[CLARIFICATIONS] about Precise Strike of Swashbuckler and Duelist, Duelist's Parry and Riposte, Flamboyant Arcana of Magus


Rules Questions


1)PRECISE STRIKE
Are Precise Strike of Swashbuckler and Duelist a standard attack or could be also a full-out attack?

Do the rules of Duelist's and Swashbucler's Precise Strike stack each other?

2)DUELIST'S PARRY and RIPOSTE
The rules of PARRY are:
At 2nd level, a duelist learns to parry the attacks of other creatures, causing them to miss. Whenever the duelist takes a full attack action with a light or one-handed piercing weapon, she can elect not to take ONE of her attacks.

So a duelist can elect ONLY one attack, right?
but in the RIPOSTE rules is written:
Starting at 5th level, a duelist can make an attack of opportunity against ANY creature whose attack she successfully parries, so long as the creature she is attacking is within reach.

I'm not native English-speaking so I haven't understood:
why use ANY if a duelist can parry only ONE attack, why not using THE?
Or could a Duelist elect more than one attack and parry multiple creatures?

3)FLAMBOYANT ARCANA of MAGUS ARCANA in ADVANCED CLASS GUIDE (page 104)
Could a Magus use Panache Points generated by Swashbuckler second class (lvl1) to activate deeds of Flaboyant Arcana and Arcana Deeds or he can only use arcana points from his arcana pool?

Thank you for your help


1)precise strike isn't an action. It's just something that does it's thing when conditions are met.

2)She's able to not take as many as she wants to set up that many ripostes.

3)only his arcane pool


1. Any kind of attack. They do stack with each other.

2. Only one attack by RAW. ANY vs THE is a linguistic choice.

3. Only Arcane Pool points:

Quote:
The magus can spend only points from his arcane pool (not panache points) to use these deeds and any other deeds he gains from the deed arcana. He can't use points from his arcane pool to use deeds from other classes or those gained by feats, nor can he regain points to his arcane pool as a swashbuckler would regain panache points.


Secret Wizard wrote:


3. Only Arcane Pool points:

Quote:
The magus can spend only points from his arcane pool (not panache points) to use these deeds and any other deeds he gains from the deed arcana. He can't use points from his arcane pool to use deeds from other classes or those gained by feats, nor can he regain points to his arcane pool as a swashbuckler would regain panache points.

Is this an ERRATA?

Because on my source is written:
The magus can spend points from his arcane pool as panache points to use these deeds and any other deeds he gains from the deed arcana.

About POINT 1)
So really do a Swashbuckler-Duellist lvl 20 make +20 damages with Precise Strike like a Swashbluckler lvl 20? O.O


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

No, it was errata'd that the Swashbuckler level of a Magus is 0, so you do 0 extra points.

Dumb, IMO, but there you have it.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / [CLARIFICATIONS] about Precise Strike of Swashbuckler and Duelist, Duelist's Parry and Riposte, Flamboyant Arcana of Magus All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions