
![]() |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

You're a 8th level psychic bloodline sorcerer. You've taken Shadow Projection as your 4th level spell known.
Psychic sorcerers cast using thought and emotion components, so there is no verbal and somantic components required, which has previously hindered casting in shadow projection. Your charisma which you use for casting has now translated to your shadow projection's AC.
You stash your body in a safe place and continue adventuring, as a shadow. You have taken the feats endurance and diehard, so even if something kills your shadow, you can always pop back to your body and use infernal healing on yourself.
You gain all the defences and movement of a shadow while maintaining your full spellcasting, with added perk of your casting stat going to your ac. Too good to be true? Please poke holes in the proposed plan.

![]() |

For more funsies, undead, having no con score, add their charisma to their fort save.
For futher sh**s and giggles, a dip in lore oracle for sidestep secret(this is controversial, I'm aware of that) will let you substitute your charisma mod for dex mod in determining AC, which could potentially give you the effect of using your dex TWICE for AC. Oh, also, your Cha applies to your reflex saves as well.
Noble scion of war lets you put your CHA to your init, possibly making you the SADDEST caster ever?

Amrel |

For more funsies, undead, having no con score, add their charisma to their fort save.
For futher sh**s and giggles, a dip in lore oracle for sidestep secret(this is controversial, I'm aware of that) will let you substitute your charisma mod for dex mod in determining AC, which could potentially give you the effect of using your dex TWICE for AC. Oh, also, your Cha applies to your reflex saves as well.
Noble scion of war lets you put your CHA to your init, possibly making you the SADDEST caster ever?
The only hole in this is that the spell specifically says you keep your HD and hit points, so I don't think you get cha to hp (though the saves thing technically still sticks)

Chess Pwn |

The FAQ specifically prohibits a bonus from the same ability score going to anything more than once, if I recall (Ability scores are treated as being the same source, and thus don't stack).
As long as they are typeless. Mark even goes and gives an example that getting CHA as a shield, armor, untyped, deflection and dodge bonus would all be okay and you'd have your CHA to ac, 5 times with this.

Amrel |

Ravingdork wrote:The FAQ specifically prohibits a bonus from the same ability score going to anything more than once, if I recall (Ability scores are treated as being the same source, and thus don't stack).As long as they are typeless. Mark even goes and gives an example that getting CHA as a shield, armor, untyped, deflection and dodge bonus would all be okay and you'd have your CHA to ac, 5 times with this.
In case anyone was wondering, the FAQ for this is here
The specific text being the following
"An ability bonus, such as "Strength bonus", is considered to be the same source for the purpose of bonuses from the same source not stacking. However, you can still add, for instance “a deflection bonus equal to your Charisma modifier” and your Charisma modifier"
In this case the shadow gets a deflection bonus equal to its charisma modifier. Taking a level in sidestep oracle would allow you use your charisma in place of your dexterity bonus for ac and ref save.
Regardless of that, I don't think you're technically even getting a bonus twice. You have one ability that replaces a stat, and another that gives a bonus. (someone please point out if I missed something there, as I've made a few rulings with this and would love to know if I've missed something)

![]() |

Only under unofficial errata are shadows given a language, as common. So officially, shadows cannot speak.
Somatic (S)
A somatic component is a measured and precise movement of the hand. You must have at least one hand free to provide a somatic component.
Do shadowy shapes count as hands?
Though whether your spellcasting ability is lost - if it was - they should say so. Taking beast shape as an example, does a wildshaped druid octopus lose the ability to breathe air? Answer is no. Because the spell doesn't say he loses it.

Ravingdork |

Only under unofficial errata are shadows given a language, as common. So officially, shadows cannot speak.
Somatic (S)
A somatic component is a measured and precise movement of the hand. You must have at least one hand free to provide a somatic component.
Do shadowy shapes count as hands?
Though whether your spellcasting ability is lost - if it was - they should say so. Taking beast shape as an example, does a wildshaped druid octopus lose the ability to breathe air? Answer is no. Because the spell doesn't say he loses it.
Huh. Never noticed that they didn't have a language before.
Can you link to the unofficial errata?

![]() |

http://www.d20pfsrd.com/bestiary/monster-listings/undead/shadow
Unofficial Errata leads to James Jacob's off topic discussion:
http://paizo.com/threads/rzs2l7ns&page=140?Ask-James-Jacobs-ALL-your-Qu estions-Here#6965
D20 is known to be not so accurate and the more reliable sources are archive of nethys or paizo PRD.
Paizo PRD states that shadows do not have a language.
http://paizo.com/pathfinderRPG/prd/bestiary/shadow.html

balshazar |
Only under unofficial errata are shadows given a language, as common. So officially, shadows cannot speak.
In this case it shouldn't matter. OP said that he's a psychic bloodline sorcerer, which means that he doesn't need verbal or somatic components to cast his spells, so even if the shadow can't speak or wave his hands about I would think he would be fine.

Artifix |

Does that body need to be able to breath? Could you say, store it in a bag of holding...
Have someone carry the back of holding. If you die as shadow you simply cast the spell again or climb out of the bag of holding.
Also can you permanency Shadow Projection?

Amrel |

The spell does not say that as a shadow you keep your spell casting abilities so I would not allow you to do so.
MDC
I would think that the spell would specify if you didn't. You don't lose the ability to cast when you use similar abilities such as magic jar or when you're polymorphed (just the ability to perform verbal/somatic components depending on your form), and this doesn't seem to be too far thematically and mechanically from that.
Additionally, while its always the GM's call, I would recommend considering the fact that the spell also goes so far as to list the things you gain from the transformation, but does not say you lose anything.
I would think that if you were to lose something so great as your entire ability to cast spells (especially from casting a 4th level spell) it would mention it.