Lance Damage Calculations


Rules Questions


So i was reading over some other posts and just trying to figure out the whole lance deal.

So we all know the lance does does double damage when charging but I'm not 100% what that will include. So for my example lets say I am using a +1 lance (medium sized) and I have a STR of 22 (6) and power attack of -3/+6.

Calculations:
9 (STR) + 1 (Lance) + 9(Power Attack) = 1d8+19. So now if I read correctly on some other posts my final damage output is:
2d8+38 (w/o spirited charge)
3d8+57 (w spirited charge)

1. If that is correct then what if I crit. how does that play into this?
2. I also read that I can wield a lance one handed while charging and still count it as a 2 handed weapon and apply 1 1/2 times for STR and Power Attack.
3. The posts were old but some said I could use vital strike while charging, can I?


1. 4d8+76 without; 5d8+95 with spirited charge
2. 1.5 str
3. You are considered charging. You can't use vital strike.


1. Yes, this is correct. If you crit, everything doubles triples, lances are x3. Pretty much the only thing that doesn't crit with it are extra damage dice from other sources. Say you have Bane on your weapon. The +2 on damage does crit with the rest, but the +2d6 stays at that number. Same with things like Challenge, Smite Evil, Bardic Performance, Weapon Training. A critting smiting Paladin is nasty, believe me. A critting Spirited Charge is just overkill. Things like Flaming, Frost, Shocking, or sneak attack and other precision damage-based things don't crit along.
2. Not completely sure about that. The way I always used it was that you can use it one-handed while mounted, but then you use the one-handed weapon rules. But the damage output is so much higher when you're two-handing, so I never used it one-handed. Better wait for someone else who does know.
3. Pretty sure you can't. See this sidebar. A charge is a full-round action (unless you're staggered or acting in a surprise round or something). Vital Strike specifically calls out the "attack action," which is just the standard action to attack, which you can't use if you're already in a full-round.


nicholas storm wrote:
1. 4d8+76 without; 5d8+95 with spirited charge

Lances are a x3 weapon. It's actually 6d8+114 without Spirited Charge, 9d8+171 with Spirited Charge. Unless I'm missing something, but I think the damage dice from Spirited Charge multiply.

Yes, charging lance crits hurt, especially when you factor in Power Attack.

Scarab Sages

Micheal Smith wrote:

So i was reading over some other posts and just trying to figure out the whole lance deal.

So we all know the lance does does double damage when charging but I'm not 100% what that will include. So for my example lets say I am using a +1 lance (medium sized) and I have a STR of 22 (6) and power attack of -3/+6.

Calculations:
9 (STR) + 1 (Lance) + 9(Power Attack) = 1d8+19. So now if I read correctly on some other posts my final damage output is:
2d8+38 (w/o spirited charge)
3d8+57 (w spirited charge)

1. If that is correct then what if I crit. how does that play into this?
2. I also read that I can wield a lance one handed while charging and still count it as a 2 handed weapon and apply 1 1/2 times for STR and Power Attack.
3. The posts were old but some said I could use vital strike while charging, can I?

1) a crit on a lance is x3. but you already are getting x2 (x3 with spirited charge) from the charge so you stack them. that means you have a x4 attaack (x5 with spirited charge). This is - 1x base weapon + x2 from crit + x1 or x2 from charging with a lance.

2)This is a little murky. when a titan mauler wields a THW in one hand, he treats it as a one handed weapon for all effects. a bastard sword only gets THW bonunses (like 1.5x strength) when weilded with 2 hands. The lance doesn't have any language which grants 1.5x str when weilded in one hand, so I would treat it like the titan mauler would, and only give it 1.0x str. I reccomend asking your GM for his/her specific ruling.

3) see this FAQ which clearly states no and why.


Quentin Coldwater wrote:
nicholas storm wrote:
1. 4d8+76 without; 5d8+95 with spirited charge

Lances are a x3 weapon. It's actually 6d8+114 without Spirited Charge, 9d8+171 with Spirited Charge. Unless I'm missing something, but I think the damage dice from Spirited Charge multiply.

Yes, charging lance crits hurt, especially when you factor in Power Attack.

That is what I thought. I wasn't sure if because on the charge I got to triple it all again. So then if I Challenge my foe (as per Cavaliers Challenge) and at 11th level I get +11 to damage, then this would also get doubled on the charge as well???


Micheal Smith wrote:

1. If that is correct then what if I crit. how does that play into this?

2. I also read that I can wield a lance one handed while charging and still count it as a 2 handed weapon and apply 1 1/2 times for STR and Power Attack.
3. The posts were old but some said I could use vital strike while charging, can I?

Your base #'s are correct. What you really want to do is read up the section in combat about critical hits and how multipliers stack in 3.Pathfinder. For example: 2-x2 multipliers end up at a x3 not x4.

So to be accurate assuming 9 from Strength, a +1 Lance and 9 from power attack:

Mounted lance, normal (1x Damage): 1d8+19
Mounted lance, charge (2x Damage): 2d8+38
Mounted lance, Spirited Charge (3x Damage): 3d8+57
Mounted lance, normal-Critical (3x Damage) : 3d8+57
Mounted lance, charge-Critical (4x Damage) : 4d8+66
Mounted lance, Spirited Charge-Critical (5x Damage): 5d8+95

So the above should answer your #1.
#2 is correct.
#3 is no because a Xharge is a full round action and Vital Strike is it's own standard action and as such cannot be stacked with charge. You simply do not have enough actions in one round to do both at the same time.


Regarding 1-handed lance use there is this FAQ that covers Power Attacks. (Summary: Lances in 1 hand get the 1.5x power attack damage.)

Note: there is also this FAQ that some people (including myself) believe contradicts the lance FAQ. (Summary: 2-handed weapons in 1-hand get 1-handed damage for the purposes of strength, power attack, etc.)

They have yet to resolve this apparent contradiction so at the moment when you use a lance 1-handed you get normal 1x (not 1.5x) strength but you also get 1.5x power attack because specific trumps general (the lance FAQ is more specific than the 2-handed in 1-hand weapon FAQ).


challenge is added before multiplying so yes, you add a lot of damage on a charge when you challenge.


Micheal Smith wrote:
That is what I thought. I wasn't sure if because on the charge I got to triple it all again. So then if I Challenge my foe (as per Cavaliers Challenge) and at 11th level I get +11 to damage, then this would also get doubled on the charge as well???

In your example challenge is a static +11. Not an additional die increase. Almost universally any stat number is always multiplied on a crit or when multiple of damage are applied, and when this is NOT the case it is explicitly called out in the rule.

So adding the challenge boost to the above examples your results would be:

Mounted lance, normal (1x Damage): 1d8+30
Mounted lance, charge (2x Damage): 2d8+60
Mounted lance, Spirited Charge (3x Damage): 3d8+90
Mounted lance, normal-Critical (3x Damage) : 3d8+90
Mounted lance, charge-Critical (4x Damage) : 4d8+120
Mounted lance, Spirited Charge-Critical (5x Damage): 5d8+150

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Lance Damage Calculations All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.