kinevon
|
A wand is a thin baton that contains a single spell of 4th level or lower.... Note that some spells appear at different levels for different casters. The level of such spells depends on the caster crafting the wand.
Wands use the spell trigger activation method, so casting a spell from a wand is usually a standard action that doesn't provoke attacks of opportunity. (If the spell being cast has a longer casting time than 1 action, however, it takes that long to cast the spell from a wand.) To activate a wand, a character must hold it in hand (or whatever passes for a hand, for nonhumanoid creatures) and point it in the general direction of the target or area. A wand may be used while grappling or while swallowed whole.
Spell trigger activation is similar to spell completion, but it's even simpler. No gestures or spell finishing is needed, just a special knowledge of spellcasting that an appropriate character would know, and a single word that must be spoken. Spell trigger items can be used by anyone whose class can cast the corresponding spell. This is the case even for a character who can't actually cast spells, such as a 3rd-level paladin. The user must still determine what spell is stored in the item before she can activate it. Activating a spell trigger item is a standard action and does not provoke attacks of opportunity.
kinevon
|
Per the above quotes, an example:
A Wizard has a 4th level wand of Sending, created by a Cleric of the appropriate level. Despite the fact that it was created by a divine spellcaster, or the fact that Sending is a 5th level spell for a Wizard, the Wizard can activate the wand as normal.
Addendum: That wand would have a caster level for the spell of 7, for the Cleric level when they gain access to 4th level spells, not 9, which is the level when Wizards gain access to cast the spell.
Also note that, while a Cleric (or Oracle) could create this wand, a Wizard (or Sorcerer) cannot, as wands can only be created with up to 4th level spells in them.
| shaventalz |
How about a slightly different (and possibly more meaningful) example?
Continual Flame - 3rd level Cleric spell, 2nd level Wizard.
If a Cleric casts it, it works inside Darkness. If a Wizard casts it, it doesn't.
What happens when someone puts it in a wand?
And, for bonus points, can a Sorcerer use UMD to cast it like an Oracle as a 3rd level spell?
| JDLPF |
How about a slightly different (and possibly more meaningful) example?
Continual Flame - 3rd level Cleric spell, 2nd level Wizard.
If a Cleric casts it, it works inside Darkness. If a Wizard casts it, it doesn't.
What happens when someone puts it in a wand?
And, for bonus points, can a Sorcerer use UMD to cast it like an Oracle as a 3rd level spell?
A1: When someone puts it in a wand, it is assumed to be either a Wizard, in which case it is a 2nd level wand, or a Cleric, in which case it is a 3rd level wand.
A2: A Sorcerer wouldn't need to use UMD to cast the spell from a wand as it appears on the class spell list. If casting the spell from a 3rd level wand, the spell would work inside the area of a Darkness spell effect, as the level of the spell is determined by the creator of the wand, not the activator.
| Claxon |
How about a slightly different (and possibly more meaningful) example?
Continual Flame - 3rd level Cleric spell, 2nd level Wizard.
If a Cleric casts it, it works inside Darkness. If a Wizard casts it, it doesn't.
What happens when someone puts it in a wand?
And, for bonus points, can a Sorcerer use UMD to cast it like an Oracle as a 3rd level spell?
The stats of the wand are set by the person who created it at the time of creation. UMD does not allow you to change that at all.
If a wizard created the wand it will cast as a 2nd level spell caster level 3 regardless of who uses it. If a cleric created the wand it will cast as a 3rd level spell with caster level 5.
If you're unsure who crafted the wand, look up the value of the wand (should hopefully be listed in the source) and you can back calculate it from 750 * spell level * caster.
Do keep in mind a wizard could use the heighten spell to cast continual flame as a 3rd level spell and use that to make the wand.
| shaventalz |
If a wizard created the wand it will cast as a 2nd level spell caster level 3 regardless of who uses it. If a cleric created the wand it will cast as a 3rd level spell with caster level 5.
Oh, I definitely agree about the caster level bit. However, with the spell level... Do you have a link to that that information? If so, I'd really like it. The closest I've found is the text mentioning that saves are based on the spell level of the wand.
Pretty much all references to level in the magic item creation rules refer to caster level. The only exception I found is "Since different classes get access to certain spells at different levels, the prices for two characters to make the same item might actually be different. An item is only worth two times what the caster of the lowest possible level can make it for. Calculate the market price based on the lowest possible level caster, no matter who makes the item."
kinevon
|
Claxon wrote:If a wizard created the wand it will cast as a 2nd level spell caster level 3 regardless of who uses it. If a cleric created the wand it will cast as a 3rd level spell with caster level 5.Oh, I definitely agree about the caster level bit. However, with the spell level... Do you have a link to that that information? If so, I'd really like it. The closest I've found is the text mentioning that saves are based on the spell level of the wand.
Pretty much all references to level in the magic item creation rules refer to caster level. The only exception I found is "Since different classes get access to certain spells at different levels, the prices for two characters to make the same item might actually be different. An item is only worth two times what the caster of the lowest possible level can make it for. Calculate the market price based on the lowest possible level caster, no matter who makes the item."
Which pretty much means that the higher caster/spell level guy won't be making any such wand, usually.
2nd level wand sells at 4,500 gp in Magic Mart.
3rd level wand costs 1/2 of 11,250 gp to create, without referencing costly material component costs, so 5,625 gp to make.
Can you say "loss leader"?
Costs 5,625 to make, sells for 2,250 gp....
Add 2,500 gp for the material component cost of Continual Flame, to both...