Bonus Stacking Questions


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion

Silver Crusade

I was thinking about potential damage with CD Damiel, and had a question about stacking bonuses. Here's the scenario:
Combat check comes up. I have already played Brilliance (+3 intelligence), and have Mythic Marshall. I play a Fire Alchemy weapon, using its ability to add my Craft Check (intelligence) to the check by discarding a card, I also discard a Alchemy card to add Intelligence to my combat Dexterity. My bonuses are +2 Dexterity, +1 Intelligence, Craft:Intelligence 3, Brilliance, and 2 charges of my Mythic path (Intelligence and Dexterity). So here is my question:

1) do these all get their bonuses from the other sources? So 1d12+2d10+2d6+19 (+2 Dexterity + 2 Mythic)+(+3 Craft +1 Intelligence + 3 Brilliance + 2 Mythic) + (+1 Intelligence + 3 Brilliance + 2 Mythic)


Short answer, no. A check that has multiple traits doesn't get bonuses repeatedly because you can't use a card or power more than once per check.

Edit: yeah, Eliandra explained it better

Silver Crusade

You don't get Brilliance twice. I don't think you can get it at all. There was a similar discussion regarding Balazar and glibness. Basically, you can add it to an Intelligence check, not your intelligence skill, and this is still a Dexterity check.

I think you mean you are a Mythic Trickster? That's the one that adds to Dex and Int. Assuming that is true, mythic tokens are added to a check, not a skill. So, as with the Balazar issue, since this is a Dexterity check, you only get to add them the once.


Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Maps, PF Special Edition, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Alchemists Fire is Dex or Ranged + 2d6, and can discard a card to add Craft. Damiel can also discard a card to add Intelligence. Adding a skill to a check does not add that skill as a trait to the check, and therefore does not modify the check type per FAQ.

It is a Dex check so Mythic Path still applies (note the Path adds to a check, not a skill; it only applies once no matter what). Damiel if he discarded two cards would get d12+2 (Dex) + 2d6 + d10+4 (craft) + d10+1 (int) + 2 (path). Brilliance is not applied at all since it is not an intelligence check. In total you will have 1d12+2d10+2d6+9.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / Bonus Stacking Questions All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion