Critical Hit: What is multiplied?


Rules Questions


1 person marked this as a favorite.

I am a bit confused with what gets multiplied when a critical hit is rolled.

Quote:

Multiplying Damage: Sometimes you multiply damage by some factor, such as on a critical hit. Roll the damage (with all modifiers) multiple times and total the results.

Note: When you multiply damage more than once, each multiplier works off the original, unmultiplied damage. So if you are asked to double the damage twice, the end result is three times the normal damage.

Exception: Extra damage dice over and above a weapon's normal damage are never multiplied.

So, here are some examples how I read it:

Paladin [+1 holy longsword] with smite evil active crits on evil monster:
Normal Damage = 1d8+1 (+1 longsword) + 3 (ST Mod) + 2d6 (holy) + 12 (smite evil)
Crit (x2): 2d8+2 (2x +1 longsword) + 6 (2x ST Mod) + 2d6 (holy - not doubled) + 24 (2x smite evil)
As far as I understand, the holy is not doubled because of the stated exception and the 2d6 from holy are "Extra damage dice over and above a weapon's normal damage" right?

Ranger [+1 giant bane longbow] with favored enemy (giants)+4 vs giant:
Normal Damage = 1d8+3 (counts as a +3 longbow vs giants) + 2d6 (giant bane) + 4 (favored enemy)
Crit (x3) = 3d8+9 (3x +3 longbow) + 2d6 (giant bane) + 12 (3x favored enemy)
Again all modifiers are multiplied, but the extra damage dice from bane are not, correct?

Rogue [+1 vicious flaming dagger] vs flanked enemy:
Normal Damage = 1d4+1 (+1 dagger) + 1 (ST Mod) + 2d6 (vicious) + 1d6 (fire) + 5d6 (sneak attack)
Crit (x2) = 2d4+2 (2x +1 dagger) + 2 (2x ST Mod) + 2d6 (vicious) + 1d6 (fire) + 5d6 (sneak attack)
In effect, the rogue gets only +1d4+2 extra damage from his crit because he has no flat modifiers but only extra dice from various sources?

Am I reading this correct? Extra dice are not multiplied but every other source of flat damage mod like power attack and so on is? Thanks in advance.


2 people marked this as a favorite.

You are mostly correct. The only exception is that precision damage is NEVER multiplied on a critical, even if it's a flat number and not extra dice.

All your examples are accurate.


Saethori wrote:

You are mostly correct. The only exception is that precision damage is NEVER multiplied on a critical, even if it's a flat number and not extra dice.

All your examples are accurate.

Thank you. I didn't know there was any other precision damage apart from sneak attack. I will have to read up on that.

RPG Superstar Season 9 Top 32, RPG Superstar 2014 Top 16, RPG Superstar 2013 Top 16

2 people marked this as a favorite.

Other flat precision damage would include things like a Swashbuckler's precise strike, or the bonus from Focused Shot.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Saethori wrote:

You are mostly correct. The only exception is that precision damage is NEVER multiplied on a critical, even if it's a flat number and not extra dice.

All your examples are accurate.

Actually there is no generic rule preventing precision damage from being multiplied. Sneak Attack was prevented by virtue of being extra dice. But the Swashbuckler's extra damage is specifically called out as not being multiplied it the ability. There would be no need for that caveat if there was a blanket prohibition on precision damage being multiplied.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
thorin001 wrote:
Saethori wrote:

You are mostly correct. The only exception is that precision damage is NEVER multiplied on a critical, even if it's a flat number and not extra dice.

All your examples are accurate.

Actually there is no generic rule preventing precision damage from being multiplied. Sneak Attack was prevented by virtue of being extra dice. But the Swashbuckler's extra damage is specifically called out as not being multiplied it the ability. There would be no need for that caveat if there was a blanket prohibition on precision damage being multiplied.

Its worded similarly in rogue and ninja sneak attack. Its called precision damage (because some creatures are immune to it), and then noted as not being doubled on criticals.

d20pfrd wrote:
This additional damage is precision damage and is not multiplied on a critical hit.

There is a call-out box next to it which talks about the difference between which creatures are affected by precise vs crit damage.

Although, I can't think of an example of precise damage that is multiplied?


McBaine wrote:
Saethori wrote:

You are mostly correct. The only exception is that precision damage is NEVER multiplied on a critical, even if it's a flat number and not extra dice.

All your examples are accurate.

Thank you. I didn't know there was any other precision damage apart from sneak attack. I will have to read up on that.

Swashbuckler and investigator have flat precision damage.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
thorin001 wrote:
Saethori wrote:

You are mostly correct. The only exception is that precision damage is NEVER multiplied on a critical, even if it's a flat number and not extra dice.

All your examples are accurate.

Actually there is no generic rule preventing precision damage from being multiplied. Sneak Attack was prevented by virtue of being extra dice. But the Swashbuckler's extra damage is specifically called out as not being multiplied it the ability. There would be no need for that caveat if there was a blanket prohibition on precision damage being multiplied.

I imagine this would be resolved just like the Precision Damage vs. Concealment issue. The same arguments were considered there (only sneak attack specifically called out how it interacts with concealment).

Most likely, all precision damage will be treated the same way (subject to generally the same restrictions as sneak attack with regard to concealment, multiplication, etc.).

Also note the Precision Critical 6th-tier Trickster Path Ability.

Quote:
Whenever you score a critical hit, double any extra precision damage dice, such as sneak attack damage. These dice are only doubled, not multiplied by the weapon's critical modifier.

Whenever you score a critical hit, double precision damage. The clear implication being that precision damage is ordinarily not increased on a critical hit.

So while the limitation that precision damage is not multiplied on a critical hit is not explicit, the limitation seems to be the intent.


fretgod99 wrote:
thorin001 wrote:
Saethori wrote:

You are mostly correct. The only exception is that precision damage is NEVER multiplied on a critical, even if it's a flat number and not extra dice.

All your examples are accurate.

Actually there is no generic rule preventing precision damage from being multiplied. Sneak Attack was prevented by virtue of being extra dice. But the Swashbuckler's extra damage is specifically called out as not being multiplied it the ability. There would be no need for that caveat if there was a blanket prohibition on precision damage being multiplied.

I imagine this would be resolved just like the Precision Damage vs. Concealment issue. The same arguments were considered there (only sneak attack specifically called out how it interacts with concealment).

Most likely, all precision damage will be treated the same way (subject to generally the same restrictions as sneak attack with regard to concealment, multiplication, etc.).

Also note the Precision Critical 6th-tier Trickster Path Ability.

Quote:
Whenever you score a critical hit, double any extra precision damage dice, such as sneak attack damage. These dice are only doubled, not multiplied by the weapon's critical modifier.

Whenever you score a critical hit, double precision damage. The clear implication being that precision damage is ordinarily not increased on a critical hit.

So while the limitation that precision damage is not multiplied on a critical hit is not explicit, the limitation seems to be the intent.

When that was written the only precision damage was Sneak Attack.


thorin001 wrote:
fretgod99 wrote:
thorin001 wrote:
Saethori wrote:

You are mostly correct. The only exception is that precision damage is NEVER multiplied on a critical, even if it's a flat number and not extra dice.

All your examples are accurate.

Actually there is no generic rule preventing precision damage from being multiplied. Sneak Attack was prevented by virtue of being extra dice. But the Swashbuckler's extra damage is specifically called out as not being multiplied it the ability. There would be no need for that caveat if there was a blanket prohibition on precision damage being multiplied.

I imagine this would be resolved just like the Precision Damage vs. Concealment issue. The same arguments were considered there (only sneak attack specifically called out how it interacts with concealment).

Most likely, all precision damage will be treated the same way (subject to generally the same restrictions as sneak attack with regard to concealment, multiplication, etc.).

Also note the Precision Critical 6th-tier Trickster Path Ability.

Quote:
Whenever you score a critical hit, double any extra precision damage dice, such as sneak attack damage. These dice are only doubled, not multiplied by the weapon's critical modifier.

Whenever you score a critical hit, double precision damage. The clear implication being that precision damage is ordinarily not increased on a critical hit.

So while the limitation that precision damage is not multiplied on a critical hit is not explicit, the limitation seems to be the intent.

When that was written the only precision damage was Sneak Attack.

When what was written?

[Also, note that this is the same argument used in the Precision/Concealment discussion.]

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Critical Hit: What is multiplied? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions