how does dragon style feat with a bite attack work?


Rules Questions


So i cant seem to find the answer but how does dragon style feat with a bite attack. As can i use feral combat training with a bite attack would that make the damage bonus be +3x your strength bonus. +1.5 for only having one natural attack and +1.5 for the feat. Is this right?


It doesn't add an additional 1.5, it adds 1.5 instead of just 1. For a bite attack that already does 1.5x your strength mod, this feat would do nothing for the damage.


I thought I remembered seeing something that indicates you end up getting double damage with similar setups; however, I could be very wrong on that. I couldn't even begin to tell you where I thought I saw that.


It's the unique interaction between Dragon Style and Dragon Ferocity on the initial attack in a round that does the double damage. They're specifically called out as working together.


Nocte ex Mortis wrote:
It's the unique interaction between Dragon Style and Dragon Ferocity on the initial attack in a round that does the double damage. They're specifically called out as working together.

Well there you go!


Ah, I suppose I stand corrected. Do you have a link for that statement?

Scarab Sages

You can actually figure this out by doing what it says at the beginning of the core rulebook. It works surprisingly well.

I don't have my core rulebook on me, so I can't quote it verbatim, but the rule goes like this:

If you have some situation where two multipliers would be added to the same roll, the multipliers are not multiplied together:

---For example, spirited charge says you deal x3 damage when charging from the back of a mount with a lance. The lance has a x3 crit multiplier. When you crit with a lance while charging you do NOT deal (3x3=9) x9 damage.---

Instead, take the second multiplier (x3) and subtract 1 from it (x3-1=x2) You then ADD that multiplier to the previous multiplier (3+2=5) you deal x5 damage (Still awesome!)

So, while charging with a bite attack and dragon style, you deal x1.5 your strength, and x1.5 your strength. Subtract 1 from the second multiplier (1.5-1=0.5) and ADD it to the previous multiplier (1.5x0.5=2) There you go, double damage.

Please note, that the above was for calculating your STRENGTH bonus to damage, not your damage overall. So if you crit while charging bite with dragon style, you still do x2 damage. That would make the formula:

(bite damage die+(2x str mod)+additional mods to damage)x2


CampinCarl9127 wrote:
Ah, I suppose I stand corrected. Do you have a link for that statement?

Check the errata'd feats on the PRD, Dragon Style and Dragon Ferocity have a Special Note at the bottom detailing their interaction.


Hay thanks for the responses, so if I only have 1 na bite I normally do +1.5 str and if I use fct to use the dragon style feat. I would now deal bite damage+2.0 str not +3.0 str, if I have this right thank you


No, if you just use dragon style and FCT it lets you do 1.5. So you'd do 1.5 by using dragon style or 1.5 by using your only one Natural attack. \
If you had dragon ferocity then your first unarmed strike (or bite if you FCT) will do 2x str.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / how does dragon style feat with a bite attack work? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions