Monk two weapon fighting and Two-Weapon Defense


Rules Questions


I can't tell if these are legal together or not:

Two-Weapon Defense (Combat)
You are skilled at defending yourself while dual-wielding.
Prerequisites: Dex 15, Two-Weapon Fighting.
Benefit: When wielding a double weapon or two weapons (not including natural weapons or unarmed strikes), you gain a +1 shield bonus to your AC.
When you are fighting defensively or using the total defense action, this shield bonus increases to +2.

This calls out unarmed strikes specifically, but this note under the monk entry would allow this to be used by a monk I think:

A monk's unarmed strike is treated as both a manufactured weapon and a natural weapon for the purpose of spells and effects that enhance or improve either manufactured weapons or natural weapons.

To me that overwrites the “normal” feat text that doesn’t allow it to be used with unarmed strikes.

Am i correct?


Unfortunately not. The Monk doesn't actually dual-wield, he simply has no off-hand. I know, it sucks, but you're usually correct reading the worst possible interpretation of anything the Monk can get.

Scarab Sages

The specific line that says no unarmed strikes trumps anything else.


Well that's sucks. Especially in the face of the FAQ that expressly says you can dual wield unarmed. Thanks for confirming, looking at a halfling monk who reeeeealy abuses fighting defensively ;)


also you would have to pick the two-weapon fighting feat.

during a flurry of blows his attacks are calculated "as if using the Two-Weapon Fighting feat".

but the rules dont say, that he has the feat, or that he fulfills the Prerequisites for a feat with it.

so you would have to pick twf first, and then twd. dont think anyone would do this...

Quote:

A monk's unarmed strike is treated as both a manufactured weapon and a natural weapon for the purpose of spells and effects that enhance or improve either manufactured weapons or natural weapons.

To me that overwrites the “normal” feat text that doesn’t allow it to be used with unarmed strikes.

how do you come to this conclusion?

this sentence is a specific rules. it says for the purpose of spells and effect that enhance or improve either manufactured weapons [...]

is the feat an effect that enhances or improves the unarmed strike(wich could be considered a manufactured weapon)?
not at all. it gives you a bonus while u wield 2 weapons, but it doesnt improve the weapons themselves. so TWD is not even in the scope of this rule.

if you pick Two-Weapon fighting and use Monk weapons for the flurry, you can legally use two-weapon defense, but i dont think its worth in any case

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Monk two weapon fighting and Two-Weapon Defense All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions