Slipslinger grenadier: does it still count as a splash weapon?


Rules Questions


Hello folks,

I was looking at the new style feats, and saw some interesting potential in the "slipslinger" line of style feats, but had a few questions:
From slipslinger grenadier:
"Your sling deals its normal weapon damage, plus the loaded splash weapon's effect or damage."
-Does effects include the normal splash damage from the splash weapon?

-Does this still count as a splash weapon for the purpose of the alchemist's "throw anything" ability, and the underground chemist's "chemical weapons"/"precise splash weapons"?


a bit of a necro here, but i was working on a build and beside the above questions, which i would like to know the answer to (pretty sure it's a yes to both, but like to conferm ) had 2 more to add.

1: is the splash weapon a touch attack?
the feat say that you treat the splash weapon as ammunition for drawing and loading it, not for attacking (refered to as 'hurl' it). the fact that it deals both the sling damage and the alchemical weapon damage is what keep me undecided. after all other ways to 'sling' a splash weapon still use touch attacks.

2: if the 'effect or damage' in the feat refer to also the splash damage effect of the alchemical weapon - how would it work with the 'Concentrated Splash' feat?

asuming an alchemist or underground chemist who can add int to splash damage use it. a hit would deal the sling damage+ str +splash weapon damage + int + other stuff (magic,point blank, startoss with the 2 style build etc). and then 50% of what? raw seem like everything while it is abovius that rai it was only meant to do the main splash weapon damage +50%.

what do you guys think?


bump


When using slipslinger style Slipslinger Grenadier says:

Quote:

Benefit(s): While using Slipslinger Style, as a standard action you can use a sling to hurl an alchemical splash weapon, treating it as a sling bullet for the purpose of drawing and loading it into your sling. Your sling deals its normal weapon damage, plus the loaded splash weapon‘s effect or damage.

This extra damage is not multiplied on a critical hit.

Special: This feat cannot be used with alchemists‘ bombs.

So you treat it as a bullet, but it also deal splash damage in addition to regular sling bullet damage.

So no it's not a touch attack. You must make a regular attack roll to hit with your ammunition (which is a splash weapon in this case) and if you hit you also deal the splash damage of the object.

I think it would work with concentrated splash, but only the splash damage portion of the damage would be increased, but you would automatically qualify because you hit directly.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Slipslinger grenadier: does it still count as a splash weapon? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions