
FractalLaw |
8 people marked this as FAQ candidate. |

Can clerics use their domain spell slots to prepare metamagic versions of their domain spells?
As an example, could a fire domain cleric use their 7th level domain slot to prepare a Quickened Fireball?
I've been looking for an answer for this for a while now, but have yet to find anything definitive.
I've found several threads where people mostly agreed that it would work, but the actual rules basis is a little sparse.
I did find this post by SKR saying that a cleric could prepare multiple of the same lower level domain spell using higher level slots, which seems to imply that they could then use metamagic as well, but it's not clearly stated.
Ideally, a FAQ ruling would be appreciated.

Jayder22 |

I do not see why this would need a faq at all.
From the Cleric page
A cleric gains one domain spell slot for each level of cleric spell she can cast, from 1st on up. Each day, a cleric can prepare one of the spells from her two domains in that slot. If a domain spell is not on the cleric spell list, a cleric can prepare it only in her domain spell slot. Domain spells cannot be used to cast spells spontaneously.
Fireball is a domain spell for a fire domain cleric, so they can prepare it in any domain slot of sufficient level. They could put fireball in the 3rd level slot and 4th level slot (cast as a 3rd level spell). The class feature does not inhibit metamagic, so it is not inhibited. If it were disallowed, it would say it right after (or before) where it prohibits spontaneous casting.

![]() |

There is a FAQ answer saying threads are not supposed to have "FAQ Request" or anything asking for a FAQ in the title.
Also, they have spell slots, metamagic works on spell slots. Of course they can use metamagic on their domain spells to raise their domain slot to cast a metamagic'd version.
So either convince your GM or find a new GM. This is the kind of thing in the old days they would just punt from the FAQ queue for being too obvious.
I'd certainly prefer a genuine debated subject get FAQ over this.

bbangerter |

Yes, of course they can. With no rules in play specifically excluding such, then all normal rules for metamagic still apply. The only difference between domain spell slots and normal spell slots is the restriction that the domain slots must be one of their domain spells, and they cannot be converted on he fly to Cure/Inflict spells.