Limit on resting?


Advice

Sovereign Court

I was curious and couldn't find any clear answer on the PRD, is there a limit to number of times a character can rest in a day? My specific circumstance is I'm playing a Kineticist and am looking at getting a Ring of Sustenance so that a 2 hour nap counts as full rest to clear Burn, can this be done multiple times per day if needed?


Pathfinder Starfinder Society Subscriber

I think that the following sentence in the Ring of Sustenance description could be extrapolated to rule out benefiting from a night's rest for such purposes: "This allows a spellcaster that requires rest to prepare spells to do so after only 2 hours, but does not allow a spellcaster to prepare spells more than once per day."

But I will admit that I cannot find a more direct statement that directly refers to daily abilities other than prepared spells.


As a GM...No.

The Ring of Sustenance is not meant to allow you regain you abilities multiple times per day, though in the case of a Kineticist it probably technically does so.

It's not intended to have that sort of power, which is why when it was written is specifically prevented spell casters from regaining spells.

So the answer as a GM is that you should be allowed to rest and regain abilities once per day only.

Sovereign Court

As others have said -

RAW - probably yes

RAI - almost certainly no

Sovereign Court

So while the ring will allow my character more opportunity to clear his burn (taking a nap in the wagon while traveling) it should only really be allowed to be done once a day (the clearing of Burn)?


crashcanuck wrote:
So while the ring will allow my character more opportunity to clear his burn (taking a nap in the wagon while traveling) it should only really be allowed to be done once a day (the clearing of Burn)?

By a strict reading of the rules the Ring of Sustenance would allow you to clear your burn more than once a day (24 hr period) because burn says:

Quote:
This damage can't be healed by any means other than getting a full night's rest, which removes all burn and associated nonlethal damage.

Of course, a very strict reading of the rules specifies a night's rest which means you could only clear it multiple times during the night (from sunset to sunrise). And that you can never clear it by resting during the day (it does specify a night's rest and not a day's rest).

However, you can be sure that it wasn't intended to work this way, and instead you're expected to be able to get rid of burn once a day.

If for some reason your party only traveled at night, none of you would ever get a night's rest and by a strict reading you could never clear burn. But a wise and smart GM understand that the whole concept is really about resetting Burn once a day, not that it strictly needs to happen at night.


crashcanuck wrote:
So while the ring will allow my character more opportunity to clear his burn (taking a nap in the wagon while traveling) it should only really be allowed to be done once a day (the clearing of Burn)?

Pretty much.

There is no way to have 2 proper rests in a day to recharge abilities, this is hard rule that exists for balance.

If you have an issue with burn your going to need to look into ways of working with it, feats, class abilities, increasing constitution etc, if you haven't seen one already here is a guide.

http://www.giantitp.com/forums/showthread.php?432093-Sucking-Counts-as-Airb ending-Right-A-Guide-to-the-Kineticist

Remember to use guides for advice, not as a hard rule, optimal doesn't always mean good fun or good for you.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Advice / Limit on resting? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.