Can two or more incorporeal creatures inhabit the same square?


Rules Questions


Maybe it's because it's so late, but I actually have been looking for a direct answer for this for a few hours now and haven't found anything. Thanks in advance.


I don't remember seeing it written anywhere but I've always played that two incorporeal creatures cannot occupy the same square. They aren't incorporeal with respect to each other.


Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

Yeah, incorporeal creatures can hit each other - see Incorporeal - so I would also argue they can't share a space. The monster rules seem like they'll be the only indicator one can get for a ruling.


There is no rules answer for this that I can find so I will just tell you how I would play it.

They can pass through each other unless one wishes to resist the other.

In other words one of them has to not want to share the square.


I don't believe that the rules allow an incorporeal creature to inhabit the same square as a corporeal creature (absent a possession type ability), let alone another incorporeal creature.


Dave Justus wrote:
I don't believe that the rules allow an incorporeal creature to inhabit the same square as a corporeal creature (absent a possession type ability), let alone another incorporeal creature.

There is nothing stopping an incorporeal creature from sharing a square with a corporeal one. They don't even really share the same space since they don't interact with each other until an attack or magic is in play.

The rules just don't say it because they assume it is obvious considering that they can occupy the same space as solid objects.

So before we go any farther are you saying what you think the PDT would say or are you taking the most literal reading the rules?

edit

Quote:
In fact, they cannot take any physical action that would move or manipulate an opponent or its equipment, nor are they subject to such actions.

That leads me to think them stopping in an occupied square is not going to force anyone out of the square.


I think both the PDT and the most literal reading of the rules (as well as a much less literal reading of the rules) would say that creatures can't be in the same space unless one is helpless or we are talking about unusual sizes.

Unless an ability changes that, it remains the rules.

There are several reasons for this, but one is that when using a battle map as an abstraction having creature share a space creates problems.

Basically you are taking something that applies to objects and deciding it should apply creatures, and that isn't supported by the rules.


What does PDT stand for?


Cagey Bee wrote:
What does PDT stand for?

Pathfinder Design Team.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Can two or more incorporeal creatures inhabit the same square? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions