Magus Spell Combat, Spellstrike & Natural Attacks


Rules Questions


Hello all,

I am a bit lost in how exactly this works.

I am playing an Eldritch Scion (Draconic) 6 / Dragon Disciple 2 (plus Dual-Cursed Lore Oracle 1, but it doesn't matter in this case). My DM has ruled that the DD advances the Draconic Bloodrager bloodline, so we're good.

I have picked Natural Spell Combat twice (Claws & Bite).

So, my full Spell Combat attack should be: 2x Claws & Bite with a -2 penalty, plus a spell (with +2 bonus when cast defensively).

With Spellstrike, this means that I get an extra (third) Claw attack to deliver the spell (if I cast a touch spell), or one of my two claw attacks delivers the spell? I am confused...

...oh, and a second question:

If I hadn't taken Natural Spell Combat for my claws, how would it work?


I do not believe you get both claw attacks, but I could be mistaken. The second hand is still taken up by casting the spell.

Adding Spellstrike works normally, meaning you use whatever attacks you normally would get, plus the one for casting a touch spell. Any weapon you have out and available can be used for the extra attack, including either claw or your bite.

If only your bite had natural spell, you could still make weapon attacks with a held weapon in addition to the bite and spell. However, in that event your bite would now be secondary.


I'm not sure actually. I had to re-read the arcana a couple of times and I still think it's written somewhat ambiguously. It specifies that you can make "all your claw attacks with your free hand, and all your bite attacks in addition to casting a spell." I'm not sure if that means you can only make the claw attacks associated with free hands, or that you can make all claw attacks you'd normally get with your one free hand.

But, if you hadn't taken NSC, then you'd just get a single Claw attack plus a spell for spell combat.


Fretgod that's what I thought at first, but then there would be no point in taking NSC for the claws, since I would only get 1 attack with them anyway... I suppose that since natural weapons get a fixed number of attacks and don't increase with BAB, NSC is a sort of a tax to compensate for natural attack builds.


On second read, you should get both. The free hand in the arcana is the same referenced in Spell Combat as the free hand that casts the spell.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Magus Spell Combat, Spellstrike & Natural Attacks All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions