Swift action for something else.
Take the Slayer example. At 7th level, if the Slayer executes an Immediate action, it can still study an opponent as a Move action. If Move/Swift were not stated explicitly, then you would be trying to execute TWO Swift actions in one round and you can't do that. Remember, the argument is that I can take my Swift action in place of my Move action but not that I get two Swift actions in one round. Performing ten Free Actions as a Move action, doesn't make the individual Free actions take longer, nor does it stop them from being Free action. I just use up my Move action to do it. In the Slayer situation, Study as a Swift action would thus be barred if I'd already taken a Swift action, regardless of if I could use a Move action to take a Swift action.
So I'd argue that this new convention isn't a statement on conversion, but rather an acknowledgment that if something was once available as a Move action can now only be done as Swift action, that can be detrimental.