Can tiny and smaller creatures remain in a square occupied by a small or medium creature?


Rules Questions


The reason I'm asking is this : started a new game where all PCs are noble animals or magical beasts.

I'm playing a noble rabbit Unchained Barbarian (psycho murder bunny). I know combat gimped - it wasn't about min/maxing, but the humorous connotations and a nod to Monty Python and Pooky from Red Dragon Inn.

Since tiny and smaller creatures don't threaten adjacent squares and have to enter opponent's squares to.attack, can they remain in that occupied square? Furthermore, can they 5' step into an opponent's square?


The rules are kind of conflicted on this angle, but that's predominately because they're written with Medium creatures in mind.

But in general, Tiny and smaller creatures are supposed to be able to end movement within squares otherwise occupied by Small or larger creatures, as this is the only way they can reasonably attack.

Similarly, five-foot steps should also work, so you can enter the opponent's square without provoking attacks of opportunity.

Don't make Pooky angry. You won't live to regret it.


Oh I know that. My psycho murder bunny is in homage to Pooky, as well as the Vorpal Bunny from Monty Python.

I know a 5' step prevents AoOs whole leaving a threatened square, but entering the opponent's square also provokes from the opponent in question, unless a feat like Monkey Shine, or perhaps the teamwork feat Escape Route is involved, correct?


That's a good question. I'm not actually in a position to cross-reference rules, so I can't actually check on that kind of thing. I'm pretty sure Acrobatics checks are your friend, though.

Sovereign Court

You can make an acrobatics check to avoid an AoO for Leaving a threatened square. Tiny critters also provoke for Entering an occupied square, and no mention of acrobatics to avoid it.


Firebug wrote:
You can make an acrobatics check to avoid an AoO for Leaving a threatened square. Tiny critters also provoke for Entering an occupied square, and no mention of acrobatics to avoid it.

But what about the Escape Route teamwork feat? Would that work like Monkey Shine?

Liberty's Edge

FAQ wrote:

Tiny and smaller creatures: In the section on Tiny and smaller creatures, it says that entering a creature’s space provokes an attack of opportunity, but typically 5-foot steps don’t provoke an attack of opportunity. If a Tiny or smaller creature took a 5-foot step into a creature’s space, would it provoke an attack of opportunity?

Yes. Even with a 5-foot step, a Tiny or smaller creature entering a creature’s space provokes an attack of opportunity (unless it is using a more specific ability to avoid the attack of opportunity such as the Monkey Shine feat). This doesn’t mean that a Tiny or smaller creature entering a creature’s space and moving out of a threatened square with a move action provokes two attacks of opportunity from that creature, for the same reason that moving out of multiple of a creature’s threatened squares in the same move action doesn’t provoke two attacks of opportunity.
posted Jan 23, 2016 | back t


Firebug wrote:
You can make an acrobatics check to avoid an AoO for Leaving a threatened square. Tiny critters also provoke for Entering an occupied square, and no mention of acrobatics to avoid it.

There's a thread on this from a little while ago, but this is debatable.

If entering a square were its own provoking event a tiny creature walking across the room into someone's square should provoke twice (which is what I asked about in the FAQ) but they don't: it's just one provoking event. That to me indicates that it's a movement related AoO, which you can prevent with acrobatics.


Here is the thread BNW is referring to if you care to see the differing view points.


Since tiny and smaller creatures are reach 0, aren't they actually required to be in an enemy square to be able to attack? I remember something about that putting them to close to be targeted by some attacks. Not sure about the too close part though.


BigNorseWolf wrote:
If entering a square were its own provoking event a tiny creature walking across the room into someone's square should provoke twice (which is what I asked about in the FAQ) but they don't: it's just one provoking event. That to me indicates that it's a movement related AoO, which you can prevent with acrobatics.

That's a really good point BNW - thanks.

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

Majuba wrote:
BigNorseWolf wrote:
If entering a square were its own provoking event a tiny creature walking across the room into someone's square should provoke twice (which is what I asked about in the FAQ) but they don't: it's just one provoking event. That to me indicates that it's a movement related AoO, which you can prevent with acrobatics.
That's a really good point BNW - thanks.

I also consider that the correct and best interpretation possible.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Can tiny and smaller creatures remain in a square occupied by a small or medium creature? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.