Alchemist's Parasitic Twin and its extra head.


Rules Questions


Can the head of the Parasitic Twin be used for anything beyond its reroll functionality? Specifically, I was looking at the "Fungal Eyes" graft. Removes normal vision, but gives Blindsight to 30 feet. Could this be applied to one head while leaving the other one's eyes alone so as to have Blindsight alongside normal vision?

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

"Can't be targeted" kills your concept.


And here I am wondering why you'd go through all that trouble anyway when Echolocation is on the Alchemist list.


Makes me think of Total Recall!!


Oh, hm, didn't think of the "can't be targeted" part... Well, what about putting the graft on the original head? Can the grown head see things normally?

As for the why, it's 'cause I like permanence and it furthers the "abomination" feel that I'm shooting for! :D


The ability does what it says it does.

It doesn't say that you can see through it. It doesn't even suggest that it can see. Even if it was capable of perceiving the world around it, what makes you think you would receive that sensory input? It's a separate entity.

It's extremely useful for what it is.


Gulthor wrote:

The ability does what it says it does.

It doesn't say that you can see through it. It doesn't even suggest that it can see. Even if it was capable of perceiving the world around it, what makes you think you would receive that sensory input? It's a separate entity.

It's extremely useful for what it is.

It doesn't say a whole lot of anything, sadly. :( It doesn't suggest that it CAN'T see, either, nor that the Alchemist wouldn't receive its sensory input. Doesn't say whether or not it can talk in order to relay information, either. There's just not a lot to go off of. D: Should I just assume the text is merely a vehicle for the effect, and should otherwise be disregarded except for roleplay purposes? That's an across-the-board question, not just for Parasitic Twin; rather new to tabletop in general, much more used to "freeform"/non-systematic roleplay, or HIGHLY systematic computer games.


I didn't notice them going out of their way to telegraph there is no mechanical benefit, either. No one came to my house, sent me a personal e-mail, or even farted a sentence in Aklo in my direction that reiterated there is no mechanical benefit.

I agree Senior Toolbox, too many trolls in the dungeon. If your DM thinks the head can see, that's cool, it's just not allowed in the RAW. Pretty much just ignore the fluff of the feat and see it as a pure 1/day reroll with a sickness penalty.

I like to think that, when my alchemist drinks his mutagen, the vestigial twin crawls out and becomes a muscular beast, and then I run around riding his back while he giggles, "HERE COMES THE TICKLE MONSTER."

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

Tiaximus wrote:
If your DM thinks the head can see, that's cool, it's just not allowed in the RAW. Pretty much just ignore the fluff of the feat and see it as a pure 1/day reroll with a sickness penalty.

+1

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Alchemist's Parasitic Twin and its extra head. All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.