Criticial triggers and critters immune to critical...


Rules Questions

Grand Lodge

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

Here's a question that came up recently- If a PC with the an ability that triggers off a confirmed critical [like Hungry Ghost's Ki Steal/Life Funnel or Panache/Grit], rolls a nat 20 against an enemy immune to critical hits [like Elementals], can they roll to confirm just see if their get the ability to trigger?


Probably up to the GM, since there's no wording anywhere about whether or not you would roll the confirmation against something that's immune anyway.

Although, as a reminder, on pg. 301 in the Bestiary, it does specifically say that a creature that has an immunity (In this case, immunity to critical hits) is immune to the mentioned effect and immune to any secondary effects from the first. Any ability that would affect the creature as part of the critical hit would simply not function.


I think the important distinction would be whether the ability triggers off of a confirmed critical hit, or caused on a critical hit. You can comfirm all the crits you like on an elemental, it just takes no effect because it's immune.


Maybe TC wants to know if effects from allies that trigger off critical confirms still work?

Like "ally gets an attack of opportunity against the creature if you confirm a critical on it" kind of effect.

Liberty's Edge

I'd say no in virtually all cases.

Most options that trigger off a crit are further enhancing the awesomeness of the blow, creating a surge of morale, providing an opening for other actions, et cetera... none of which make sense if the 'critical' did not actually happen.


not sure if it's enough to set a precedent, or whether calling it out precludes using it out of context, but:

magic weapons wrote:
Some weapon qualities and some specific weapons have an extra effect on a critical hit. This special effect also functions against creatures not normally subject to critical hits. On a successful critical roll, apply the special effect, but do not multiply the weapon's regular damage.


I suppose this rule could reasonably be applied to creature abilities as well (and on any confirmed critical threat, not just natural 20s):

http://paizo.com/pathfinderRPG/prd/coreRulebook/magicItems/weapons.html#wea pons
"Magic Weapons and Critical Hits: Some weapon special abilities and some specific weapons have an extra effect on a critical hit. This special effect also functions against creatures not normally subject to critical hits. On a successful critical roll, apply the special effect, but do not multiply the weapon's regular damage."

I thought I remembered a different rule, saying that if you can't score critical damage (due to attack rolls or target's critical immunity), no additional critical effect would be applied. But I can't find it, and found that other, instead.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Criticial triggers and critters immune to critical... All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions